Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Triumph Thruxton 900 Motorcycle reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Magnus

Chandler, Arizona

Reviewed on 2008-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second bike, my first being a 1986 Honda VFR fixer upper. I researched for 2 years before I bought my 2005 Thruxton and I am not disappointed. I chose this bike over any other bike simply because it offered the very best combination of the features I wanted. Sure, there are faster, louder, meaner, more agile bikes out there, but most bikes that excel in one category fall way short in the others. The Thruxton actually manages to put it all together quite successfully. Want power? Plenty of acceleration here for me. Something that looks good? In my opinion, no bike looks sweeter than a classic (or classic-looking) Triumph (I'll admit the Ducatis are pretty sexy looking too). Want a mean sound? You've got a variety of non-EPA approved aftermarket pipes available. Got twisties? This bike is not bad at all. Reliability? So far, everything is rock solid (no leaks, no repairs, no problems of any kind). How about something intangible? Triumph is the oldest motorcycle marque still in production (yeah, even older than Harley) and what an illustrious history it has had over (most of) its 100+ years. Put it all together and the Thruxton is a bike you will enjoy riding, looking at, and talking about for a long, long time. The only shortfall I can come up with is maybe comfort. The sitting position is more aggressive than a cruiser's or even Triumph's own Bonneville, and your wrists can take a while to get used to it. Also, the gas tank is smallish (about 3 gallons), so this would not be my first choice for a touring bike (but people still use it for that). But bottom line, I could't be happier (Oh, mine is racing yellow with checkered stripes, gorgeous).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex

Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-05-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After riding a HD XL 1200R for 9,600 miles, I decided I wanted something more maneuverable. I test rode the 06 Thruxton for about an hour. I fell in love with it the first 15 minutes. It maneuvers excellently with great lean capacity. I've taken it to 90 miles per hour (don't do it-it's stupid to go so fast) and the stability is great. But I want to emphasize again that the maneuverability is wonderful in corners, weaving roads, or tight spots. It took me about 3 weeks to truly enjoy the riding position. My wrists, forearms, neck and shoulders were sore at first. But soon the discomfort disappeared. And although I have a very bad lower back, the lean position is great. The low-back pressure I experienced in an upright riding position is greatly minimized in a leaning position. I can ride for about 3 hours before needing a brief break.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy Kieler

Madison , Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike was a demo that only had 55 miles on it at the time, so I bought it. The bike bothers your wrist at fist but I put a lot of miles on since May of this year. The bike now has over 8600 miles, and I must say I have no wrist problems now. The position is very nice it helped in getting rid of the tendonidus in my shoulders. The bike just takes a little bit to get use to and I will tell you people love to look at it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ed cendejas

seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got one of these little doozies this year, I absolutely love it, the wrist factor isn't all that bad, takes getting used to, but I found that strecthing really good before any long ride helps a ton. It handles like a madman, very nice in corners, and the looks, well.....lets just say I get more looks on this bike than HD's I see out there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ian

Duvall, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike new in 04 and it was my first street bike, I have put over 10000 miles on it already and I am lovin it. The bike corners like my dads monster yet rides as comfortable as a sport touring. The seat is lower but ok for the taller fellas. Super comfy. CONS: not enough torque however for a first training bike, thats about it. I have since upgraded the intake, exhaust, carbs, mirrors and filters along with removing the emmisions kit and now I got a deap throaty sound with more torque and a topspeed of about 128mph. not bad. It jumps up there well fast enough but lacks the power to lift the heavy front end. I would trust this bike with my life.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ben Magee

Santa Rosa, California

Reviewed on 2005-12-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike it is perfect for someone who wants to start out. I had a Suzuki sv650 but it always wanted to drive at around 80mph. The Thruxton however feels more comfortable at 65mph. It feels like a sport bike, looks like a cruiser and gets compliments from everyone. I am very happy with this bike. The only thing is that you should remove the air injection kit right away it makes the bike run hot. The headers were so hot they were red at night. I removed the air injection right after the maiden voyage even the dealer recommends it be removed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Woodall

Springfield, Missouri

Reviewed on 2005-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I absolutely love this bike. It feels so great to ride around on. The riding position is excellent and once you get used to the pressure on the wrists, you won't have any complaints. I do wish it had just a little more power. I haven't added anything just yet, so I'm sure that will help. It is just a fun bike. Nothing beats pulling into a Harley dealership and having all the hog riders inside come out to look at your $8000 bike. Very satisfying.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Marshall

Concord, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Triumph Thruxton 900

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In my younger days I use to buy a new machine every couple years...even if I didn't need one! I had Laverdas, Bennelli, Ducatis, rice burners..Then I bought a Yamaha Seca 900 new in '84 and I kept it until spring of '05. I had no plans to make a change until I saw a new Thruxton at a dealer. One look and I was hooked and knew I had to have that motorcycle! It reminded me of my Laverda 750 SFII with it's single seat and rear cowl. I read everything I could get my hands on and made the plunge. I'm SO glad I did, it's been better than I imagined! I deffinately recommend this bike to all of you riders out there who are looking for a good bike to set your heart on.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: