‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Triumph Rocket III Motorcycle reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Allen Osborne

Weddington, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2013-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
I just finished a 1,200 mile ride down to Florida and back and the 2005 Rocket Three performed perfectly - about 40 mpg. It's very stable even in great crosswinds. The power is second to none!! The engine has a great sound, great throttle response and not a trace of oil leaks. This is my first shaft drive bike, very clean and quiet. Fortunately with this much power, it has great brakes. In cool weather it's perfect, but in stop and go traffic on a hot day the engine heat is a bit much. This is my favorite bike except on really hot days, then I park it and ride my 750 Interceptor Honda.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

al hones

detroit lakes, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2008-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
I live in MN and took my Rocket on a 3000 mile trip through ND, MT, ID, NV, UT, WY and SD. I had zero issues and got about 38-41 mpg. I had a heck of a good time. The only thing I would change is the seat; maybe a gel seat or a good Corbin seat. Every time I stopped at a gas station I was asked questions - everyone loved the look. I can't blame them.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ace

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
This bike seems to get better and better every year since I purchased it. I have not had a single problem with it like the overpriced Harleys I had that spent at least two visits to the shop a year. The bike is as awesome and powerful if not more than the day I bought it. Every other 2 fill ups I add some octane boost and this scares the hell out of the poor guys on their little Harley's and the custom bikes with their 103-124ci mills learn the hard way about true acceleration. I just smile as they finally turn off to a side street to end the humiliation. The silencers are even more deep and throaty than in 2005. I called the two Triumph dealers here in Denver to see how many women have bought one of thes beasts and was told only two! I've yet to see them on my day long rides on the weekends. Maybe I don't want to see them.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Jim

Roselle, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2007-03-01

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
This is it! The most fun I ever had with my clothes on! A little nervous at first still get that tingly feeling when I twist the throttle. A few modifications and it makes 165 HP and 170FtLb. Only had the computer open the secondarys once. I was doing 500 in fourth, twisted the grip 3/4, then to full after about a second and now doing 70 the computer opened the secondaries and holding on for dear life, in under 2 seconds 105, front end a foot in the air and a 240 size stripe the whole way!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

kansas city, Kansas

Reviewed on 2005-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
O.K., so I have had a sports bike Honda CBR, and I have rode a VSTAR 650 and I have tested my friends' Harleys, etc., but this bike blew me away, the best way I can describe it is this: <ul> It has the POWER of a sports bike<br /> It looks like a cruiser<br /> It rides like a gold wing</ul> I have researched this bike for weeks and most of the reviews have been positive. I am not a "professional" reviewer but this bike makes me feel good, I would not hesitate to pull up next to any Harley, even the V-ROD This bike is a lifetime bike, meaning you will want to keep this bike for the rest of your life. The power is amazing - I almost lost control with the throttle, it handles great and it is true that although it looks intimidating, it handles great, and I can take corners like crazy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave McCubbin

Overland Park, Kansas

Reviewed on 2005-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
Where do I start? This bike has great power and torque to start with and the low center of gravity makes it so easy to bring the bike up from tight turns. The lower seat allows my feet to completely touch when stopped. Acceleration is mind boggling especially in first and second. I bought my Cardinal Red R3 the end of April 2005 and put 500 miles on it in one month just to have the dealership get the synthetic oil put in and check everything over. The only problem is the low fuel indicator light, which is supposed to come on with 1 gallon of fuel remaining; instead, it comes on with 3 gallons still remaining in the tank. They tried to reset but it's still not right. I'm planning on adding a fuel gauge and matching clock just to keep the symmetry. This ride has made male menopause a true pleasure to experience. The only inconvenience is people constantly stopping me to ask questions and take pictures. Such a small price to pay!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Storer

Lawrenceville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-11-06

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
After reading all I could find about the Rocket, I was hopelessly in love with the idea of having one. I had gone the route of the VTX 1800 and loved it. I'd gone to the trouble of adding pipes, breather and power commander and got it up to 94 hp. I wanted more - More cornering ability without dragging and more raw horsepower. It still had to be comfortable for both me and my wife. I sold the VTX and the next morning I called my dealer to see how soon I could get one. They said they'd have one ready the next morning. I love riding the twisties of N. Georgia and N. Carolina. I was pushing the VTX to its limits with scraping at every turn. The Rocket was made to corner and with the power it has, it slingshots out of the turns. I can't stay out of the throttle! What a blast! What instantaneous response! The bike is also very smooth. My wife has fallen asleep on the back of it... I'm going to have to Velcro her to me before I lose her! Maintenance wise, the Rocket has been flawless and getting stronger as it breaks in. Four months, almost 4,000 miles and it still brings a grin to my face every time I ride it. WHAT A BIKE! Oh... and the service was great at purchase. I can't yet speak for their service department since this bike has not needed it and that's a good thing!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

steve thompson

frederick, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
I bought my Triumph Rocket III approximately 3 months ago and man did I hit a gold mine. I have had so many Harley riders asking me about it every time I go out. The power is UNREAL. You truly feel like you're on a rocket. I am glad I made the decision to buy it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-10-26

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
The R3 was a serious step up from the BMW 1200c that I traded in. That said there is no looking back. The Rocket fulfilled the need for speed instantly and was a huge surprise in the comfort and ride. Talk about an eye catcher, I get truckers pulling over just to look at it. The only things I have changed are the pipes (too quiet) and soon to be the horn (embarrassing sounding). The gas light comes on way too early. But other than that a perfect 5!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kilibreaux

Madera, California

Reviewed on 2005-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Triumph Rocket III view listing

5.0
I've had my red R3 since last August and found it to be well-built, reliable, and more powerful than I care to sample. It pulls so strong off idle one never NEEDS to push the revs higher, though doing so rewards with an incredible lunge. On MY roads the ride tends to be bumpier than I like, but overall comfort on long rides is superb. Economy varies with throttle use, and it's hard not to USE that throttle. It leans readily and holds a line effortlessly, though full-tilt transitions on winding mountain roads expose a weakness in weight and foot-forward posture, though I'm sure a more accomplished rider could hustle it through twisties better than myself. The stock riding position sans wind protection spread the rider to the full force of wind blast...a windshield seems almost mandatory for continuous high-speed riding. If police intervention isn't likely, the R3 will indeed eat up the miles on good, open roads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: