Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6 reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.5
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Sundara Pandian

Herndon, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a pretty awesome bike, some may think that it has lots of ancient technology but this is what keeps it reliable and easy to maintain (atleast for me), I bought a used Zx6e with 2500 miles on it and now at 10500 miles on it with zero problems whatsoever, the thing just works, all I kept doing was a regular oil change. Has speed when you need it , hit 145 MPH before I chickened out with enough juice left to do atleast 155 Mph. Comfort is average , Butt starts going stiff on the stock seat after like 70 miles, performance is good to average considering it's a very heavy bike compared to some of the new ones. If you are looking for a regular commuter bike and want something which would pass as a sports bike this one is for you. Only complaint I have is you have to remove like a zillion interlocked and unreachable screws on the fairing to get to the innards of the engine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DDAY

KANNAPOLIS, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has been around a while. Now the new name badge is ZZR600, but it is still a ZX6. I recently purchased this bike used with 7100 miles and now have 10,000+ after just a month of ownership. This could easily be one of the forgotten greats. Comfortable, fast enough to keep you scared if you dare push yourself that hard on the street. Great for back roads, one or two up. If you find a used one or are considering the ZZR600, trust me, you won't be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Charuhas

Richmond, Virginia

Reviewed on 2003-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Lots of motor, sound ergonomics, and nice detail touches (like fold-out bungee hooks) make this the base for a great sport-tourer. Put on an aftermarket seat, firm up the suspension, remove the stickers, and you've got yourself a bike that'll let you do big miles in style and comfort, and have fun on twisty roads. <P> I've put 4000 miles on my 2002 in less than a year, and I really like it. It's small enough to handle sharply but big enough for highway riding. Think middleweight BMW K1200RS or less-expensive Honda VFR. <P> The red attracts attention: From cops who think you're riding one o' them Duck-artis at 100mph, from people on the street who go "Wow, nice bike!," and from cell-phone-yakking SUV drivers whose reptile brains dimly recognize it as something like a big stop sign.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will S.

Pasadena, California

Reviewed on 2003-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own an '02 ZX-6 and currently have 6500 miles on the bike. The ZX-6 is a comfortable and fun way to commute daily for me. Other than a little extra weight, it keeps up well with most 600's. On the highway, the ZX-6 is smooth and stable even at speeds in excess of 150mph. Recently I put away a TL1000S on a local freeway. GREAT top-end power! I recommend this bike to anyone who has a passion for riding daily. The ZX-6 also handles amazing for the "softness" of its suspension. If you want a race bike, dont buy this street fighter, buy the ZX-12R.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

RussellF

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2003-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am +7000 miles into my cross country journey, on my 2001 Kawasaki Ninja ZX6 -and I am having a blast. For those who say sports bikes are not comfortable for this type of a journey - I can prove them wrong. I came here from Argentina to do this ride, alone, and haven't been dissappointed yet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

edmd

phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2003-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Dont be fooled, for those who value the all 'round bike with comfort, power, speed, low seat height! this is for you. Stable as a rock at highway speeds and easy to maneuver at low speeds. Great power and smooth transmission. This is 1993 technology but the bike looks great and unless you are some sort of speed demon or track fiend I dare the everyday rider like myself to challenge this bike's limits. Down sides usually cited are weight, but I feel this helps stability on the highway. True, the suspension is a little "soft" but I prefer to call it "cruising plush". Great bike, recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap, awesome looking sports tourer. Not sure about aftermarket stuff yet, have about 1500 miles on the bike and look to keep this for the long term. Finally the 780mm/30.6inch seat height is perfect for the vertically challenged, drive one and you wont be let down by this old 600 cc champion.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cory M

Whitecourt, Alberta

Reviewed on 2003-02-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is the third bike that I've owned and I'm reasonably satisfied with it. It has a very smooth, fairly powerful engine once you rev it out, an upright seating position, and a decent fairing (I like the look and quality of the plastics and such in the cockpit). As far as complaints, the seat is comfortable for about an hour, bodywork has to be removed in order to change the preload on the rear shock, and the pegs are fairly high for what some consider a sport-tourer. It is a little heavy for a sport-bike, but this actually makes it comfortable on the highway. My advice? Buy this if you want an inexpensive do-it-all bike, but if you want a hard core sport bike, look somewhere else.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

big ben

london, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-11-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

2.0
I agree with previous comments. Ancient design and feels it big time. Only good thing about is that it is fast and good for touring. Horrible looks, poor build, Plasticky cockpit, clunky gearbox, Avoid.
Reliability
2.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Roy

Nottingham, Yukon Territory, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2002-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
Wow, what a dated bike this is. Kawasaki really need to sort their range of bikes out and drop this old barge. This bike design is over 10 years old and looks and feels it. Bodywork design is from the same era as the original VFR750. Very old fashioned dash and dated layout. I rode a example that only had a few thousand miles on the clock and it felt like it had done three times that thanks to the cheap budget suspension. The brakes are nothing to write home about either. I dislike the bikes detached feel from the front end which doesnt inspire confidence in the corners. This bike only gets two stars from me because it goes quick in a straight line and is comfy to ride and has a decent tank range. Other than that, nothing really to recommend it. My advise is don't bother unless bought at a big discount and you dont mind riding a 10 year old design.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kevin w.

Buna, Texas

Reviewed on 2002-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
With 35,000 miles in a little over 2 years, my 6E has given great service.I've had some warranty work done (plug wire went bad @ 12,000 and kickstand return spring broke @ 29,000). Other than normal wear items replaced, it's been a great bike. I highly recommend a Corbin seat, GenMar handlebar risers, Throttlemiester throttle control, Yoshimura Zyclone exhaust, Factory jet kit, and 15 tooth front gear,51 tooth rear gear. This combo definitely works for the long haul. Feel free to Email me for more ideas.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: