‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki KLX 300R reviews

4.4
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.4
Performance
4.1
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tim Mahoney

Antigonish, Nova Scotia

Reviewed on 2005-03-04

Motorcycle reviewed 2002 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

4.0
The KLX is a great bike. It does nothing perfect, but a lot of things real well. After the fee mods are done, it runs strong and reliable. Good bike in the woods, on the road, and in the trail. I have had no trouble at all with the bike and have enjoyed riding it every time. If what you are going to do is trail ride, ride this bike. You will like it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Crawford

Roy, Utah

Reviewed on 2004-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

5.0
I love this bike but it didn't take long for the lack of immediate response to throttle input to become annoying. After many hours of trying to find a work around, I found that removing the baffle from the breather box and covering 3/4ths of the hole with duct tape that I had all the necessary response I was looking for. A buddy of mine owns one and he chopped the internal portion of the baffle off and got the same results. don't walk, run to the dealer and get one now!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Shields

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2004-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

5.0
I bought a 2003 KLX300R a year ago after not riding for some 8 years. It is a reliable 4-stroke and has the power to get you there. It is comfortable and easy to ride. My biggest complaint with the bike was lack of immediate throttle response. A serious dirt bike rider could potentially get in trouble when they ask for the power and have to wait. The carburetor is for street bikes and is operated by a vacuum system so there is a delay between you twisting the throttle and usable power. If all you want to do is cruise along logging roads it will work. It needs a lot of work to be race ready.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe vital

huntsville, Alabama

Reviewed on 2003-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

5.0
I've had dirt bikes on and off in my life , they've been all 2 storkes...i wanted a 4 stroke for it's different powerband and extended maintenance. after breaking it in correctly, i started to ride it alittle harder. it screams and launches through the gears just fine, 2nd gear is very near 1st in it's ratio, so be ready with 3rd ... it will pull itself along and up through the wrong gear if you find yourself there.be sure and play with the suspension settings, you'll be amazed at the ride quality there is in the stock components.this bike is geared for trails, it's hard to wheelie it, as the back tire just spins like crazy...even in good traction...i changed the bars to a much higher riser bar, as the stock bars were very low and offered little leverage...it's alot of bike for the money..it can do it all. and it looks fantastic...please unbolt the 2 muffler bolts and remove and throw away the baffle plate that comes on it...it will run so much better with the new opening and sound like a factory racer.....it can be set up for your riding style as is, without spending a bunch of extra money on parts...you'll see. ,,,enjoy..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dustin Ashmore

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Reviewed on 2003-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

5.0
i own a '98 KLX300r and it has been a perfect dirt bike..it does very well on and off the motocross track...i love all of the torque it has..(but i did put $1100 in the motor so that helped too.)if u want to putt around u can and when u want to get up and go u do all u can to keep on it....found this bike to be the best for what you're paying compared to the 250cc Honda..Yamaha..and Suzuki..its an excellent bike
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt P.

Westerville, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

5.0
I bought this bike back in March 2003, and let me tell you - life doesnt get much better than this~! Thanks KAwasaki for makin a bike worth my money
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shawn Lewis

Akron, Ohio

Reviewed on 2002-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

4.0
I have a 2001 KLX300R, the bike has surprise many around my parts, the bike is very agile, and has enogh power do have lots of fun, I even take it to some local MX tracks on practice days, the bike performs well even suprisingly even over 60ft doubles allthough the suspension could use a little tweaking, the ony problem I've had is I developed what seems to be a slight cracking in a weld near the neck, my cousin developed the same problem and neither of the bikes have been in anything more than a slow speed spill ????? other the that the bike does everything it should and then some.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Luke W.

Walla Walla, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed 2003 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

4.0
I bought the first '03 model that our local dealer got and have loved it! After several years of riding a '78 Yamaha TT 500 (almost 100 lbs heavier than the KLX), I found the light weight and agility of the KLX300R very enjoyable. I don't have the torque or brute strength of the TT but this is a very fun bike. I spend most of my time riding on tight, wooded trails with lots of corners and creek crossings and this bike performs extremely well in these conditions. Even though it shines in the tight corners, the 6 speed KLX300R can get up and move on the more open ATV trails and logging roads as well. Overall, a very enjoyable trail bike!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stan Wojtowicz

Savannah, Georgia

Reviewed on 2002-02-15

Motorcycle reviewed 2001 Kawasaki KLX 300R view listing

4.0
My KLX is a smooth running bike. The brakes work great and it feels comfortable to ride. It's a little bit on the heavy side though. I had race tech do my suspension for MX and it rides excellent. Plenty of power but it just does not have the snap you would expect from a 2 stroke. Being a 300 puts me in the 250 class, so i have my work cut out for me. I ride just for fun anyway. Reliability seems good so far. Check out thumper racing, stroker and planet klx web sites for neat stuff on this model bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: