Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki KE 100 reviews

4.2
Write a review
Reliability
4.1
Overall quality
4.2
Performance
3.8
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nick Eskridge

Kentucky

Reviewed on 2021-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Purchased a near mint KE with a clean title approximately 6 months ago. No riding experience whatsoever, no not much to compare it to... Other than my newest bike, a DR200. Off-road, it's light and does a sufficient job on easy trails. On road, it will top out at 55-57 downhill, tucked in, WOT and with a tailwind. Cruises comfortably 35-45mph. Wheelies easily. Never jumped it. Never jumped it. Lighting is pretty dim. Overall a great bike and insane amounts of fun but it's honestly limited to 35mph roads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Quicksand

Fort Smith, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2007-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had one of these when I was 14 and I had always regretted selling it. I saw one in the paper and went and picked it up at a good price. The front and rear fender are faded and the seat is faded but nothing is broken. I will have to do some repair on the kickstand/footpeg as it seems to have had the bolts stripped on it. The cool thing is that it starts every time on the 1st kick. I was worried that it wouldn't take me around like it should because of me being too big for it, but if your not worried about impressing anyone it will get you around trails just fine. I am going to use it for deercamp, goofing off, and following my kids around on their various motorsports adventures as they get older. In this case power and speed are not necessary. I personally would never take it out on the highway but for small town streets and suburbs it will do good. I am a big fan of cruiser bikes but right now this will do and hopefully I will keep it for a long time to come. I will update in a year or so.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will Hunter

Chesterfield, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This little bike was my first dirtbike. It is without a doubt the best built bike in its class. I had it for two years, and never had a problem with it. The little thing kept up with my friend's XR250R and Yamaha 350 Wolverine. I rode this bike through it all and back, and still running like a top. I think it would be perfect for a rider just starting out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joel McClain

Milford, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought an '02 KE100 for my 14 year old son to learn riding on, so he could learn off road and then graduate to the road as his motorcycling skills improved. He really hammered the bike, rode it right up the neighbors fence once, various spills, and the bike never lost heart. It served its purpose very well, and is still amazingly reliable. It starts during the top portion of the kick EVERY time! Easy to maintain, and surprisingly quick while in the power curve. Unlike most off-road bikes, you don't have to be an NBA Center to flat-foot it while stopped, which, in my opinion, makes it safer to ride. I'm very happy with the bike, and would recommend it for anyone who likes to take the road less traveled.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Gerasim

Berwyn, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-03-17

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The little Kawasaki had been sitting up at our local cycle shop for some time. I noticed it next to all of the faster and more expensive motocross bikes. I couldn't believe that a dual sport with a plate could be so cheap. I talked to my dad, and about a week later, in late June; the Kawasaki was coming home with me in my brother's Ford pickup. OK, so maybe it wasn't quite that dramatic, but all said and done, my dad bought the bike, plus a case of Yamalube 2 stroke oil. The case of oil is way overkill, because the oil injection system is very efficient. In the 600 miles t that I have ridden this machine, I have burned a little over 1 quart of oil. With only 100 cc in displacement, you would expect that this bike would be fuel-efficient. I am estimating about 55 miles per gallon, but it is thirsty for its size. The big plus of the oil injection is that you put straight gas into the tank, and it doesn't smoke much except on startup. Riding the KE 100 is a very unique experience. You will want to drag the clutch a little bit more than you would on a big 4-stroke bike, because that little 2 stroke will stall very easily off the line. Hill starts are a real bear; so don't get into a very steep hill start situation. Hill climbing power is adequate, but it is important to anticipate hills and keep the engine on its power band. My bike is totally stock except for a slightly different battery. Build quality on this machine is what you would expect from Kawasaki. That is the bike is flawless except for the handlebar bolts that the dealer rounded off. Suspension is on the soft side, not set up for competition. I keep the rear preload at the 3rd notch because I don't drive that fast. Frond and rear suspension is very easy to bottom out. The small 19 inch front wheel makes the bike impractical for very rough terrain. The little two-stroke engine is a real gem. The bike just begs to be wound out in first gear, then pop the effortless gearbox into second and roll on the power. It's like starting all over again. I have seen about 25 in second gear and about 35 in third. In the tight trails I don't have the guts to push it any harder. The engine is somewhat buzzy when wound, due to the deep air-cooling fins. Driving the bike fast on the road is a chore. The engine screams and the bike is kind of jittery on the open roads. This would be a good bike for smaller back roads where nobody is in a hurry. I understand the maximum speed of the KE 100 is around 60 miles per hour. I don't have the heart to push mine past its 45 mile per hour break in limit. The low seat height gives the impression that you are sitting in, rather than on top of the bike. This bike is lightweight too, perfect for the beginner. So what are my complaints in my 600-mile relationship? The bike is actually very good overall. More power would be needed for road use, and when it gets hot, there is a tendency for the bike to stick between first and second gear. Keeping the bike on the power band on a hill can be hard sometimes. Passengers would be very uncomfortable on this machine. The low seat height is an advantage for smaller people, but my 6 foot 1 inch brother is folded up like a pocketknife on this machine. I also had an issue with a wood chip in the carburetor, and the oil injection comes set too rich from the factory. I also had a small clutch problem that worked itself out. Overall, the character of this bike is cute, and not annoying to most people. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for cheap wheels.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Wedner

Bellevue, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2002-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a classic. It is the last of it's kind. It hails back to a more innocent time, where a motorcycle was supposed to be just a cheap source of fun. Riding this bike, you can't take yourself too serious. It isn't the fastest dirt bike and it does not have the best suspension for dirt, but it is honest and will give you the freedom to take it off road safely. Street wise, again it is honest. It has enought get up and go to get you around town and do it safely. Do not take this bike on the highway though. It is not a cruiser. But just around town, it will make you smile and do it for pennies. Bottom Line: This little bike is cheap honest fun. Does not pretend to be a major dirt bike or a heavy cruiser. Just an old fashion dual dirt/street motorcycle. Perhaps people today are just too jaded and specialized for this little fun machine. Too bad, they take themselves so serious. But for those who just want to ride for fun and enjoy the simplicity of a small motorcycle, this bike is a blast from the past. Worth every penny. I smile everytime I fire it up. Suddenly I am 16 again, and it is always Summertime somewhere.....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mike

toronto

Reviewed on 2002-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 6'4" and bought one to ride around town and to the beech. This bike would pull me around even with a passenger. I found the top speed increased greatly once I hit about 1000 kilometers and the motor started to break in. I have since sold the bike to buy a bigger bike to tour on. I still remember heading to the beach with my girlfriend on the back cruising down the sand looking for the perfect spot to swim
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

amidship

Ossining, New York

Reviewed on 2002-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Bought this last summer to put on the front of my RV while towing my boat. Light as a feather and easy to put on RV tray or inside (Aerostar) minivan (w/ mirrors off). Seat not long enough for two (even slight) people but it's great on the trails, in the pits, or on short hops for groceries or corn on the cob. Uphill or the freeway? A struggle for one, a big mistake for two! Simple, bulletproof, great special purpose bike; so much more versatile than a scooter. I'd do it again in a heartbeat.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jamie Pearson

Mississipppi

Reviewed on 2001-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I got this bike as an early present for my thirteenth birthday. It's a sweet little bike, that was a little tall when I first got it, but I grew into it, at 5'3" it's a perfect fit. It's, or rather she's, a new bike with a classic design, which is why my dad wanted me to have this particular bike, so I could ride something similar to what he grew up on. It'll hit 65 mph, but I certainly wouldn't push it like that for long. It's very cold natured, but that isn't really a problem especially living down south. It is my first bike, bought new, so we learned to ride together, and we got quite well at crashing before I finally got the hang of it. It's though so no scratches or dents resulted. I'd recommend it to anyone over 5' tall.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ted blanzy

Michigan

Reviewed on 2001-04-01

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki KE 100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike new in the summer of 2000 for my 12 yr old daughter to learn on. I rode one of these when I was her age. Overall the bike is the same as 20 years ago. Its dependable and pretty good on flat two tracks etc. If it has one draw back it would be the forks. They are too soft and have no adjustments. My daughter enjoys the bike a lot and I would recommend it for a starter bike. Keep on the trail and enjoy!!!!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: