Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles Reviews (24)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-10-10 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's somewhat cramped for the taller rider, not the most comfortable, It vibrates, not much bottom end and no top end above 8000 and yet it is some of the best fun that I have had on a street bike. It's very nimble with big inch punch in the midrange from 4 to 8,000. If I had endless twisties on my doorstep, the Versys would be hard to beat given that my outsize self is not going to fit on a sportbike and my neck couldn't take it even if I could. My V-Strom is a better bike, but the Versys is way more fun. Of course a Triumph 800 XC is a better bike, better handling and way more fun than both, but it's also way more money. For the money; it's hard to have more fun than on a Versys.
- Phipsd, Surrey, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-05-21 2013 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 2009 Kawasaki 900 Custom (the nice one with the copper cylinder heads) for the Versys 1000. I was looking for something that would be better as a performance cruiser and something you would feel more comfortable on when you needed to use the big expressways. I think I made a great decision. I just put over 250 kms. on a weekend ride where I used predominately expressways and this thing just moves right along without any effort at speeds around 120 to 145 kms. (407 ETR here in the Toronto area). The bike traced beautifully and did not seem strained whatsoever and this was with 25% of the power toggled back. The bike comes with adjustable automatic traction control, ABS and the ability to automatically cut the power by 25%. Given I was coming from something that had maybe 70 hp. at 525 lbs. to something close to 120 hp. (rear wheel) at 525 lbs., with a completely different riding position, the old man inside me elected to cut his teeth with something a little more detuned until I felt comfortable enough to lose the "moto Depends" and step it up. Regardless, this bike was very sweet to ride. I have the optional hard side bags, rear hard bag, crash bars, 12 volt adapter and heated grips. The only things missing are the GPS and the radio (I will try to solve that). The saddle is pretty comfortable and should work out fine for long rides...but since the season is just getting going up here in Toronto, the butt needs some more time to get reacquainted with the saddle. The throttle response is impressive, the rev range is high and the Ninja 1000 engine makes some pretty nice sound effects as you quickly cycle up and down thru the gears. I had to laugh as I came off of the 407 ETR toll route on to the 403 near Hamilton, and as I was merging I noticed a couple of HD deckers as I was merging in. I thought about pulling in behind them but their pace was not to my "new liking", so I just gave the throttle a very slight turn and watched the American Iron disappear into my side view mirrors. Worst thing about the bike: It would have been nice for some other color options. You either like it or hate it. The bike does appear to be a little stange looking but it works well with great visibility and solid performance. If you are coming off a low center of gravity cruiser, this bike is much taller and therefore the weight kicks in early when you are standing still and leaning it over (a little.) Also, given its height, you better stretch your hamstrings out so you can slide your foot over the top of the seat, especially if you have all the bags. The tradiitonal leg swing will not work unless you are a 14-year-old Chinese gymnast. I have 360 kms. so far (not much) and so far so good and I need to up my riding game some given the hp. and the control I have on the Versys 1000 but I highly recommend the bike given what I came from. It is a very sporty but comfortable ride with oodles of power. Safe riding.
- Kent, Newmarket, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-04-04 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with this bike. For the money it is a good value.
- Russell, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-06-21 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Touring the Rockies, carving canyons, two up or solo, this bike dishes out the fun factor in spades! It's one of the most underrated bikes - a must ride.
- Mike, Hotchkiss, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-05-10 2012 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took the bike on an overnighter as soon as possible, under the worst possible conditions: Interstate, high speed, bad crosswinds, and rain. I could not have been more satisfied with the bike's performance. Mine was the smallest bike in the bunch (I was chasing a couple of BMW GS1200's) but it was no handicap. The little 650 kept up just fine. It has great mid-range for passing those pesky big rigs. It did just fine with the crosswinds. Gas mileage on the trip averaged 45 mpg. (average speed was 85). My future touring trips won't be so extreme (or so fast) but it showed just how great a bike this is. The trip was 350 miles each way, and I was quite comfortable. I couldn't have asked for a better result.
- xootrx, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-23 2012 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Versatility, power, nimble, great value and it's very friendly and a fun ride. I would buy it again, no question.
- Dr D, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-13 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is value packed. Whether you are looking for a commuter or a touring machine, it will fit the bill! A seat modification is a must, and a larger windshield is nice for the long hall. It's very user friendly. I have had several bikes before this one, and this is my favorite. I plan on keeping it for many years and many tours.
- joe, kewanee, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-05 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sum is greater than the parts. It's much quicker than you expect and the handling that is out of this world. Can tour with seat mods and windscreen aftermarket products - no issues. I smile every time I ride, for a lot less than other bikes.
- CSA, Reston, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-05 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for a year now. I bought it for a commuter and a short hopper. It has a very comfortable riding posistion, lots of spunk in this motor and handles well. I've taken the Versys on long trips with no issues. It's definitely worth the $$$ and it's guaranteed smiles.
- Dave W., Shillington, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-21 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is not comfortable to me on rides over and hour. I made a trip for a day and was hurting by the afternoon in my rear end. I made a seat pad and think that will be solved. It is comfortable around town and short rides without my pad. I may get a new aftermarket seat. I have a taller windscreen and added the green Kawasaki saddle bags and the bike looks fabulous. I have hit around 100 mph. and not toppped out the tack yet. It seems that the rpm. are buzzing around town but only about 4500 rpm. Below 3000 rpm seems to lug but I am always looking for one more gear (has 6). I have had a KLR650 and this is smoother and has more power but the gearing seems too narrow to me, though as I said it can get up to 100 pretty easily on the highway.
- Kawrider650, Largo, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-13 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had faster bikes. This is very fun and nice to ride. It feels like it has more power than it does. Front wheel comes up in second when you hammer it. All the parts look high quality. The suspension a little stiff on hard edge bumps. For my tastes, it could use more bite in front brakes.
- tony, ny, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-07 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must start by saying that I have owned a few bikes over the years ranging from Vulcans to a HD Road King. The bike that I had the most fun on was a KLR650, however for me it had a couple of weeknesses. It didn't have a 6th gear, or enough overall power. Problem solved! This bike is amazing! I can't stay off from it, logging some 200 miles in the first few days. Riding two up dosen't seem to be a problem either, as this bike has great balance. I will probably be replacing the seat and windshield but other than that it's all good.
- John Jackson, Waterville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Versys for almost a year. Primary use is commuting to work 70 miles round trip, weather permitting. This is my first street bike as I've had dirt bikes and 3 wheelers before the slip and fall attorneys sued them out of existence. I can't say enough about this bike! It's something you can grow into and that is exactly what I was looking for. I didn't want to get something only to want something else a year later. If you're just starting out and think it's too much bike, think again. It's very forgiving. It has plenty of power for the freeways and is well mannered around town. Staying at or under 650cc also makes insurance cost less. MPG is around 48 to 50. It's a blast to ride!
- Kent, Springfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First: I have been riding over 40 years Second: I have owned about 40 bikes in the last 10 years alone. Third: I have owned 2 V Stroms, the 1000 and the 650 and 2 Triumph Tigers. Since I don't ride in the dirt the Versys is more suitable for me on bumpy roads than dual sport type bikes. I only wished this bike had appeared a few years ago, I could have saved money not buying the bikes mentioned above:) If you ride on paved roads only the Versys is an amazing bike. I like to fiddle with suspension settings and so far I have adjusted nothing. The only advantage the V Strom 650 has is a better sounding engine. The Versys is a bit appliance like. This is not a bike that is good for the money it is a good bike period.
- lampell, Novato, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-23 2009 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for about 5 yrs this is my third bike but my first new bike. All have been 650cc I have liked every bike I have owned but love the versys, it's got plenty enough power for me cornering is awsome so much fun, and although I have only had it for a few weeks, the versys is a keeper. I have added the gel seat and trunk wich is a real convenience. I would recommend this bike to any one looking for a bike that corners well, and a bike that will make you smile. Get lots of compliments on the looks and the candy lime green color.
- John C, Ware, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-19 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome little machine. It gets lots of attention because it looks European. It handles WAY better than any bike I have previously owned (approximately 25 bikes) in 40 years of riding. Good job Kawasaki.
- Richard, Cocoa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-12 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the last 40 years I've owned and ridden about 20 motorcycles and traveled from Key West to Fairbanks and lots of places in between on them. What I like about the Versys:<br /> Handling: This is the best and easiest handling bike I've ever ridden. It really makes me into a better rider. Nice and light to the touch and that 17 inch front wheel just grooves through curves.<br /> Power: Plenty of that and I can scare myself in the canyons and cruise, loaded up at 85 mph on the freeways. I also get around 52 MPG which I think is great.<br /> Fit and Finish: This is a great quality built motorcycle and looks it.<br /> Service: One of my pet peeves with my past bikes over the years was the frequent and expensive service required. Not the Versys! Pretty much oil and filters and a valve adjustment every 7500 miles and that's about it. And unlike others, there's a Kawasaki dealer in about any medium sized town around the country. you're never far away from one!<br /> This bike does it all and VERY well. I've never owned a bike I liked this much. I think I'll have it for many years.
- Bob Coen, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-28 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding my Versys as much as possible since purchasing it. This bike does everything well and then some. It is fast enough to keep up with my 600ss riding friends on most of our roads, yet comfortable and efficient enough that I can ride by when they stop to rest their wrists.
- Dan Porges, Quincy, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-08 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's 2500km of rain, pot holes, tropical forest, humidity, 100 miles of gravel, rocks, holes, slippery mud and sand. Now that's a real versatility road test. And also beautiful scenery and marvelous paved roads on which average speed was 160km.You don't need to know more; soak up my experience on the Versys. Get one.
- rodrigo lowenthal, guatemala, Guatemala

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-24 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2008 Versys is the best all around bike I have ever owned. It is very quick, great at highway speeds and handles fantasically. I can't wait for aftermarket "farkels!Best bang for the buck!
- Anonymous, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-17 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding and racing a long time, so I can appreciate a well performing bike. Kawasaki hit the target dead on with this one. It's light, has awesome grunt out of corners, and puts a big smile on my face every time I throw a leg over it. I just returned from a trip to southern Mexico on mine. I put over 4000 miles on it in 10 days and I'm still looking forward to getting back on it. Kawasaki, good job! P.S. Mazzatlan cops DO NOT appreciate 3rd gear wheelies through town!
- Matt Karlsen, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-07 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have 100 miles on the bike and will do an update after some real miles get on it. The bike handles better than I thought it would. I can't wait to get passed the break in period so it could be pushed more. It has a tall seat but I'm getting used to it by just putting one foot down. The advantage is that you can see over traffic much better. It is very different from my Bonneville but any new bike feels different at first. I think I'll like this bike a lot.
- John, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-14 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike for me that I have had, in almost 50 years of riding. It just plain fits right, runs like a shot, handles great, 55 mpg, and it even looks better all the time. I have the break in done, so it has been up in the 9,000 rpm zone a few times, and it really starts to wail from about 5,000 to 9,500. I just got 1050 miles on the bike. I can't wait for next spring &#038; summer. Take a demo ride. Here's a pic after removing the rear foot peg brackets and moving the license plate up under the tail light.
- Jim Cubberley, Naches, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-04 2008 Kawasaki Versys Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned over 100 motorcycles over the past 40 years, this one is right up near the top in my book. Most recently I have had a TDM 850, BMW GSPD, Cagiva Gran Canyon, V-Strom 1000, and of course I still have my 2nd KLR 650. This bike is much lighter and better handling than most of the ones just mentioned. Half the price of some and more fun than all. Within the first 100 miles I have scuffed the tires all the way to the edges, never broke loose or even a wobble. This morning at the breakfast ride I had so many people looking at the bike and asking questions. I have never had so many people interested in a bike (not even my highly tricked out Ducatis). Well worth the price and wait, had my name on the list for 4 months.
- KLRRDR, Yardley, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: