Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles Reviews (81)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2015-01-24 2004 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the Speedie. I migrated from a crotch rocket back to a naked cruiser and it was a coin toss between the Triumph and a Harley. I went with the Triumph and have not regretted it. My only beef is no locking fuel cap, but that's it. Otherwise, it's my perfect bike.
- Dave, Hobart , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-11 2010 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned most brands over 45 years of riding, I was very surprised to find that the "master" checked off all of my boxes. I ride solo about 90% of the time so it just fits. Handling is great, fit and finish is super and it has all the power you need for cruising. Even with a passenger there is no problem.
- eddie, Kamloops, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-04-11 2010 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a really good and unique kind of motorcycle that is cool to ride. This bike feels confident in the bends, it has a really nice range in the gearing (in that you're not shifting all the time). After coming from touring bikes of all makes, this bike doesn't feel lacking. It's also got a lot more power than most in this range and price point. Looks wise, it's got it, it's a TRIUMPH. The only downside for some, might be the chain. If you're looking at the competition at this price point, I highly recommend checking out TRIUMPH. The look, handling and uniqueness of this bike give it an advantage. It's a blast to drive.
- Jeff, Dorchester, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-28 2011 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't written a review for any previous bikes that I have owned before, but I just couldn't go by without writing one for this bike. I have owned many cruisers before including Kawasaki, Honda, Harley Davidson and Triumph. I purchased this bike a few months ago based mostly on the looks. I like Triumph bikes, but I love the new re-design of the Speedmaster with the drag bars, short rear fender, wide tank, and its beautiful stance. When I first sat on it, I felt right at home and after riding it, I was even more impressed with it. It rides great, handles great and just looks absolutly stunning. It's a fantastic bike for a fantastic price. By far, it's my favorite bike to date and I plan on keeping this one for a long time.
- Ralph Porco, Orangeburg, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-03 2009 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, as the title suggests, the first thing that really caught my attention while riding this bike is how well it handles. I only bought the bike a week ago so I don't have a lot of miles on it yet but I'm a very experienced rider and don't need a lot of saddle time to tell. This is, however, my first cruiser. I've owned dirtbikes, dual sports, supermotos, standards and sportbikes and none have impressed me this much this soon. True, I wasn't expecting too much from a cruiser but this thing rides great. Power is what is expected from a 845cc air cooled unit (keep in mind it's a lightweight by cruiser standards though). Anyway, it's an absolutely great bike, handles like a sport bike, very comfortable (even with the forward controls which was new for me) and I'd strongly recommend it to anyone.
- Greg, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-07 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
BOUGHT MINE BRAND NEW IN 07 AND NEVER LOOKED BACK. PLENTY OF POWER AND TORQUE. BEEN 3 YRS NOW AND NO PROBS AT ALL. ONLY OIL CHANGES AND 1 FRONT TIRE. I'M GOING WITH NEW PIPES FROM BELLA COURSE IN MICHIGAN, THEY HAVE A MUCH DEEPER SOUND.
- TEEG, AUGUSTA, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-20 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Speedmaster for just over a year now and I absolutely love this motorcycle. This is my first bike and I think I made the right choice. My friends who have rode my bike that have had Harley's and Honda's tell me that mine is the most comfortable riding bike they have ever rode. The only problem I have had is the computer went out a few months ago, but other than that, it's a wonderful bike that I am very proud to say is mine.
- Alan, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-14 2009 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Went from a 2005 Harley Heritage built out to a new 2007 Triumph Speedmaster. I only changed the pipes to Sceptre pipes from England. It made all the difference in the world. Everybody has a Harley but I am one of a few with a Speedmaster. It takes me back to my early days in California. I really like it and it sounds great. Everyone asks me about it. It performs as good as my built Harley.
- DR DELL, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-26 2009 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, here's my story. I'm 50 years old, have ridden all my life, have had 44 motorcycles, all of them Japanese except for one '73 Harley Sportster, and one '66 Triumph Bonneville. The Harley was junk, and for the most part, so was the Triumph, but it had a charm to it that neither the Harley nor the Japanese bikes had. So, it was time for a new bike, and I wanted this to be my last new bike. I also did not want it to be Japanese. I checked out the Harley 883 Sportster, but it felt too small, plus the dealer wanted to add to many things onto the MSRP. Also, I just didn't get a good feeling from this dealer. Then I remembered the Triumph. I went to the only Triumph dealer in my area, sat on and looked at all the different cruiser models, and settled on the Speedmaster. It looked beautiful, and fit like a glove. And I loved the tubeless tires and air cooled engine. The icing on the cake was the deal I got on an '09 model. OTD for under MSRP. I wrote the check, and the deal was done. No turning back now. Understand I bought this bike without even riding it. I was almost afraid to ride it home, afraid I'd be disappointed. No way. I've owned many nice bikes, of all different types, but I immediately felt at home on the Triumph. I knew it would be comfortable, but I was amazed at the way it handled, at how it responded to control inputs, at how the controls felt. It was perfect in turns, shifted great, and the fuel injected engine (my first) has excellent throttle response. While I wouldn't recommend this bike for 2 up riding (look at the America for that)I've always been a solo rider. Though I only have a little over 1000 miles on it so far, I have already developed a bond with this bike that I never had with any of my other motorcycles. This bike may not be for everyone, but if you are looking at a Harley Sportster, or a Japanese cruiser in this size and price range, both the Speedmaster and the America are definitely worth more than a casual look.
- Gearld , Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-29 2005 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a real sweetheart. I love the looks, the performance, the quality in every detail. Slab rides or twisties, my Speedmaster takes it all in stride. I've ridden in all conditions, including wet snow, and it handles great. I like the extra stopping power with the dual front discs. I experimented with several other bikes before deciding on this one. None seemed to feel right for my size and weight, but the Speedmaster fits like a glove. I recommend: a beaded seat for long trips (rolling back and forth gives you a massage a louder horn (Stebel is good). OEM shorty pipes allow easier access to rear wheel, and they sound great without being obnoxiously loud or Harley-hey-lissen-to-my-rolling-thunder. Kudos to Triumph and the Hinckley plant for reinventing classic biking!
- John H., Long Valley, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-29 2006 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Always wanted a Triumph since I was a kid and saw Steve McQueen on one; this is my first street bike, and it could be nothing less. Having relatives and friends with nothing but Harleys, I also wanted anything but. I get comments everytime I park it; it's nice to have a standout machine with a unique sound. Fit and finish is very good, and the lines are perfect cruiser. Could use a little more power, but plenty of time to upgrade to a T-Bird or Rocket Roadster, eh? Great job Triumph!
- Robert, Parker, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-14 2009 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I moved from a Harley ElectraGlide Classic to the Speedmaster and couldn't be happier. I was tired of the bulk of my Harley, and went looking for the kind of motorcycle I rode in the 60's. I looked at BMW, and Ducati, finally settled on Triumph. Pound per pound I thought the Speedmaster offered the best buy. The bike was very comfortable and I felt good in the saddle. I put on a fly screen, leather bags, upgraded the muffler system, mirrors and some minor chrome parts, all Triumph accessories. I would like a bit more torque, but overall I love the motorcycle. I've done 2 long distance trips, and if your okay with cruising at 70 mph., or less, the bike is wonderful. In town and on back roads it is truly a pleasure to ride.
- dan walker, woodland, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-11 2009 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a rigid mount engine, however, it's nothing like an older, pre- rubber mount HD. It's extremely smooth riding, and I highly reccommend leaving the stock pipes on if you like riding for long periods of time, because they're quiet and won't become annoying. I've recieved compliments from EVERYONE else on bikes, and even from non-bikers. Mine is the two tone black and white with the gold pinstripes (2009) which are hand - painted on, and it really is a stand-out look. I went the extra step and bought it with the touring gel seat and the foot boards, along with the triple light kit, and it looks very retro, and doesn't look at all like it's trying to be something else, it really does have it's own look. Every time I wash and/or detail it, I find myself spending just as much time staring at it afterwards as I spent doing the job. It's just plain gorgeous. It's also pretty darn powerful, yet doesn't feel like it will get out of control - PS - it handles more like a large sportbike than a typical cruiser, maybe that's the Metzeler tires doing their job, and I replaced both tires already during this 1st riding season. I would highly reccommend this bike to anyone whether they are used to sport-bikes or cruisers, it really does have the best of both worlds.
- Freddy, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-25 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '07 Speedmaster in July 2008 and it has been nothing but fun since. Since it was last years model they kicked in 1,000 in acsessories (below). Comfortable ride, I get 42 min MPG for all city driving but about 55 MPG to work (1/2 freeway). The phantom black/sunset red paint job turns heads and looks like it might belong in The Fonz's gargage (he rode mostly Triumphs on the show). I get many compliments on it, some think they misheard me when I tell them it is a 2007. Zero mechanical problems so far. Have no trouble keeping up with my Harley friends. The large rake angle with a small front wheel gices it a nice blend of stability and manouverability. Less vibration than even most Japanese bikes I tried. Seemed to be a quality product, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
- Ray Lammers, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-29 2003 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Returning rider upgrade from a 79 Honda CB650. This is much more than I expected. Good slow speed handling once you get the feel of a cruiser over a standard. Rock solid on the highway at 90mph. Wet roads make me nervous. Moderate rain at 75mph with no worries. Less wind at 80 than my Honda at 65. 60 mpg at 75 mph. 50mpg at 85-90 with 10% ethanol. Yep it gets attention vs the same old V somethings. Mind your turn signals because you will never see your idiot lights to remind you.
- Doclees, Harrisburg , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-28 2004 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a little over 4 years and 46000 miles, I have to say I am very pleased with my Speedmaster. It is my first bike, and I have to say, it may be my last too. Even if I do add another bike or two to the stable, this one isn't going anywhere! I run back and forth across Houston, TX every week, often several times/week, at 60+ miles round trip each time, and a lot of that at night. With the exception of a few crotch-rockets, there is not anything around here faster on a cross-town, repetitive commute. This thing just loves running 80-90 mph - it really hits that power band at about 5k rpm (at 90 mph, 17t front sprocket). It handles well, is very comfortable, and has been absolutely problem-free. I have done 650 miles in a day, and want to do 1000. I have done 300-400 miles/day two-up and can hardly even tell she is back there. I get looks and comments everywhere I go, and go weeks between sightings of other Triumphs. I ride with other sport-bike riders because most cruiser riders can't hang (they putt-putt while I'm hauling the mail). At 500 lbs., I eagerly look forward to any opportunity to take her out. I have laid her down, and picked her back up, too (not at speed). I don't think I would ride a 700+ lb. bike near as much, yet I enjoy the 10k miles I get from each set of tires while kicking her the whole way and still can't wipe the grin off my face (unlike a sport bike that may only get 5k/set of tires). The Rocket III is nice, as I am sure the new T-Bird will be too, but it can't be that much better than this - this is just too cool!
- Blackwind, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-14 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Speedmaster a week ago and it is the best bike I have ever owned! It handles great in curves, is great for long rides and I love the compliments I get from other bikers. For me, a woman, this bike fits me to a tee! It is so easy to handle, and being 5'5(140 lbs.), it sets low enough that I can reach the ground with ease. I love my Speedmaster! What a joy to ride! No words can describe it, but awesome' comes close.
- kilo, Anniston, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my Speedmaster on Friday, July 13th...which is suposed to be an unlucky day... wrong! That day changed my life! The first night I got the bike I put over 150 miles on it! And I still can't get off the thing!! Rain or shine, I ride. I've put almost 3000 miles on it already and only had it for about a month and a half!This bike is awesome. It fits me perfect and has enough power to propel me and my girl (which I met the following day on my bike) to 70mph whenever I twist the throttle! I've had the bike up to 100mph till I was running out of road, and still had more throttle! I've done a couple of 300-400 mile trips on this with great ease. It is a very comfortable bike to ride for me, however my girl does complain that the small seat gets to her after awhile, need a touring seat next for the longer rides. After reading some reviews I did put a 19th tooth sprocket on the front which made a huge difference in highway speeds. Now, cruising at 70 mph only runs at about 3500 rpms. All in all, the bike is awesome and would recommend this bike to any one that is looking at Sportsters. It's not a Harley but I didn't want to fall into that category of going with the flow! I wanted to be different and this bike gets looks! Well I'm off to go for a ride, like I said I can't get off this bike!!!
- greg moore, chittenango, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-26 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the fifth bike that I have owned and my first Triumph. I've fallen in love with it! I've put 4400 miles on it in a little over a month. It handles great and in my area of the country...there's few Triumphs to be seen...many people have to stop, talk, and check it out no matter where I ride. It handles very well and I'm very pleased.
- Duane, Tullahoma, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-23 2004 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a number of bikes through the years but this one really stands out from the rest. Its lines are artistically unique and it is pleasing just to look at her while she's stationary. If you don't want to be just another generic 'yamahonkawly' then this bike is for you. Your real treat will be your first ride on the Speedmaster. IMHO the handling is super for a cruiser and performance is great with its 62 bhp. I added BUB brand aftermarket pipes and carb rejets and now it has a lot more thumpity thump than any jap v-twin because of the 790cc's unique 270 degree firing order. I would not ever think of selling my Speedy.
- Bob, Oklahoma City , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just wanted to give a long term update on a bike I'm very pleased with. 16000 mi. and no problems whatsoever. Just replaced the front tire (metzler) which wore very evenly and still have about 2k on the rear so not only do these metzlers grip...they wear well too. Installed tri. shorties which sound good crusin' and are not too loud, and a memphis shades screen (Honda Magna brackets work).. no buffeting and allows adjustment. I've only had to adjust the chain twice. Changed to an 18 tooth center sprocket to lower rpm at cruise and this has worked very well. Still plenty of punch and much better on the road. These bikes handle so well in the twisties, and are great for commuting and I've done long distance also. Shifts excellently and unlike some of the larger v-t's I've demo'd lately, no engine heat on the hot days. Simple, efficient (45-50 mpg), and very dependable. If you're looking for a new ride, check out the Speedmaster or America. You won't be disappointed.
- willie, kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2004 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A classic bike. The parallel twin that doesn't vibrate like the old ones in the 60's and 70's did. Aftermarket pipes are a must to bring out the bikes personality. I put the touring seat on and it was a big improvement. No problems so far. Still on original tires and brakes but it's getting close to replace both. The bike has enough power after pipes and rejett to putt putt my big self around fine, and it doesn't weigh so much. Handles very well in the twisties with good ground clearance. I avg about 47mpg. It's a good dependable, head turning simple bike. It's a keeper.
- Homer, Fredericksburg , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2006 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great ride. I'm now on my second Speedmaster. Had a 1200c Sportster but this beats it hands down. haven't lost to a Harley yet, my friends with their new Harleys can't believe it. After 2000 mi.everything changed, it just keeps getting better. I'm thinking I made the best choice ever, won't go back to anything else.
- marty, stony plain, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-12 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man o Man, I don't have enough words to describe the feeling of riding Speedmaster. After 10 years of not riding, I decided to buy the Speedmaster instead of a Harley (everybody has Harley, but just few real motorycle fans know real stuff) and I can tell you honestly I did not regret one sec. The funniest thing is when I pull at traffic light (with other bikes) everyone compliments my bike and they don't even acknowledge others, and they get p... off.
- Sash, Pearland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I immediately fell in love with the style of this bike. Was looking for something of a classic, but not so much chrome you get snow blindness looking at it. Easy to care for and clean, very distinctive look. Only issue was slight tail-bone discomfort and right hand gets a little numb. Plenty of torque and speed when you want it! Capable of 70mph at switching to third gear. Bike just loves to go. Does tend to feel like you need a 6th gear at freeway speeds, but not too bad. Would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a middleweight cruiser.
- Joe Whipple, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: