Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Kawasaki ZRX1100 reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

70 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eric

Quebec

Reviewed on 2020-11-06

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
fabulous machine. heavy to move when not started, the zrx needs a bit of speed to be really agile. Simple , reliable and very alive , this bikes makes you feel secure when ridding. I like the power, the grip with Pirelli tire, and the temper (you can cruise or race, the bike is able and willing) as well as the fuel burn: from 4 to 6/7 liter/100k....this bike is ideal for me...exept the wind in my face: above 150km/h, I am in a washing machine (naked..bike)..but still, great look and temper, I love it!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Monroe

Sturgis, Michigan

Reviewed on 2010-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my ZRX1100 from a good friend of mine who had gotten it new. The power is amazing. After riding a 99 Superglide for nine years, I was impressed. This bike had a bunch of upgrades when I got it - a sprocket, K&N air cleaners, jet kit, ignition module and a full D&D exhaust. My friend told me to be careful and I soon found out why. The front tire doesn't want to stay on the ground under heavy acceleration. This bike handles like a dream as well and is comfortable to ride. I am so pleased with my purchase, I think this bike is a Keeper!!! I had looked at Ninjas and R1s but wanted something I didn't have to bend over to ride. I think bang for buck, this bike gets it done without a single doubt in my mind. Also, this Kaw inline four will run forever with minimum maintenence which is always a plus, and the power is awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Smitty

Cascade, Maryland

Reviewed on 2008-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this in February 1999 and have one of the best bikes ever made! I have never had a problem. It surprises many racers and always gets attention! This bike, in the right hands, can do just about anything, any time and anywhere. I have owned over 20 street bikes in the last 30 years (Pan Heads to Gixxers) and the Z-Rex is tough to beat! I'm gonna keep it till the end! I have a 57 FLH, 67 Super Hawk Cafe, 77 KZ1000 rat rod and the ZRX still gets 70% of my riding time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ZRX CAT

Rochester, New York

Reviewed on 2006-10-29

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For me always being a Kawi fan and when this bike came out in 99, I couldn't wipe the drool from my mouth fast enough!! I have a black 2000 with some minor bling added and a kerker carbon slip on that has been bulldogged. Sound is on the load side the way I feel this bike should sound. Performance for me is great, why do I need to go any faster than this? I love this bike! It will be a classic and I get many compliments on it. I have a sargent two up saddle also and comfort is never a problem. I'm sure I will do more to my bike in the future but for now my heart beats fast just looking at it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark McCarthy

Clinton, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2006-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Folks, I ALWAYS liked the look of this bike; it clearly pays homage to the Kawasaki GPz series of bikes produced in the early 1980s. I always liked that look. In fact, I've had it mistaken for a 1983 bike! Though this bike may look like it came out of the early 1980s, it has modern technology. It has liquid cooling. It has a ZX-11 powerplant, though it's been retuned for more low and midrange power. Its frame doesn't flex like a piece of licorice. I could go on, but you get the point; it has modern technology where this makes sense. Unfortunately, I couldn't afford this bike when it was new. Back then, I was riding an old Honda; it may not have been much, but at least I WAS riding! Even so, with a better than expected bonus from my job last year, I was able to afford a nice, almost new, 1999 ZRX1100 which only had 5,500 miles on the clock-wow! The bike's previous owner didn't leave it stock, though. He installed a Kerker header and muffler; K & N pods; and, he installed a jet kit. The bike puts 115-120 hp to the pavement-plenty enough for me! The shocks are aftermarket too. The bike has AWESOME acceleration! Even with my 260# aboard, she'll hit 60 in 3-3.5 seconds. This bike will blow away ALL but the most exotic and expensive sports cars. Once the suspension is set up right (this takes time, but it's worth the effort), this bike handles well too; it'll take any curve as fast as you dare to go. In addition to liking its classic looks, I also purchased this bike because, being a big guy who lives in an area with hills and mountains, the extra hp comes in very handy. When I'm on I-78, I don't have to worry about being crowded by some knucklehead SUV driver yapping on her cellphone; a little twist of the throttle puts me 100 yards ahead of the idiot in second. If you're close to a an 18 wheeler, you can quickly get away from him. If there's anyone making you neverous, this bike will get you out of harms way-rapidly. You gotta love it-safety, through superior horsepower! In addition to awesome acceleration, this bike stops as well as it goes. With two big, pizza pan size discs up front, it should! It also has a single disc brake on the back wheel. The brakes are so good that, with the exception of dire emergencies, you can stop this bike with two fingers on each handlegrip-no joke. The brakes are that good. The bike, when properly set up (this is key!), will handle well too. It'll certainly exceed the skill and ability levels of 99% of the riders out there. If you don't take the time to set up the suspension, you WILL regret it; this machine will fee like a ponderous, lumbering beast beneath you. Once it's set up, she'll take any cruve as fast you dare. However, this bike is NOT for beginners! Repeat: this bike is NOT for beginners. Even though I'd owned three bikes before this one, when I picked this one up, I'd been out of the saddle for a few years. Boy, I almost killed myself on the thing! I took it easy till I got used to it. This is a machine that has lots of power; if you get behind the bike, you'll be in trouble-quickly! How does one handle a bike like this? One handles this machine the same way one handles a dangerous power tool or knife-with respect! Treat this machine with repsect, and you'll be ok. The only real gripe I have with the bike is that the stock seat leaves something to be desired. Next year, I will change the seat out for a new Corbin seat made for my bike. In closing the ZRX1100 will do everything you want a bike to do. It can commute. It'll blitz any twisty backroad. It can easily keep up with traffic, no matter what the speed. With a set of tapered Eclipse saddlebags (the bottoms are tapered so as to clear the high exhaust), you can do some weekend touring. This bike is a machine that WILL bite if you screw up. This is a bike that can do it all. In the ZRX, one has all the versatility of a standard, while retaining the best virtues of a sport bike. Who says you can't have it all, eh?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Peterson

Milwaukie, Oregon

Reviewed on 2006-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a 1997 Ninja ZX11, nice BUT...I never truely felt comfortable with that bike-even with a Corbin seat and bar risers. Not so with the ZRX! It fells like it was custom made for me. I was concerned it would be boring compared to the Ninja, not so! The ZRX is actually more entertaining since the power is in the low/mid range, perfect for street use. And when you're not racing from corner to corner the motors got enough tourqe to happily cruise along in one gear. No need to work the shifter to keep the motor in "the sweet spot". The only thing this bike is lacking is a 6th gear for relaxed freeway cruising. Otherwise, a GREAT motorcycle!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sonny

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2004-03-26

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Hey, just bought this bike a few weeks ago, I am going to use it as a daily commuter. So far, it's been up to the task. The high cc inline four has enormous power compared to a V Twin. The power delivery like all four cylinders can be abrupt at times, and I would definitely not recommend this bike to a beginner. Compared to an R1 that I've ridden, it has less acceleration, probably because of it's mass. It however has superb roll on power, with excellent brakes. The great thing about this bike is it has a character all it's own and that there are many clubs devoted to this particular bike. As a result, there are many mods available out there; one rider in the ZRX owners club has as much as 210rwhp horsepower, the average for most of the owners were in the neighborhood of 145rwhp!! So, if you like tweaking a bike, you'll love this bike. Only cons would be that it is much heavier than a sportbike, and that there is really no head wind protection. From the side however, it is very stable, and does not get affected or get blown to the next lane. Overall it's a great bike. I would have to rank it fourth to all of the bikes I've ridden so far. 1.Ducati 999, 2.Ducati 900SS, 3. Yamaha R1, 4. Kawasaki ZRX 1100, 5. Ducati 748, 6.Honda CBR F4i, 7.Yamaha R6, 8.Moto Guzzi Special sport, 9.Harley Davidson Superglide, 10.750 Honda Magna, 11.Kawasaki Super Sherpa, 12. Harley Davidson Sportster, 13.Honda 250 nighthawk, 14.Kawasaki 250 Ninja. Hope this helps.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

w2-360

milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2003-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is an excellent all around performer! After my torture rack fzr600, it is very comfy and I've done numerous +300 mile days. Stock perfomance is decent, but a good quality header and jet kit goes a long way in this bike, up from a stock 95hp to 112hp dyno verified at the rear wheel. ZX11 cams will yield an additional 10-15hp. Yet, 75mph cruising still returns 43mpg. Good aftermarket tires also transform the handling, making it feel much more agile than the stock rubber. Easily set adjustable suspension is also a plus. Bike has been trouble free in +10,000 miles with basic routine maintenence. This bike still makes me smile after +2 years of owning it, and I think that says alot.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Cole

rotterdam, New York

Reviewed on 2003-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has looks to turn heads, and the balls to back it up. I find its a bit top heavy, especially with a full tank of fuel when cornering hard. My only complaint on the design of the bike is the clunky shifting. It is a bit noisy. NON-oem equip- I have the Corbin gunfighter saddle, and a new pair of grips. Planned mods- When $$ permits a stainless steel exhaust. I also would like to have the rear swingarm chromed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James2008

Minneapolis, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Kawasaki ZRX1100

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is easily one of the most versitile bikes out there. With this versiltility the price to be paid is that best in any one arena. There are many great mods you can do to this bike to suit your needs for power, comfort, touring, etc. Insurance is cheap and resale for the 1100's is poor due to the 1200's being out. If you are buying used, you cannot beat the value of a ZRX1100.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 70 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: