Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles Reviews (69)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-10 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my ZRX1100 from a good friend of mine who had gotten it new. The power is amazing. After riding a 99 Superglide for nine years, I was impressed. This bike had a bunch of upgrades when I got it - a sprocket, K&N air cleaners, jet kit, ignition module and a full D&D exhaust. My friend told me to be careful and I soon found out why. The front tire doesn't want to stay on the ground under heavy acceleration. This bike handles like a dream as well and is comfortable to ride. I am so pleased with my purchase, I think this bike is a Keeper!!! I had looked at Ninjas and R1s but wanted something I didn't have to bend over to ride. I think bang for buck, this bike gets it done without a single doubt in my mind. Also, this Kaw inline four will run forever with minimum maintenence which is always a plus, and the power is awesome.
- Kevin Monroe, Sturgis, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-05 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in February 1999 and have one of the best bikes ever made! I have never had a problem. It surprises many racers and always gets attention! This bike, in the right hands, can do just about anything, any time and anywhere. I have owned over 20 street bikes in the last 30 years (Pan Heads to Gixxers) and the Z-Rex is tough to beat! I'm gonna keep it till the end! I have a 57 FLH, 67 Super Hawk Cafe, 77 KZ1000 rat rod and the ZRX still gets 70% of my riding time.
- Smitty, Cascade, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-29 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For me always being a Kawi fan and when this bike came out in 99, I couldn't wipe the drool from my mouth fast enough!! I have a black 2000 with some minor bling added and a kerker carbon slip on that has been bulldogged. Sound is on the load side the way I feel this bike should sound. Performance for me is great, why do I need to go any faster than this? I love this bike! It will be a classic and I get many compliments on it. I have a sargent two up saddle also and comfort is never a problem. I'm sure I will do more to my bike in the future but for now my heart beats fast just looking at it!
- ZRX CAT, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-16 1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Folks, I ALWAYS liked the look of this bike; it clearly pays homage to the Kawasaki GPz series of bikes produced in the early 1980s. I always liked that look. In fact, I've had it mistaken for a 1983 bike! Though this bike may look like it came out of the early 1980s, it has modern technology. It has liquid cooling. It has a ZX-11 powerplant, though it's been retuned for more low and midrange power. Its frame doesn't flex like a piece of licorice. I could go on, but you get the point; it has modern technology where this makes sense. Unfortunately, I couldn't afford this bike when it was new. Back then, I was riding an old Honda; it may not have been much, but at least I WAS riding! Even so, with a better than expected bonus from my job last year, I was able to afford a nice, almost new, 1999 ZRX1100 which only had 5,500 miles on the clock-wow! The bike's previous owner didn't leave it stock, though. He installed a Kerker header and muffler; K & N pods; and, he installed a jet kit. The bike puts 115-120 hp to the pavement-plenty enough for me! The shocks are aftermarket too. The bike has AWESOME acceleration! Even with my 260# aboard, she'll hit 60 in 3-3.5 seconds. This bike will blow away ALL but the most exotic and expensive sports cars. Once the suspension is set up right (this takes time, but it's worth the effort), this bike handles well too; it'll take any curve as fast as you dare to go. In addition to liking its classic looks, I also purchased this bike because, being a big guy who lives in an area with hills and mountains, the extra hp comes in very handy. When I'm on I-78, I don't have to worry about being crowded by some knucklehead SUV driver yapping on her cellphone; a little twist of the throttle puts me 100 yards ahead of the idiot in second. If you're close to a an 18 wheeler, you can quickly get away from him. If there's anyone making you neverous, this bike will get you out of harms way-rapidly. You gotta love it-safety, through superior horsepower! In addition to awesome acceleration, this bike stops as well as it goes. With two big, pizza pan size discs up front, it should! It also has a single disc brake on the back wheel. The brakes are so good that, with the exception of dire emergencies, you can stop this bike with two fingers on each handlegrip-no joke. The brakes are that good. The bike, when properly set up (this is key!), will handle well too. It'll certainly exceed the skill and ability levels of 99% of the riders out there. If you don't take the time to set up the suspension, you WILL regret it; this machine will fee like a ponderous, lumbering beast beneath you. Once it's set up, she'll take any cruve as fast you dare. However, this bike is NOT for beginners! Repeat: this bike is NOT for beginners. Even though I'd owned three bikes before this one, when I picked this one up, I'd been out of the saddle for a few years. Boy, I almost killed myself on the thing! I took it easy till I got used to it. This is a machine that has lots of power; if you get behind the bike, you'll be in trouble-quickly! How does one handle a bike like this? One handles this machine the same way one handles a dangerous power tool or knife-with respect! Treat this machine with repsect, and you'll be ok. The only real gripe I have with the bike is that the stock seat leaves something to be desired. Next year, I will change the seat out for a new Corbin seat made for my bike. In closing the ZRX1100 will do everything you want a bike to do. It can commute. It'll blitz any twisty backroad. It can easily keep up with traffic, no matter what the speed. With a set of tapered Eclipse saddlebags (the bottoms are tapered so as to clear the high exhaust), you can do some weekend touring. This bike is a machine that WILL bite if you screw up. This is a bike that can do it all. In the ZRX, one has all the versatility of a standard, while retaining the best virtues of a sport bike. Who says you can't have it all, eh?
- Mark McCarthy, Clinton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 1997 Ninja ZX11, nice BUT...I never truely felt comfortable with that bike-even with a Corbin seat and bar risers. Not so with the ZRX! It fells like it was custom made for me. I was concerned it would be boring compared to the Ninja, not so! The ZRX is actually more entertaining since the power is in the low/mid range, perfect for street use. And when you're not racing from corner to corner the motors got enough tourqe to happily cruise along in one gear. No need to work the shifter to keep the motor in "the sweet spot". The only thing this bike is lacking is a 6th gear for relaxed freeway cruising. Otherwise, a GREAT motorcycle!
- Richard Peterson, Milwaukie, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-26 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey, just bought this bike a few weeks ago, I am going to use it as a daily commuter. So far, it's been up to the task. The high cc inline four has enormous power compared to a V Twin. The power delivery like all four cylinders can be abrupt at times, and I would definitely not recommend this bike to a beginner. Compared to an R1 that I've ridden, it has less acceleration, probably because of it's mass. It however has superb roll on power, with excellent brakes. The great thing about this bike is it has a character all it's own and that there are many clubs devoted to this particular bike. As a result, there are many mods available out there; one rider in the ZRX owners club has as much as 210rwhp horsepower, the average for most of the owners were in the neighborhood of 145rwhp!! So, if you like tweaking a bike, you'll love this bike. Only cons would be that it is much heavier than a sportbike, and that there is really no head wind protection. From the side however, it is very stable, and does not get affected or get blown to the next lane. Overall it's a great bike. I would have to rank it fourth to all of the bikes I've ridden so far. 1.Ducati 999, 2.Ducati 900SS, 3. Yamaha R1, 4. Kawasaki ZRX 1100, 5. Ducati 748, 6.Honda CBR F4i, 7.Yamaha R6, 8.Moto Guzzi Special sport, 9.Harley Davidson Superglide, 10.750 Honda Magna, 11.Kawasaki Super Sherpa, 12. Harley Davidson Sportster, 13.Honda 250 nighthawk, 14.Kawasaki 250 Ninja. Hope this helps.
- Sonny, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-10 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an excellent all around performer! After my torture rack fzr600, it is very comfy and I've done numerous +300 mile days. Stock perfomance is decent, but a good quality header and jet kit goes a long way in this bike, up from a stock 95hp to 112hp dyno verified at the rear wheel. ZX11 cams will yield an additional 10-15hp. Yet, 75mph cruising still returns 43mpg. Good aftermarket tires also transform the handling, making it feel much more agile than the stock rubber. Easily set adjustable suspension is also a plus. Bike has been trouble free in +10,000 miles with basic routine maintenence. This bike still makes me smile after +2 years of owning it, and I think that says alot.
- w2-360, milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-08 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has looks to turn heads, and the balls to back it up. I find its a bit top heavy, especially with a full tank of fuel when cornering hard. My only complaint on the design of the bike is the clunky shifting. It is a bit noisy. NON-oem equip- I have the Corbin gunfighter saddle, and a new pair of grips. Planned mods- When $$ permits a stainless steel exhaust. I also would like to have the rear swingarm chromed.
- Mike Cole, rotterdam, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-03 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is easily one of the most versitile bikes out there. With this versiltility the price to be paid is that best in any one arena. There are many great mods you can do to this bike to suit your needs for power, comfort, touring, etc. Insurance is cheap and resale for the 1100's is poor due to the 1200's being out. If you are buying used, you cannot beat the value of a ZRX1100.
- James2008, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-19 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2000 ZRX 1100 with just under 10000 miles. I have all the upgrades, Muzzy cams, jets, exhaust and K and N filters. The bike has tons of power and is great out on the highway. My only complaint is that around town and on slow country roads the riding position is a bit uncomfortable. I seem to be leaning forward on the bars which causes sore wrists. Other than that it's a great bike.
- Jamie Hackett, Charleston, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-11-10 1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got it this spring, it is my 2nd bike, and have put on over 5ooo miles. This thing is incredible compared to my first bike, an '82 Honda 750F, that I had for 10 years. Most of it has to do wiht 20 years of technology, but this is one solid bike. Sure it's about as heavy as a 'sporty' bike can be, but it's frame and suspension are up to the task. It definetely made me a better, more confident rider, and has the potential to help me learn a ton more. I'll keep this bike for a long time.
- Jason Wolf, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-09 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike does a great job all-around. I have put on 8,000 kilometres with not a single problem. My criticism is that the frame has too much flex for serious corner carving, however that is to be expected as this is not a race replica bike. Would I buy another ZRX, no, but this is not a fault of the bike. Will I buy another Kawasaki, YES!
- Loren Kroeker, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-01-29 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is pretty darn good right off the showroom floor but after reviewing several magazine mods I changed the seat to a Corbin Gunfighter and a Lady. Changed the windscreen to a Zero Gravity stock height tinted. Installed a Muzzy Titanium full system exhaust. Rejetted the carbs. Removed the airbox snorkel and installed ZX11 cams. Changed the tires to Bridgestone BT020's. The result: 123.5 horsepower at the rear wheel on a Dynojet dynamometer. The suspension is stiff enough and damped enough to handle the extra power on the street.I weigh about 350 pounds and it still brings the front end up at 7000 rpm in first gear!!!!! Very entertaining :)
- Dana MacMartin, Freeport, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-12-27 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a ZR-7 for 4 months and needed more power. A dealer in Raleigh gave me the last 2000 for $6500 out the door in April of 2001 and I have never looked back. For all intents and purposes, this was my first bike. I'm 31, but my lower back is 80, and the seat posistion is excellent for that problem. I'm 6ft 2 and the bike is very comfortable for me. I usually take twisty backroads, but have also done a 400 mile day with lots of interstate driving. It's great for either. The bike could use a little more wind protection above 75, but you won't buy this bike if you're a wus anyway, so don't let it bother you. I went to the ZRX website and read the article about the "Project ZREX bike" and had to do it (ZX-11 cams fit right in, along with factory jet kit, air filter, and Scorpion slip on) WHAT A DIFFERENCE! The bike feels a little quicker down low and now has a killer at the top end. It all costs about $1500 with labor. With the mods, I still have less in it than the $8500 FZ-1, and now have 125 horsepower. I ride with a group that has Hayabusa 1300's and CBR 929's, etc. and I have no trouble hanging. Plus, I can still walk and write at the end of the day. The "Retro" look is awesome. Buy it if you can get your hands on one, it's a keeper forever.
- William K, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-17 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2001 ZRX 1200 in April of this year. I have been riding since about 1963 and have owned or ridden dozens of motorcycles since then. None of them has had the overall competence of the ZRX1200. I find every excuse I can to ride the bike. I have nearly 5000 miles on it and love the torque rush as much now as when I first rode it. The only modification I have made so far is to replace the seat with a Sargent saddle. I can now ride in comfort for several hours and the seat is about 3/4 inch lower than the stock one. It also does a better job stopping you from sliding into the tank under deceleration. A truly great motorcycle!
- Gary Thornhill, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-01 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still looking for the center stand, but after 3,000 miles my grin just gets bigger every time I ride. This winter I'll add a Corbin seat, full windshield, custom D & D pipes, and Givi luggage. Once that is done I'll never want to get off it. Well, maybe long enough for a custom paint job.
- Liz Cook, Lewisville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-29 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Beautiful black & purple, tons of torque, great brakes, and super at any speed with a very comfortable riding position. This bike can handle residential streets, expressways and the twisties with style and plenty of power in reserve. I added a Corbin Gunfighter and Lady seat to stop the forward slide and soften the ride plus a taller windscreen by Zero Gravity in purple to match the bike and take the wind off my chest. I have owned an Indian and two Harleys and they could never come close to the pleasure of this ride. The price is great and the looks are unique but be careful for there is a power monster waiting to get out if you aren't careful or get careless. Ride safe!
- Carl, Richardson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-09-17 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 58, I wanted one last fling .... and with a younger woman... but one that was feisty and sexy. I'm talking of course, about a bike! I've ridden a 69 Triumph 650 .... the ZRX has it beat on just about everything. A 73 Norton Commando...the ZRX handles about as well. A 74 R90S BMW... my favorite. And the ZRX has more power. It is a combination of all my bikes in one. The smile factor is definitely the best. I just put on the Bridgestone 010's to replace the B57's.... much better sticking in the corner. I upped the rear wheel size from 170 to 180 and it handles even better (no modifications needed) I replaced the front windshield with a Targa windscreen...about 4 inches taller. It looks better and works better...a little less air on the body at speed. Most people complain about the seat but I'm not sure if the stock one is really bad. I can slide forward and backwards really easy.. I especially like to put my feet on the rear pegs, and with the 70 lbs. of torque, can run through the twisties without shifting while I play Ricky Racer. I paid about $6400 for mine .... an outstanding deal. And after 15,000 miles I'm totally happy. I've just equipped it with a set of Nelson-Riggs soft bags that match the color scheme and have bought an HJC leather jacket that is green, white and purple to match the bike. And for rainy weather a Joe Rocket Meteor Ballistic jacket in black and green. I'm equipped for street and the long road. What more could I ask?
- Mitchell Billings, Port Allen, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-08-15 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
WOW! I just took delivery of a 2001 ZRX 1200. It kicks ass. Thanks to Kawasaki incentive money I walked out of the dealership at 6899.27 after TT&L. Once again, "What more could a guy want"? It has the HP it has the torque. A good all day ride. A buddy of mine has a tricked out CBR 900RR. We are both experienced riders and I can keep up with him all day. Sometime he is the one who has to keep up. Plus an added bonus is that my WIFE LOVES IT TOO.
- RPM, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-27 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my ZRX since last August after getting back into riding after many years without a bike. This bike is truly your best bang for the buck, and mine has all the power I can use right out of the box. Power delivery is smooth and the bike is very predictable in handling, even under hard braking. I did change the stock seat for a Corbin "Gunslinger" and that is the only mod required to make it into an all-day rider. There are tons of aftermarket mods for those looking to kick up the performance a notch, but the stock power curve suits me just fine for both city and highway riding. Check out the owner's association web site at www.zrx1100.com
- Charles, McKinney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-25 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my ZRX1100 on February 8 2001 as a leftover, and now have 6025 miles on the clock.My trips have ranged from 20 miles to 315 miles in one day with only slight discomfort.The power comes on in an even fashion, and is strong from 3000 to 9000 rpm. I have added a K@N air filter and D@D slip on. These add ons have given the engine a more sporty feel,and a better sound. Handling is great with just a touch of nervousness. If you're in the market for a standard look no further than the ZRX1100/1200.
- Troy Dorn, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-24 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just logged 1k miles on my ZRX1200R today. This bike was actually my last choice of the big three standards. My first choice was originally the Bandit 1200s. I decided on the Z Rex for a few reasons: 1) Kawasaki is "letting" these things go for about 7g out the door. 2) The suspension is fully adjustable all the way around. 3) KILLER motor. So far my complaints are minor in nature: 1)The windscreen does little more than relieve some of the wind blast off of your chest.2) I am getting accustomed to the seat however, it could use a lot more padding.3) the foot pegs are a tad too high and finally,4) no center stand. I already ordered a taller screen from Zero Gravity which should give it longer leggs. I am still undecided as to weather or not I will replace the seat. Even though the padding is a little thin, there is plenty of room to move around on. Unfortunately the tradeoff for having that great swingarm is living without a center stand. Now for the important stuff. The motor on this thing is hands down the best that I have experienced. The power is so linear that it is best described as "electric" in response and delivery. There are no scary peaks in the power band so even newer riders can enjoy this bike. Experienced riders will find out quickly that a sharp clutchless blip of the throttle in 1st or 2nd gear will stand the Z Rex up on its hind leg(s) effortlessly. Finally, this motor has a long heritage so hop ups are easy to come by. The chassis feels more like a sport bike rather than a standard. When you are about to push this machine too hard (which in of itself is rare) there is great feed back. The suspension is a little on the stiff side for a bike of this nature but contributes to its sharp handling. Overall this bike is very close to perfection. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 is because of its long distance limitations. After investing about 300.00 however, it would receive a 5 star rating.
- Scott Williams, USA

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-21 1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my ZRX1100 since April of 99 and I bought it because of it's looks ( my last road bike was a 81 KZ750) and the fact that there is not too many of them around compared to the abundance of crotch rockets. I have had no problems except for my rear wheel "fender" coming loose and I fixed that in 1/2 hour. I noticed howling brakes when coming to a stop in cool weather. The dealer says it is normal. The bike is fast, handles well, looks good and insurance rates are cheap.
- F. Schabel, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 4000Km, this is my 6th bike, and definitely the best bike i have owned, the torque is awesome, comfort excellent. I have installed a full Hindel exhaust system, The extra power this pipe gives is amazing, no loss of low end, and from 5000 and up the power just gets better. The only minor complaints is the seat angle, tend to slide forward.
- James, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-07-14 2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The zrx1100 is my very first bike, and people were telling me I should chose a less powerful bike. But the looks of it I couldn't resist. Its look is simple and the black is not all that flashy. I fell in love with it the moment I laid my eyes on it. Now since this is my first bike my views are one sided. But I love to ride this thing. Put 500+ miles on it in a week just riding around town. Took the motorcycle safety foundation course a week prior to getting the bike which I would recommend to anybody to take if they haven't ridden before. In closing ZRX1100 is for me a pleasure to ride.
- Tranpus Jones, West Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: