Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki Versys reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Phipsd

Surrey, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2013-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's somewhat cramped for the taller rider, not the most comfortable, It vibrates, not much bottom end and no top end above 8000 and yet it is some of the best fun that I have had on a street bike. It's very nimble with big inch punch in the midrange from 4 to 8,000. If I had endless twisties on my doorstep, the Versys would be hard to beat given that my outsize self is not going to fit on a sportbike and my neck couldn't take it even if I could. My V-Strom is a better bike, but the Versys is way more fun. Of course a Triumph 800 XC is a better bike, better handling and way more fun than both, but it's also way more money. For the money; it's hard to have more fun than on a Versys.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kent

Newmarket, Ontario

Reviewed on 2013-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2013 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded a 2009 Kawasaki 900 Custom (the nice one with the copper cylinder heads) for the Versys 1000. I was looking for something that would be better as a performance cruiser and something you would feel more comfortable on when you needed to use the big expressways. I think I made a great decision. I just put over 250 kms. on a weekend ride where I used predominately expressways and this thing just moves right along without any effort at speeds around 120 to 145 kms. (407 ETR here in the Toronto area). The bike traced beautifully and did not seem strained whatsoever and this was with 25% of the power toggled back. The bike comes with adjustable automatic traction control, ABS and the ability to automatically cut the power by 25%. Given I was coming from something that had maybe 70 hp. at 525 lbs. to something close to 120 hp. (rear wheel) at 525 lbs., with a completely different riding position, the old man inside me elected to cut his teeth with something a little more detuned until I felt comfortable enough to lose the "moto Depends" and step it up. Regardless, this bike was very sweet to ride. I have the optional hard side bags, rear hard bag, crash bars, 12 volt adapter and heated grips. The only things missing are the GPS and the radio (I will try to solve that). The saddle is pretty comfortable and should work out fine for long rides...but since the season is just getting going up here in Toronto, the butt needs some more time to get reacquainted with the saddle. The throttle response is impressive, the rev range is high and the Ninja 1000 engine makes some pretty nice sound effects as you quickly cycle up and down thru the gears. I had to laugh as I came off of the 407 ETR toll route on to the 403 near Hamilton, and as I was merging I noticed a couple of HD deckers as I was merging in. I thought about pulling in behind them but their pace was not to my "new liking", so I just gave the throttle a very slight turn and watched the American Iron disappear into my side view mirrors. Worst thing about the bike: It would have been nice for some other color options. You either like it or hate it. The bike does appear to be a little stange looking but it works well with great visibility and solid performance. If you are coming off a low center of gravity cruiser, this bike is much taller and therefore the weight kicks in early when you are standing still and leaning it over (a little.) Also, given its height, you better stretch your hamstrings out so you can slide your foot over the top of the seat, especially if you have all the bags. The tradiitonal leg swing will not work unless you are a 14-year-old Chinese gymnast. I have 360 kms. so far (not much) and so far so good and I need to up my riding game some given the hp. and the control I have on the Versys 1000 but I highly recommend the bike given what I came from. It is a very sporty but comfortable ride with oodles of power. Safe riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Russell

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2013-04-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am very happy with this bike. For the money it is a good value.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Hotchkiss, Colorado

Reviewed on 2012-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Touring the Rockies, carving canyons, two up or solo, this bike dishes out the fun factor in spades! It's one of the most underrated bikes - a must ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

xootrx

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2012-05-10

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I took the bike on an overnighter as soon as possible, under the worst possible conditions: Interstate, high speed, bad crosswinds, and rain. I could not have been more satisfied with the bike's performance. Mine was the smallest bike in the bunch (I was chasing a couple of BMW GS1200's) but it was no handicap. The little 650 kept up just fine. It has great mid-range for passing those pesky big rigs. It did just fine with the crosswinds. Gas mileage on the trip averaged 45 mpg. (average speed was 85). My future touring trips won't be so extreme (or so fast) but it showed just how great a bike this is. The trip was 350 miles each way, and I was quite comfortable. I couldn't have asked for a better result.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dr D

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2012-04-23

Motorcycle reviewed2012 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Versatility, power, nimble, great value and it's very friendly and a fun ride. I would buy it again, no question.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe

kewanee, Illinois

Reviewed on 2011-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is value packed. Whether you are looking for a commuter or a touring machine, it will fit the bill! A seat modification is a must, and a larger windshield is nice for the long hall. It's very user friendly. I have had several bikes before this one, and this is my favorite. I plan on keeping it for many years and many tours.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

CSA

Reston, Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Sum is greater than the parts. It's much quicker than you expect and the handling that is out of this world. Can tour with seat mods and windscreen aftermarket products - no issues. I smile every time I ride, for a lot less than other bikes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave W.

Shillington, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had this bike for a year now. I bought it for a commuter and a short hopper. It has a very comfortable riding posistion, lots of spunk in this motor and handles well. I've taken the Versys on long trips with no issues. It's definitely worth the $$$ and it's guaranteed smiles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kawrider650

Largo, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Kawasaki Versys

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is not comfortable to me on rides over and hour. I made a trip for a day and was hurting by the afternoon in my rear end. I made a seat pad and think that will be solved. It is comfortable around town and short rides without my pad. I may get a new aftermarket seat. I have a taller windscreen and added the green Kawasaki saddle bags and the bike looks fabulous. I have hit around 100 mph. and not toppped out the tack yet. It seems that the rpm. are buzzing around town but only about 4500 rpm. Below 3000 rpm seems to lug but I am always looking for one more gear (has 6). I have had a KLR650 and this is smoother and has more power but the gearing seems too narrow to me, though as I said it can get up to 100 pretty easily on the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: