Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Triumph Daytona 955i Motorcycle reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Leo

Auburn, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-10-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the Silver about a week and a half ago (used). I've never wanted a rocket but love Triumph, and I love the Daytona's sexy look. I took her home equipped the carbon can for good measure. Took her out and oh my, what a ride. I've been on a lot of other bikes but for my size and weight most bikes are crap. Comparing directly to my brother's Suzuki bandit 1200s which is a great bike, this Daytona makes him wish he looked as good as me. She is sweet to hear, and as you can guess, gets a lot of attention when moving and when parked. I have pressed the top end rush on a few times and I don't care what anyone wants to say, for a stock bike, she moves. The fittings of the side panel need to be cleaned up and tightened for a cleaner look. All in all, I made the right choice with beauty and will never second guess this choice! She is not the fastest bike but most will never go to a track and as far as a street bike, the comfort is there, the sound is there, and the look is there. I recommend a fender elimination kit, all the carbon fiber you can find. Change up the seat for sure (I haven't yet but I am ASAP as my butt hurts so bad after 2 hours). Good choice in the Daytona 955i
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil

Citrus Heights, California

Reviewed on 2004-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought the bike new and have not regretted it for a minute. It still draws a lot of attention wherever I go, even from the Harley guys. Other than an oil cooler that sprung a leak and an erratic speedo, both repaired under warrenty, it has been trouble free and a great bike. I replaced the clipons with Cycle Cat adjustable bars and the stock seat with Triumph's gel seat, both were huge improvements in comfort and I highly recommend them. The Two Brothers slipon and the K&N air filter helped with the low end engine response and sounds good without being too loud. The power is good even though I would like more, and the handling and feedback are great.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Vinemont, Alabama

Reviewed on 2003-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had not ridden a lot in the past 30 years except for an occasional borrowed ride. In the old days I used to ride a 1969 Daytona and experienced a good fun-factor level. So, time moves on, I decide it's time to buy a new motorcycle all for me. At age 50 you would think I would have been over the need for two wheeled excitement. WRONG! Well my last bike was a Triumph Daytona so might as well make the new one a Triumph Daytona. I must say that bike technology has moved in the right direction. I have had more fun in 600 miles on my new Daytona than 6000 on the old style. I thought the clip-on handle bars and sportbike seating position would be uncomfortable to a man in middle age, at 5'11' and 265 lbs. Especialy since I am alot broader at the shoulder than at the hip. I have not had a problem on trips of up to 2 hours. The bike has proven to be very nimble and blister-butt fast. If a guy my age and size can comfortably ride this bike, the rest of you have no excuse. The fun-factor is now on maximum!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rene Ouimet

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2003-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This spring I traded a Jap bike for a 2002 Daytona 2002 CE, deal was awsome. I was going to buy a CBR600 or FZ1 but at this price I couldn;t resist. wasn't sure at first. But ever since I have had it, I just cannot get enough. The sond of the engine is fantastic, and will eventually get me into deep trouble as I keep twisting the throttle! Only issue was the FI system, even after remapping, still chuncky below 3000 rpm. Looking to add a PowerMax under the seat to show that beautiful single side swingarm. Traded the stock clip ons for 2 Bros adjustable, if I ride it up to Canada I adjust them... otherwise I put them back in an aggressive stance. Every weekend I put a more than 100 miles on it just riding around on back roads. I'd love to cross the continent on it... how fast (with some comfort)?
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike

balto, Maryland

Reviewed on 2003-03-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't like bikes i see coming and going (Cbr,Gsxr,Zx,R1) there a dime a dozen.I traded my loved 2000 VTR1000(gotta love twins) that had all the toys on her for the 955i because of a blowout deal.Good suspension, great brakes and exclusivity.Two Brothers ti slip on made it run lean even with Triumph remap,had to get a power commander now its all good.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JOE CARINI

BROOMALL, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2003-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
BEING 40ISH, AND HAVING HAD BIKES TOO NUMEROUS TO MENTION, THIS BIKE IS THE EPITOMY OF POWER, HANDLING, GREAT LOOKS, AND MOST OF ALL, CLASS. THE LATER BEING SOMETHING A JAP BIKE COULD NEVER HAVE. IF YOU LOVE TO RIDE, BUT STILL HAVE TO GO TO WORK ON MONDAY, THIS BIKES FOR YOU! IF YOU WANT TO RACE 20 YEAR OLD KIDS ON THE STREET, GET A RICE BURNER, AND SAVE A GOOD TRIUMPH FROM DESTRUCTION.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fang

Canberra, Australia

Reviewed on 2003-02-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I recently purchased the Daytona and on the road it is a real jem. I ride with a few friends and we are quite evenly matched. The Triumph stays with them ('01 Fireblade, '02 GSXR750) in the straights and corners. On the track it is still quite good and I certainly don't lose sight of the others. Its stability whilst cornering is a big plus which fills you with the confidence to push harder. Having owned most of the current crop of sports bikes over the last few years I can honestly say the Triumph can hold its own. You don't actually feel like you're going as quick as you are. In one word - deceptive.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lonnie Sanders

Va.Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The 2002 Daytona is a sweet looking and sounding bike. Performance wise, it has to be upgraded with a new pipe and a power commander unit. Other wise, it do not compete very well against a jap bike. Other than that, the bike is an eye catcher, because there are not many riders who own this bike. If you are just about riding and looking good...this is the bike
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Pawlaczyk

Belleville, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
With a few power boosts, my 955i Daytona runs even with a 1999-2000 R-1 and walks away from a 929. Not from a GSXR-1000, however. The boosts are an Akrapovic pipe, computer chip, one tooth drop in the front sproket and a porting and polishing job at Ron's Porting Service in St. Louis. I dropped the fairing, painted the bike black, tilted the guages and used the twin headlights from a Speed Triple. Zero to 100, even with my 200 pounds, is about 5.5 seconds. haven't been to the dragstrip yet. Sure will dust a Buell, however. Next step is nitrous. That should solve that nasty GSXR problem. Love the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike voornas

Orange County, California

Reviewed on 2002-05-02

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Triumph Daytona 955i

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Looking for an alternative to the usual parade of Japanese repli-racers? If you spend more time riding to work instead of riding the circuit, this just might be your bike. With an improved fuel-injected motor with enough torque to send the front wheel pointing to the heavens at the flick of a wrist, this bike is a real gigglefest. The ergos are good enough for everyday commuting and right at home for the twisties on Sunday morning. The Silver is a stunning color, especially when combined with black wheels, subframe, swingarm and other misc. pieces. The only drawback to this gem not scoring a full 5 stars is the fit and finish of the body. The side panels could fit tighter to the black plastic pieces between the tank and the tail section. The overall paint quality, while a beautiful color, lacks the perfection of it's Japanese competition. But once you put a seat cowl and a pipe on this baby and the last thing you're going to think about it the paint. The howl of the motor at full song is addictive. The only thing that sounds better is a Ducati. The price for 147 ready, willing and very able horsepower is very competative to the repica-racers. A excellent bike for the street, not the best choice for the track.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: