Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles Reviews (58)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-08-03 2010 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Triumph and I had a 2005 Speedmaster". I went to the local Triumph dealer open house and rode the Thunderbird and a basic Bonneville (white) which had been ordered with tachometer. I was going to change the handlebars on my Speedmaster but after riding the Bonny, I decided after six years it was time for a different riding position and a new ride. I really loved the Speedmaster (35K including several long trips) and had a trip planned up Northeast. I took the Bonny and did 2,000 miles in a week with one 600+mile day. It's the first bike I've owned including the Speedmaster with no "excepts" as in "I like everything about this bike 'except'". I've been riding 40+years on a variety of bikes and this is the best yet. I've had no problem at 75 all day and I really look forward to riding everyday. I have also test ridden many new bikes the last two yrs, and in my humble opinion, Triumph is the best by far. Two bikes and no breakdowns, etc., just gas, oil and tires for six years. Chain maintenance is easy and the best quality for the price anywhere. This is the best bike I've owned in 40 years of riding. It has great gearing, plenty of power for its weight and it's so easy handling and fun to ride. I am now over heavyweight cruisers. I am Triumph loyal: great bikes and very dependable and I have a great local dealer. I also recently rode the Storm. My initial impression is it's the best cruiser I've ever ridden. It has unbelievable handling and torque. If you haven't ridden a Triumph, you're missing out!
- willie, kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-11 2009 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm relatively new to riding. I love my Bonneville, it is perfect for me. This is my third bike. My previous bikes were V Star's, which are nice bikes, but I never felt totally comfortable on them. I heard the seat height was lowered on the Bonneville, so I tried a test ride, and realized immediately I didn't want my current bike anymore, I wanted a Bonneville. The Bonneville fits me so much better than the big cruisers did, and is sooooo easy to handle. It's much more nimble and shifts beautifully. I would recommend it for a beginner or a smaller rider... anyone who wants a bike that is easy to handle and fun to ride.
- Lynn, Warwick , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-12 2009 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's light, nimble, powerful yet well-mannered. It's easy to ride, yet so far able to handle anything I ask it to do. It's retro-cool styling with modern technology. It has a decent price point. There's the fun of riding something different from everything else out there on the road. And the downside is..?
- T.J., Greenport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-18 2009 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was bought for my wife. We both liked the looks and it was one of the few bikes she felt comfortable on since it feels small, has a standard riding position, lightweight and low seat. Even though this bike is for my wife I can't stay off it. This is my favorite bike I have ever riden, period! I've ridden and owned a lot of bikes, have a Speedmaster (awesome bike as well) and am a very experienced rider. Obviousely it's no race bike but it's more than capable of serious canyon carving with sportbikes and fits in with the cruiser crowd as well. The engine is amazingly smooth as well with a perfect torque curve. Fit and finish is great. I noted the 4 for comfort because the seat is hard and the rear suspension is a little harsh but I'm being overly critical though. Triumph does make a gel seat and not much they can do with the suspension to keep the look. I've read a lot of reviews on this site where people say "can't go wrong with this bike" but with this Triumph, you really can't go wrong. No matter what type of rider you are, I promise you will love riding the Bonneville.
- me, cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-16 2009 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Easy To Handle Love at first ride. I hadn't ridden in 20+ years, and this was a great fit for me. It's like a gentle hybrid of sportbike and cruiser, with sporting footpeg position and quick handling, but relaxed power delivery. Basic bonnie with 17-inch wheels feels amazingly easy to maneuver at all speeds. The engine is docile but strong enough to stay ahead of most 4-wheeled traffic. I can roll on throttle at 35 in fifth gear and it pulls smoothly with lots of torque. A little buzzy, I think it might benefit from a 6th gear, but maybe Triumph has good reasons for using 5. The rear suspension seems a bit harsh; I need to ride with slightly arched back and pay close attention to bumps and dips in the road, but that's OK; helps keep me focused. Although a new set of shocks might be the first upgrade I get. Either that or some new exhaust pipes; don't want to sound like an outlaw but the stock set is almost too restrained and polite. Overall, it's a very good bike for commuting, occasional longer trips and winding roads.
- B.L., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-29 2009 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 2009 Bonneville Black is a very early model. It came from England built looking like a 2008 model but with a EFI motor. I have the T100 spoked wheels, peashooter silencers, and tank badges instead of the Triumph stickers. There are numerous little differences between the same model within the same year. My Triumph twin has been dead solid perfect, in every way and as reliable as the Japanease brand it replaced. My bike is garage kept and isn't ridden in the rain. I have performed all my maintainance and kept the gastank filled when needed. It usually averages between 48-50 miles per regular gallon of gasoline. The terrain I ride in it around 80 feet above sea level and is low lying coastal plain. As a testament to the Triumph Bonneville, If it were stolen today, I would buy another model of the same bike to replace it with, as that's how much I have enjoyed riding this machine over the last 14 months! Thanks for reading.
- JW Adams, Harleyville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-28 2007 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been into the Bonnie since I rode a 10 yr old '73, & was excited when they were reintro'd in '01. Had to have a new Magna for 5 yrs first tho. No regrets on the new Bonnie; no excuses anywhere I ride, lots of great comments, & perfectly entertaining at 10 over. Not bad on dirt roads either. The seat could be better, but it looks right and gets better as it breaks in. The stock tires look right too, but tend to cause shimmy (the ME880's are much better; I hear Avon Roadmasters are too). Cool that the rims are made by the same firm that made 'em for Meriden, but wish they were tubeless. My g/f loves the big back seat & low pegs. It makes me spell like a Brit, right down to the aluminium paint. I made mine a sportstourer; now I want a second one to make a bobber!
- Scorpio, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-01 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 64 years old and bought my 05 Bonnie new. It currently has 19,000 miles with no issues. Replaced rear pads at 9,000 and just replaced the front pads at 19,000. Owned Bonnie in 60's while in military in Europe and just had to have another one. Got 14,000 out of the original tires. Replaced them with same tires due to good tread life. I have factory windscreen, sissy bar and off road pipes all of which add to the enjoyment. My wife much prefers riding on the Bonnie as versus our Honda 1100 cruiser. I often ask myself why I even own the Honda. I think Triumph is making a mistake by fitting different seat, pipes and mag wheels on the new units. I am seriously considering buying a low mileage used one and putting it up on blocks so I'll have a good original product. Performance is more than adequate as I run the speed limit and it has more than enough power to pass on the highway even when riding two up. Best part of the Bonnie is all the questions from gray hairs like myself that remember the Bonnie but are currently riding the plastic bikes and complain their back hurts!
- larry, indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-25 2009 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I've put just under 300 miles on it since purchase, so here are my initial thoughts. It's small, but in a good way. I love being able to grab the handlebar by one hand and back it out of my garage. Ergonomics suit me well, although if I was any taller I might feel a bit cramped. The original seat is LOW and I immediately replaced it with a Triumph solo seat. Much more comfortable and raised my butt up a good inch or more. Now the bike feels almost perfect. As for performance, well, if you're into massive horesepower, then you should look elsewhere. At 43 years old and a family to support, 130 hp bikes are not my thing. However, it is plenty powerful for me - very linear throttle response and enough grunt to pass with ease at highway speeds. I found myself a couple of times wishing it had a bit more power, but then I just calmed down and remembered to slow down and enjoy the riding experience. The exhaust is a bit tame for my taste, but there are numerous aftermarket options and I'm sure that will be one of my next upgrades. Wind last is severe at 70 and above. Bella Corse offers a very cool 3/4 fairing that I'm probably going to buy to help aleviate at least some of that. I put the Triumph flyscreen at the shop to see what it looked like - awesome look, but very small and VERY expensive for what you get. Not enough miles on it to determine build quality, but it appears to be a solid piece of machinery. Shifting is relatively easy, albeit a bit clunky. I'm betting this will smooth out after break in. Brakes are nothing to write home about, but I've found them sufficient. Remember, I'm a pretty mellow rider, riders who push hard may find them lacking. One disappointing aspect worth mentioning is the blueing/bronzing of the pipes. The discoloration is pretty bad at only 300 miles. Some call this character and part of the uniqueness of owning a Bonneville. I would like to see Triumph solve this as I think it detracts from the look. I may eventually wrap the pipes with header tape. Bottom line - I really like the new Bonneville. From a guy who has owned quite a few bikes over the years, I think this one is a keeper. I see myself passing it down to my son someday. If you're looking for a bike with the right mix of character, soul, performance, and looks - find a dealer, take one for a spin, and decide for yourself. Just don't tell too many people - it's sort of nice having a bike you don't see everyday!
- JCF, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-19 2007 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading all the reviews and not wanting to get another sport bike, I decided on the Bonneville. It is a cross between sport bike and cruiser. My last bike was a Honda 919 but the Bonneville is not far behind in the power or handling. I just can't help but smile when I ride this bike. It is a classic looking bike that gets a lot of looks and comments. You don't see these bikes all the time like some other brands, which I like. It rides great and is very comfortable and nimble in traffic. I ride in rush hour traffic and it is easy to get around.
- Jarred, La Habra, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-05 2007 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had ridden Triumphs back in the 60s. I have always wanted to get another one. After scanning the reviews I decided to get a new one. I have had no leaks and no electrical problems. It is a lot of fun. I can't believe the power! I just love it. I am always getting comments on it (great restoration).
- Robert Wagner, santa paula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-01 2007 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a Triumph since the 1970's. I have since been riding Hondas for their reliability. However, when I saw the Bonneville T100, nostalgia took over and I had to get one. It was the best decision I have made in bikes in years. Triumph has solved the old problems of oil leakage and electrical problems, while preserving its timeless good looks. The bike is very responsive and has a great center of gravity. While not super fast, it is fast enough to cruise on the highway comfortably and a lot of fun to ride.
- Gabe Pataky, Sarasota, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-04 2007 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
'Best bike I've ever had. More dependable than my old Kawasaki, great looking and great handling. 10,500 miles since last week in August '06. Could use dual front disc brakes as an improvement, not to mention the stock Metzlers are not all that sticky. Old school upright riding position with a slight forward lean, but at 65mph who notices? Excellent balance as well. Gone 120mph more than a couple times. GREAT BIKE!
- Rob Clark, Dallastown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-03 2007 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not been on a street bike for 15 years before easing back onto the road with my new Bonneville. What a great way to get back out on the road. The handling is fantastic. The retro style is what really caught my eye. Triumph knows what they are doing cause now I am looking at a Speed Triple.
- Mike Kelly, Bel Air , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-19 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my Black Bonny in February and have been on it every weekend. You can ride this bike all day with a smile on your face. I ride with a bunch of Harleys and every where we go it is the Triumph that gets the attention.
- DMartin, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-09 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It takes its origins to one of the most beautiful bikes of all time, the '60s Bonneville, and it gets it all right except for reliability - unlike its ancestors, the new Bonneville seems rock solid in terms of reliability. The Bonneville was the only sensible choice for me, as I was looking for a do-everything bike, and the biz has become so specialized that it's hard to find. In my experience, the Bonneville is a capable daily commuter, a good weekend cruiser, a perfectly fine cruiser, and plenty of fun cutting through the twisties. Sure, you can find another bike that does any one of these things much better - it won't compete with a GSX-R in the twisties, it won't compete with a Goldwing on long trips, and it's not as agile as a scooter in town - but it does all of these tasks, and it does all of them WELL. With realistic expectations, this bike is amply powerful - on a recent trip to Chicago, the speedo was pointing in the triple digits with plenty left to give, while hauling me, two fully-loaded saddlebags and a roll bag. The only complaint I have is that the stock seat encourages you to get off the bike every couple hours - which works out almost perfectly with the 160-mile fuel range I'm seeing, so it's not really a major detriment. I think for serious touring duty I'd want a Corbin Gunfighter and Lady seat. The bike NEEDS the center stand, and it's annoying that Triumph sells it as an extra when it should be standard equipment.
- Tom L, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Scrambler after my KLR started leaking oil after 125,000 km or about 75,000 mi. I had just returned from a trip to Ushuaia. I presently have 36,600 km or about 25,000 mi on my Scrambler. I live in British Columbia, Canada. The bike slept outside all winter with a small heater under the bike cover. I installed a sidecar to keep from falling over on ice and snow. I rode the bike across the continent, from Kimberley BC to Washington State, to San Francisco, then to Charleston SC and back in January 2007. The bike has withstood minus 20 degree Celcius or about minus 10 F and 300-400 mile days in this weather. What more can one reasonably ask? The Himalayas next! One year old and never ridden in summer months because of my job.
- Jim Chomica, Kimberley, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-22 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi Riders, I have to tell you, the new Triumphs are great. 300 mile days are no problem. Fun on dirt roads. Easy to ride. I have two BMWs and love them but the new Bonnie is the first bike I pull out to ride. Currently looking into getting a Scrambler. I have done some things to the Bonnie. Different, flat track style bars. Triumph off road pipes, rejet and remove the air injectors. I put on a Lucus style tail light. The instructions said to relocate the turn signals...so I did. Both front and rear sets are now relocated to a box in the shed. I added Konis to the back. Progeressive springs up front with a Race Tech fork kit. When I get the Scrambler, I will do the same mods I have done here with the exception of the shocks. I will go with Olins to get a better off road shock. I have worn out the stock tyres so I need to replace them. that's it. Great bike. Great fun. Lots of looks and comments. And it may be just the easiest bike to ride.
- Dick, Lotus, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-09 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Bonneville makes an excellent choice for anyone wanting a super daily commuter or back road cruiser. The standard seating position offers excellent control and the shorter wheelbase gives great turning radius. While not an off-road bike per se, it has handled grass, gravel and back country hard-pack roads with aplomb. A super go-anywhere bike. Gets compliments from everybody. The off-road pipes give the bike a nice throaty sound without being obnoxious. Triumph... continue to go your own way.
- Dan, Barrie, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-31 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was introduced to Triumph motorcycles at age 13 when my dad brought a Cub home from England. I put many miles on that bike. Then in the mid '70s, I bought a used Bonneville that needed a ton on work, but when I was done, it was like riding a mustang. What a feeling that was. Last year while looking at Harleys I spotted some Triumph's in the corner. Since my birthday was just around the corner, and no one ever gets me what I want, I sat on a blue Bonneville and waited for a salesman. There was no way I was leaving without that bike. To date I have 3800 miles on it and it has preformed just perfect. You can't go wrong with a Bonneville.
- Gary Baxter, Edmonds, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-27 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have finally been able to get out and put a few miles on the bike. Has a very reasonable amount of get up and go for hops around town; I've not yet been able to try it out on a substantially longer ride. The classic styling hooked me from the moment I first saw the pictures a few years ago! The handling is excellent, and despite some complaints, I've read about the seat I've found it to be not too bad. As others have noted, the sound from the pipes would make a Singer sewing machine embarrassed, but that will easily be fixed with the factory off-road pipes. There are no mechanical problems, oil leaks, etc. to remind me of the not-so-great old days of British bikery. Overall, it's the bike I've been waiting a long time for! Thanks Triumph!
- CJPMurphy, Morehead City, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-11 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike used in October off a small woman whom the bike was too big for. She felt like the Bonney was a beast, but it is actually just perfect for an average sized man. It has just the right amount of power and the seat and peg positions allow for a perfect, unobstructed road view. I often get appreciative and respectful nods from Harley guys while getting nice smiles from their girlfriends riding on the back. Two of my friends have a Moto Guzzi and a Harley. No matter where we go, the Bonney always seems to get the most attention.
- Scott Goodman, Dana Point, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-10 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in September after researching and reading about it for a year or so. I grew up in England when the original Bonnie was still 'the' Bike that everyone else copied, so when it came back out I was delighted to get the original! It has turned out to be the most perfect bike I have ever owned or ridden. Not silly fast like a Jap sport bike & not a rolling clique like a Harley. It was 'all most' perfect. After 1000 miles, I added the tachometer kit & the off-road pipes (both available from the Triumph dealer). Now it IS perfect. Not too loud, until you really get the RPM'S up, which I can now see on the tach. Every time I ride it, I de-stress within 3 feet. Highly recommended.
- Ado, Pompano Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-09 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been shopping around for several months looking for a nice "re-entry" bike, as I hadn't ridden in nearly 30 years (I'm 54). The Harleys didn't do anything for me and the metric cruisers all seemed the same. When I saw the new Bonneville, it was love at first sight. I felt immediately at home on the Triumph, and even at my height of 6' 1", the bike was not too short for me. This bike inspires confidence and has superb handling. It's plenty quick for me as well. The Bonnevilles are not cruisers and they're not the typical sport rocket either. They're not supposed to be either. What the Bonneville is is a really nice back-roads bike that can easily keep up on the freeway when necessary. I think the combination of retro styling and modern technology is a real winner. My only "ding" on the new Bonnies is that the tachometer is an option (which I added). I am planning on upgrading the silencers to Staintunes, removing the air injection and re-jetting to even out performance in the mid-range. While the new Triumph Bonneville may be a little more costly than some entry-level metric cruisers, I guarantee you'll get more compliments and smiles per mile on the Bonnie.
- Harry, Pleasanton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-01 2005 Triumph Bonneville Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my bike in July with very low miles; In fact, I have doubled the miles since I bought it. You can see I am a big boy but this bike is so fast and built so well, no manufacturers out there compare in fun, even with a hand painted tank at that price. A friend on a Ducati 996, and me slammed down the Carolina interstate at 80 to 90 mph to Deal's Gap. There and back, it took 10 hours; this bike never slowed and my smile never came off my face. Make this bike your second or third bike but buy it for the fun factor. Test ride one it will make a believer out of you. It looks so good by itself; I hate to hang bags on it when I travel on long trips. I will be giving this bike to my grandson and he's only 5 now, I am not giving it up no time soon, come to think about it I'll buy him his own. For all you big boys - give this bike a look. Chris
- Chris Hillebrand, Greensboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: