Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles Reviews (138)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-01-17 2013 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second KLR with the first being a 2003 model that I purchased used in 2003 with low miles. I am very pleased with the upgrades Kawasaki did in 2008 to the KLR. It is basically the same bike, but with more modern looks, better wind protection and a few needed mechanical upgrades. While my preferences have taken my KLR far from stock form to fit my preferences and riding style, it is still a great machine off the showroom floor with excellent aftermarket support to make the machine truly fit your exact needs. It is the Swiss Army knife of motorcycling. It does nothing absolutely perfect, however it does everything!
- Jason Hill, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-12 2013 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a great unit. I should have bought this machine first. It's fun and inexpensive to ride. It takes me to work in style and fishing with the extra fun of getting to ride it to the fishing hole. All my friends are green with envy!!
- w f travis, leesville, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-09-17 2008 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLR 650 has earned its reputation for dependability and very reasonable total cost of ownership as compared to its rivals. What I would like to talk about is the hidden potential of this bike as opposed to the two bikes I owned prior (Suzuki DRZ 400S, DR650s). The KLR is superior in ride comfort for those all-day rides as opposed to a two-hour ride. I don't have to be looking for a gas station every couple hours with the KLR either. I seldom have to switch to reserve as I did with my DRZ. The KLR kowling is a little big at first, but if you are not in heavy woods it is fine. The luggage rack is much more practical than the DR and tool kit is better placed. If you are like me, you have to ride a few miles on the Interstate to get to fresh new trails. The KLR is at home on the Interstate and unlike the DRs, it has more top end speed without winding out the engine to its maximum. Water cooled and temperature gauge go together well and you need both in order to monitor your engine conditions properly. On the fire trails the DRs were great, especially at 5K rpm range. The KLR takes some getting used to as it seems to be better suited for cornering at low RPM and using the sheer torque to accelerate out of turns. Engine braking is just as effective at lower RPMs. If you like to ride your thumper at high RPMs, you will not like gearing down in turns with the KLR. But if you can trust the thrust, you will find that the KLR low end still brings you out of tight switchbacks with the tire throwing mud like you like it!! I must insist that you ditch the stock pipe and re-port your carb and open the airbox or else you will never discover the hidden potential in your KLR!!
- Buck Oil Billy, Abingdon, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-07-18 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 2006 KLR 650 three years ago and got some other DS. It was the worse mistake I made. I'm not saying that the DS I replaced the KLR with was bad or anything, it just was not a KLR! Well I found a 2006 KLR 650 on Craigslist last week with 810 miles on it and I went and looked at it and it was mint! I fell in love with it right off the bat! The thing was pretty much new so I bought it and I'm so happy I got the KLR back. It might not be the fastest DS or the lightest one but it sure is a nice riding bike and with some skill it will pretty much go anywhere on earth.
- Rob, akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-24 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now at 11,500 miles and love my KLR. Bar end weights are the best biggest improvement on the old model. At ~7k miles it left me stranded. The fix for no spark was to tighten the sparkplug cap onto the lead wire a 1/4 turn. Earlier at 500 miles the vacuum on the fuel cock came off and I learned that lesson. It uses more oil when I am consistently running 75-80 on the freeway. It's a great bike for the money. Never off road, but I know it will do great on fire roads.
- Steven Pierce, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-23 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned the KLR for about a month now, and so far it's been a positive experience. Being tall and well built I've had trouble finding a motorcycle to fit me; sport bikes I cannot sit on, and cruisers do not appeal to me. I want a simple machine that is not big and cumbersome nor one that is over-powered. To me the KLR feels like sitting tall on a mountain bike, albeit a heavy one. The riding position is very natural and well suited for the longer-legged (32" inseam here). Any negatives are, I'm sure, mostly due to my inexperience. The suspension is quite soft and the nose will dive when braking. Also at higher speeds (80 kph.+) a stiff crosswind will make it dance about nervously. For me there is more than enough power. First gear gets you off the line. If you are in a hurry you can roll on plenty of throttle in second and jump right up into fourth and be at 60 kph. Throttle response is predictable and in no way twitchy or sensitive. Brakes are good, plus I do a lot of engine braking. I do not notice a whole lot of vibration - the mirrors remain useable at all speeds. It's a thumper, though, so there is always some. All in all if you're tall and want a bike that will serve you as a trainer and beyond, depending on your desires, the KLR is hard to beat. Go and test ride one
- Trouble, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-08-01 2008 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been a year since I've gotten this beast! Being a short guy made me a bit reluctant to adapt, but am past that stage now. I cut loose anytime I can on my KLR! This bike will stop at nothing! It's mechanically sound, and handles itself very well under any circumstances. I have only done city and highway riding thus far! On the highway I have had it up to 80 mph. Beware, on a windy day, you feel it more than the bikes with a lower center of gravity. Mileage consumption is now around 50 if I ride it hard, 55+mpg. if I baby it. The KLR is truly a do-it-all bike. I am getting a cruiser to add to the family, but no way I am getting of my big THUMPER!!
- Lucio Oliveira, Spring

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-26 2000 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in September of 2009 with about 13,500 miles and have since put about 4,500 miles on it. I had no riding experience until I took the MSF course. I was worried about the seat height and balance of the bike but after more than a year of riding on mostly street but a little sand and dirt, I could not have made a better choice. My only complaint that I did not get a bike years ago. I am planning on trying out a little neighborhod riding with a passenger before considering buying a second bike in a few years. THE KLR STAYS! It is a great first bike and will make an excellent "spare" down the road.
- Brian, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-04 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always loved the KLR since it was introduced about 25 years ago. When the '08 model came out (which is the same as '09) I'll order one. However when I went into the store, I saw the previous model, a leftover '06. No fancy plastic and the ride height was much better suited for off-roading (mostly what I used the bike for!) so I decided to buy that instead of the new one. I did not regret it! This bike does everything well and I also got a nice discount! The only thing is it needs better brakes which I will fix when the time cones for replacement rotors and pads.
- Motoman, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-02 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this in May, after not being on a bike in 25 years. I have in four months put almost 5000 miles on it. It handles interstate, backroads, gravel without a hitch. I rode 1500 miles in one weekend from Missouri to NW Wisconsin and back, no trouble at all. I really loved the trip and the bike.
- Jeff, Paris, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-30 2006 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This machine takes all road conditions in its stride. It may be an "ugly duckling" but once owned it easily becomes your most reliable best buddy and will take you anywhere with the greatest of ease. Look after it and it will look after you, guaranteed.
- Ian de Villiers, Pietermaritzburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-29 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's fully broken in and running really well after meticulously following the break-in rpms. 46 mpg is typical for my riding style. I did extra oil changes at 250, 600 (service) and 1150. I will follow the schedule now. The rear tire is wearing fast. I'm now running 30+ pounds of pressure to help on road wear - also it helps the front end feel better when braking. So far 98% road riding and will air down off road - with nerf bars now ready to try more. I adjusted the shock to 4th position as I am heavy and occasionally take on a rider. I will back down to 3, but like the adjust-ability. I'm looking into a bigger wind screen for 55+mph riding and long term a more contoured seat, though the seat to me is cushioned well...just a shape thing.
- Steven Pierce, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-13 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am already looking into upgrading the seat and adding after market accessories. It was great dealing with the dealer here.
- Butch Bogdin, Craig, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-27 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was torn between getting a street bike and a dual sport. I purchased a new 2009 KLR and am glad I did. We have a lot of logging roads in Southern Arkansas that you wouldn't dare take a street bike on. This bike gives me the freedom to hit the dirt when I want to. I use it as a commuter and the gas mileage is excellent. I am looking at upgrading to a higher windshield because the stock one hits me right in the kisser. Love my KLR.
- Keith Reisma, Bryant, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-23 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLR is great, I really don't have any problems with the bike at all. It seems just as much at home plugging down logging roads as it does going down the highway at 65 mph while getting 55 mpg. I love my bike and look forward to many more years with it.
- Bobby, Centennial, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-17 2008 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Almost daily use from the back roads in Elk City Idaho to the flat lands of Ritzville, Washington, this bike still delivers all the fun and excitement it did when I first rode it. Regular maintenance has kept the machine running like new. Absolutely no problems. I ride at 70 MPH between farms and fields, a 100 mile round trip. This bike can be a bit top heavy on USFS roads that are wet and muddy so be careful in the turns. This is a big, somewhat top heavy bike so some narrow, side hill trails should be treated with extreme caution. A good ride for a dual purpose if you keep the ride under 250 miles between rest stops. Kawasaki did a good job smoothing out the 1-cylinder engine.
- Jud Prescott, Cheney, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-04 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had my KLR for about one month now. Have nothing bad to say about it. Low cost and low maintanence cost compared to by previous bike. (BMW) Sit up high, see the world- be seen by the world. Slide back on the seat when the butt starts to hurt. Forget about switching to reserve, 6 gallon tank and 50+ mpg means you will give up before it does. Not a lot of wind protection, but if you want to stayout of the wind..buy a car. A GREAT bike for the money. Heck, buy two of em- they're cheap.
- s talley, reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-08 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2nd motorcycle I have ever owned. This machine is an excellent ride, you get a sore butt after 600 KM, but nothing a more longer journey seat can fix. I have the KLR 2009 in black, and I can tell you, you really appreciate this cycle. I was tossing between this cycle and a cruser type, but because I enjoy the Ontario North, I came to know that I needed a bike that can handle the off road. This is an allrounded bike, it does what most other cycles cannot do and the cost of this bike makes it # 1. I am very proud to own this machine.
- John C KELLY, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-07 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned the past generation KLR which was a good bike but the brakes were spongy and the cam chain tensioner was subject to failure. Kawasaki has made many improvements to this stable performing workhorse. Better lower end torque and great fuel economy. I have averaged 55 to 60 MPG. The only complaint I have is that the tires that come with the stock bike wear out in less than 5,000 miles. The engine is bullet proof and the build quality and durability far surpasses comparable bikes costing more. The bike is a great value and a blast to ride in the twisties.
- Rusty Fishel, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-05 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll get to the point. Great looking bike, with the new body style. Soft suspension and comfort while riding. At 36 horsepower, it's a little under powered for what it is. I'm not asking for huge horsepower, but I think there should be a little more to offer with todays technology. I would sacrifice some of the fuel mileage for maybe 5-10 more horsepower. Fatten up the carb and put on a better pipe. Friends of mine want one but the seat height is too tall for them.
- todd crispino, monroe, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2008 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second installment/review of this bike. In 1 year of owning this bike I am still satisifed and agree with my past review on 12/8/2008. Now breaking past to 10k mile barrier the bike is still handling like a champ. I've smoothed out the ride with a set of Avon Distanzia tires and added Elf Synthetic oil to the mix which has improved the sound and performance during shifting up or down the scale. No oil burning issues. On the long ride this bike is comfortable even with the stock seat. When climbing hills the lower torque of this bike give the umph needed, this KLR loves to climb, lots of power when needed. Brakes still responding very well (I'm a pretty conservative rider). The current stator/powerplant has supported a variety of items, extra turnsignals/lighting, GPS, HID aux lights, etc., Although I do connect to a battery tender every night just to make sure. If you are looking for an excellent commuter, adventure tourer bike while on a tight budget the KLR650 is an excellent choice. Too many pluses to pass up.
- HawkeSHR, Perkasie, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Blue 2008 and put 300 miles on it in just a few days. The next 300 miles was a combination of dirt, water, and rocks during the Shenandoah 500 put on my the Northern Virginia Trail Riders. I did not modify the bike in any way for the ride. There was plenty of front and rear suspension and the braking was awesome. Due to the steep terrain, I would recommend a sprocket upgrade, because first gear is too high and there was a constant need to change between second and third. The stock tires did well, but heavier knobbies would be a benefit when off-road. This bike spends a lot of time in traffic and is used as a commuter bike daily.
- Joe J., Virginia Beach, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-02 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought 3 2009 KLR's, one for myself and two for my sons. We ride every weekend on highways to get to dirt roads, so we get a wide range of riding. The bikes do great on the highway and exceptional on dirt/gravel roads. We have taken the bikes down some dry creek beds and they seem to be a little heavy on the front end for loose sand and geared a bit high for slow maneuvering. But this is typical of all good dual sport bikes. You have to consider I was able to purchase 3 bikes for the price of 1 BMW. The KLR performs very well. However, the seat definitely needs to be upgraded. These bikes are virtually bullet proof and for the money by far the best bike out there.
- Barry, Round Rock, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2009 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The KLR is my first street bike and so far has exceeded all of my expectations. It is really fun to ride on the twisty roads. It has tremendous low end tourque, you can really accelerate exiting a corner. The bike handles very predicably wich is good for a new rider. Comfort is really good. But for riding on the highway I think I will get a taller wind shield to keep the wind off of me because of my height. You can't beat the price. The most bang for the buck of any motorcycle sold today!
- New rider, Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-23 2007 Kawasaki KLR650 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can't beat riding a dual sport machine like the KLR 650. I can go anywhere with this bike -- one day it gets me to work and back home, the next it gets me to an old fire tower way up in the hills. It is easy to handle, has plenty of power, and is fun to ride both on and off the road.
- Ron Kesterson, Rapid City, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: