Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki KDX220R reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.9
Comfort
3.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

7 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Storm Jenkins

Ontario

Reviewed on 2020-10-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

3.5
I’ve owned 8 Kawasaki kdx200 and 2 kdx220- was really impressed with them until I bought a Honda xr400r they just blow away kdx - Honda is far more reliable - the xr is 10 stars in every department best bike ever built I own a xr250r too- brilliant bikes 4 stroke are better- but the xr400r gets a gold star at everything
Reliability
4.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

zach

harrisburg, New York

Reviewed on 2007-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding this bike for 2 months and it is the most amazing bike ever. For my height and weight, it's hard to keep the front wheel down but I seem to manage. I have this track behind my house with doubles and table tops and I was racing a YZ 125, KX250f, CR250R, and a CRF450 and this bike has so much low end I beat them off the start and in the turns. But the 450 had a little bit more stuff so unfortunatly it beat me. But on the trails this bike is just unbeatable! It sucks that they're going to quit making two strokes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

cj

Ontario, Bolivia

Reviewed on 2006-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow, the amount of things you can do with this bike is amazing. I got this 1 year ago brand new and, well, it's still brand new. Just keeping the Kawasaki KDX220R stock is amazing with a 70 horsepower motor from the factory and a 50ft-lb tq. My top speed was enormous when it was stock. I got it to 165km/h going down a straight line. The acceleration is fast with a wide-ratio 6-speed transmission. Only problem with the 6th gear is that it holds you back a bit. As soon as I hit 5th, I'm at 120km/h and 6th gear is really long. To get up there you need a highway to get to your topspped or a long stretch of road. In the summer of 2006, the bike was all stock except for the dual sport kit because I have my motorcycle license, and we decided to test our automobiles to the limits on the highway. I tell you it was a blast! I have a gps system so I know what speed I'm going so I'm ahead of everyone already doing 0-60mph: 3.7 secs flat in third gear and then when I reached 100mph in 6.5 secs, I was still ahead. I said to myself, this bike can be way faster then the usual so I ordered all the after market parts with Kawasaki and got my local dealership mechanic to do it for me. He put all of them on it so we dynoed it and it dynoed at 194.5 hp and 147 ft lbs of torque. Boy, this would be indestructable! You can call this bike a super race exotic enduro because nothing stands a chance with this baby on the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Trimmer

New Jersey

Reviewed on 2004-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought this bike after being out of riding for quite some time. First impression of the bike, and most obvious of all was how hard this bike hits, low/mid range will put an instant smile on your face. Experienced racers would most likely give their nod of approval recommending it for someone like me who wants the feel and powerband of a KX250, but the off road abilities of a great enduro bike. I was really torn at the time of purchase because I was hard pressed to buy the new KX250, but after a little thought and not to mention price difference, the 220r was the right bike for me. The only problem I find is the seat height, at 5'9" I'm on my toes on flat ground, but once you're on steeper trails with rocky terrain, navigating or crawling becomes a real problem. (I did find a lowering kit available for all models). This bike loves to go fast, climb hills, and is very forgiving on more technical trails, partly due to its moderate weight, 223lbs I believe. Very easy to maneuver, even for a novice like myself. I was riding with someone on a KLX300 and he jumped on my bike and couldn't believe the difference. He should be trading up very soon I'd say.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh Lemanski

Tarentum, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is one of the fastest and most powerful enduro bikes ever put out on the market. I say that this bike could win any enduro race thrown at it. It has as much power as any motocross bike you will come across. If you want to race enduro go for this bike or if you just want a powerful bike period.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Ledyard, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2004-08-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my KDX220R on July 20th this year (2004) and if you want a trail bike with a lot of power, this bike is perfect for you. I enjoy motocross a lot but enjoy trail riding more. But I wanted a trail bike with the power of a race bike so I went for the KDX220R and haven't regretted it. If you want a fast trail bike, this is perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steson Ball

South jordan, Utah

Reviewed on 2003-12-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Kawasaki KDX220R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It is an awesome Kawasaki. It has KX250 characteristic and it has tons of torque. I had a 2003 KTM200. The KDX Has so much more bottom end and still has tons of top end power.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: