Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles Reviews (10)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-10-15 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a very fun bike to ride! It has explosive power. It has a funny way how to start it. I laugh at people when they struggle. I have many different types of bikes - 2 stroke and 4 stroke. Nothing plays like the 500. One fault it has is the handling in tight corners on a track. When it comes to trail riding, it is preferred over a 450. It is like easy to maneuver. 3rd gear is the best for cursing in trails, 15 miles to 60 miles in the crack of the wrist. Once the exhaust valves open up, it's here we go. People don't care to ride behind it! It is now sitting in garage under plastic. Ride it a couple times a year in a field. Drain fluids, grease rubber bushings and coat it with WD40 and show bike.
- donald, fairhaven, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-06-21 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing, powerful and with a few minor aftermarket parts, it will handle like a dream. I also have a 2014 KTM 450 SXF and my '04 KX500 will dog it everyday. It's not that my KTM is slow, it's just not at the same level as my KX. This bike is always in the power band and will get you the hole-shot ever time.
- Adam Moretuzzo, Saginaw, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-11 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am fortunate to own a 2004 KX500. Even stock no other motocross bike can compete with its acceleration, speed and stability at high speeds except another good 500 2-stroke KX. I can outrun 450 four strokes in 4th gear with a gear to spare over very rough terrain. My only mods are a 46tooth renthal rear sprocket and a 16 tooth front. Top speed in first gear of 40mph. Racing mx, I never get out of second. In the desert, third and fourth. The stock gearing is too low and 1st-3rd are interchangable. Gearing up decreases the violence of the acceleration and allows for a fifth gear that can give low rpm high fuel effeciency cruising or if the road is long and clear 120mph bonnieville dust cloud behind you. I also own a 2005 CRF 450 and the KX500 will not turn with it, period. It wasn't designed to. The KX absorbes massive hits at scary speeds and never shakes its head, wags or bottoms hard (I'm 215lbs expert mx and compression dampening is on softest settings!). It's suspended and powered for Baja and geared for Anaheim. Sorry to go on and on but these bikes are unfortunately for now, a very young relic. Hold on to your 2 strokes. Some day they'll be like 69 Camaros. P.S. Always be mindful that the KX500 can loop out in any gear at any time!
- Doug Dunham, walla walla , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-23 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's everything I thought it would be. I'm 37. I've owned an RM125, CR125, GSXR750, and a ZX10. I don't race but if I had the money and the time I would. I've read articles about all the new 4 strokes and I've ridden a few. They are smooth but they remind me of an enduro and they sound like tractor or a lawnmower. The KX500 is a mans dirtbike. It's not for kids, guys who complain, fat guys, or guys who don't work out. It is a powerful beast. I have a 2002 with a RAD valve and an FMF Gnarly. It pulls hard, real hard and it vibrates a lot. If you're not ready, this bike WILL get away from you. The previous owner flipped it because he hit the throttle too hard. Now, it's mine. You need to understand what it is before you buy it. If you are into adrenaline and excessive power, this bike is for you.
- UZI9mm, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-16 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is completely fast. In stock trim a rider can average a speed of 85mph. The KX500 is not for the faint of heart when it comes to desert riding - you can get hurt very easily. For a rider that is over 6 feet tall a 10mm bar clamp mount is highly recommended. The saddle area is very comfortable with a plush seat. This bike is hands down the "king of the desert" so hold on and enjoy the ride.
- Bryan Ferguson, Garden Grove, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-29 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own a Yamaha WR500 and a YZ490.They do not perform like the big KX. You could put this thing in third gear and ride or race anywhere. It has spanked multiple 2 strokes and 4 strokes in a 100yard drag with me on it.
- Sean Campbell, Haleyville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-02 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this for roughly 2 months now. My first big bore 2-stroke. It kicked my butt the first two times I rode it. I'm finally getting accustomed to the power. Always starts right up, hot or cold. Downside is rear tire is half gone and stock chain stretched beyond adjustment. Also, anyone behind you when you twist the throttle will be dodging bolders that you chuck at them. Wait until I put a paddle tire on. DO NOT buy a 500 if it is your 1st bike. Aside from power, it is a big bike to throw around. I just barely touch ground at 5'8".
- Eric, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-01 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I AM 14 AND I USED TO OWN AN '03 YAMAHA TTR125LWR AND I GREW OT OF IT SO I SAVED MONEY AND BOUGHT A KX 500. I KNOW IT WAS A LOT OF BIKE FOR ME, BUT I HAD EXPERIENCE SO I THOUGHT I'D TRY IT. AND LET ME TELL YOU THAT I AM AMAZED BY THE BIKE'S PERFORMANCE. YES, IT IS HARD TO HANDLE AND IT MAKES YOU TIRED QUICK, BUT IF you're LOOKING FOR A BIKE THAT GIVES AN ADRENALIN RUSH, THIS IS THE BIKE FOR YOU!! I RECOMMEND THAT THIS BIKE BE ONLY BOUGHT BY AN EXPERIENCED RIDER, AND ONLY IF THEY THINK THEY CAN HANDLE THIS BIKE.
- Ryan, Cedarburg, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike to death. Nothing beats it in my opinion. My bike is pretty much stock and it pulls on my uncles CR500 that is all the way raced out, so that speaks for itself. It is a great bike but if you are a new rider I wouldn't suggest it. Because if you're not careful you won't take it for a ride, it will take you for a ride and that's not always fun... trust me on that!!!! :)
- Jeron, Sandy, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2004 Kawasaki KX500 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 4th 500 and it has power. I hill climb down at my aunt's quarry against all the kids down there and had a 13 bike length of lead from the other guy to the top of the Hill. It is the most modified out of my other bikes. Warning: I am very worn out at the end of each ride on these bikes, even in stock form, if you plan on purchasing one of these bikes, you have better have some experience or you'll be sorry.
- Jeff Hanlon, Gibsonia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: