Triumph TROPHY Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (35)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph TROPHY Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Triumph TROPHY Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2018-07-08 2014 Triumph Trophy SE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have about a thousand miles riding it so far but I love it. Hard decision to trade my Triumph Thunderbird LT but no regrets. Bike rides and handles like a dream. Have ridden interstates, rural highways, and twisty mountain routes and it felt at home on all of them. Total thumbs up on this bike.
- John Stokes, Eastern North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-30 2016 Triumph Trophy SE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the Trophy 8 months ago and have about 2,300 miles on it now. Also have a Honda ST1300A plus two cruisers. The handling on the Triumph is outstanding. Much quicker than other sport tourers I've ridden. The foot pegs could be a little lower but I have long legs. The engine is really smooth and has a broad range of power. With heated bars and seat, along with the great fairing protection, it's comfortable riding in the 20s. Haven't had the first problem with it although I still haven't mastered Triumph's programing system for the bike.
- Pat, Central Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-06-26 1999 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I have not owned a bike since the early 1980's, so I was shopping for something ride for a couple years to get my skills back, then trade it for a nice cruiser. When I found this Triumph I knew it was the bike for me, and after about a week of riding it I don't want to let it go. Maybe I will tire of it, time will tell, but for now it is exactly what I want to be riding.
- Dave Franken, Central Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-06 2014 Triumph Trophy SE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had ridden and compared nearly every sport touring bike in this category. It came down to three bikes - the Yamaha FJR 1300, the BMW R1200 RT and the new Triumph Trophy SE. The Yamaha leaned further to the sport side and lacked a lot of the extras that come standard on the Triumph and BMW. The BMW came the closest but after optioning it out with everything that came standard on the Trophy SE the Triumph ultimately won out in the end. The Trophy SE has more power and torque spread over a wider rpm range and the big triple has a nice throaty exhaust note like ripping canvas. I also love the infotainment system however the learning curve was a bit steep in the beginning but it's all second nature to me now. I can ride this big Triumph for hours without fatigue. Despite its size and weight it loves to be flogged in the twisties thanks to its great steering geometry and low center of gravity. One season down with the Triumph Trophy SE and am looking forward to many more!
- Anonymous, Northeast Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2016-03-05 1964 Triumph Trophy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of several reviews I'm doing on classic Brit bikes I owned years ago. I'm the author of "Shooting Star: The Rise and Fall of the British Motorcycle Industry" published by ECW Press of Toronto in 2009. The Trophy was the 650cc Bonneville, but with as single carb and milder cam and lower compression. Dual carb British bikes of the era often rode roughly and were less reliable, but all big twin Triumphs were at risk of throwing rods. Handling of Triumphs was inferior to BSA bikes, no matter what you think of the brand today.
- Anonymous, Indianapolis

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-23 2000 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I have ridden a Harley Electra Glide for a little over 4 years and 32k+ miles and never thought another bike would steal my riding time. This bike has. It has incredible acceleration with plenty of pull all the way through sixth gear. It corners great. I may need a Corbin seat (the Harley spoiled me). I rode it in driving rain, wind and fog and it handled better than anything I have driven on two or four wheels. It is a tad warm on hot days but I still have the Harley. Win-Win.
- Rob, Attica, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-20 2000 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started with a little Honda Nighthawk 750 and quickly outgrew that bike. I needed a bigger bike to keep up with my clubs electra glides and road kings. I also needed the luggage space for overnighters that the nighthawk didn't have. What an awesome bike. I have enough power to keep up with the group with plenty to spare and I am not getting blown around by the wind anymore either. I am very pleased.
- Tim Jorgensen, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-23 2000 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only had this bike for a couple of weeks, and put about 400 miles on, but I figured I'd share my initial impressions. This bike is great looking, very nice paint and details. A helmet fits in the top or side bags, and they're very easy to remove. The riding position is great for me, just a slight forward lean, and the foot pegs are slightly out front and fairly low. The bike feels very flickable, and is easy to handle at low speeds. Very easy to put up on the center stand. Can't comment on reliability yet, I've had no problems in two weeks. The engine is awesome! The thing just howls when you get on it, tons of torque, very easy to ride. I've owned a Bandit 400, 600, & 1200, a Honda Magna 750, a Honda CB1000, and a Ducati ST2. Again, don't know about reliability (I still have the CB1000, just in case), but for comfort, utility, and fun, this bike definitely is the best of the bunch.
- Kevin Lennon, Jaffrey, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-02 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You better get one now because there are no plans for Triumph to continue this model line in 2004. In my personal opinion this is one of the best looking bikes on the planet and there is not another sport tourer on the market that has the luggage capacity of the Trophy (except maybe the Sprint ST). For the money you can't go wrong with the Trophy. There are a few downs which are easily fixed with a taller screen from Clearview (the stock screen is very noisy) a new seat from Corbin and Gen-Mar bar risers create a very comfortable ride.
- Wayne Gale, Tallahassee, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold a 13 year old Harley and bought a new 02 Trophy, got a rebate and had enough cash left to replace the seat, (Corbin) and install bar risers. I have about 3500 miles on it and we love it. The last BMW I had was an R100RT. Too hot. Current R1150RT was $7000 more than this bike. (Less HP and it still has surge). Jap bikes are great but wouldn't own one.(No Soul)This machine has been reliable, the dealer was great and again I have to say for the money this is a "Best Buy". Just know you're gonna want a seat. The stock one is awfull and a set of Gen-Mar risers gives you a comfortable riding position. Our last trip thru WV was 1200 miles in 4 days. This thing loves curves but will haul ass down the freeway as well and the best thing we noticed is rain protection is excellent. The media has completely missed the boat on a great motorcycle.
- Ron McElroy, Bradford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-07-15 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my bike in spring of '03. One test ride sold me. I should say that I have always had cruiser type bikes,and this my first sport-sport/tourer. I wanted something for trips as well as day rides. So far at about 2500 miles on the bike,i have to say i couldn't have done better.Spent 5 days of vacation cruising the Blue Ridge and even ran the famous "Dragon". This thing does it all. Fuel mileage isn't what i expected,about 33mpg,and the seat doesn't do the bike justice.
- Ed Robson, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got a Corbin, solving the seating problem. I had them lengthen the front seat 1 inch.This does shorten the rider's seat slightly but allows for 3 distinct riding positions. However, I am rather tall (6'2"). Took a little getting used to but really like it now. Thanks.
- Tom C., Montgomery, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-04-14 2001 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my Trophy 1200 (U.S. Specs) in late February 2001 in Germany. It seems as tough my butt has been glued to the seat ever since. The bike is absolutely fabulous. I'm a large man, 6'4weighing 275 pounds, and the Trophy hauls me around with no problem. It sits comfortably but my knee angle could be reduced a little. It s only noticeable after two or three hundred miles continuous riding. Last September my wife and I rode to Enkoeping, Sweden (75 kilometers) northwest of Stockholm. We averaged five hundred miles per day on the way there and on the way back. NO PROBLEMS WHATSOEVER! We were loaded like it was moving day and that inline fournever even breathed hard. In fact I had trouble keeping the thing under 90 miles per hour on the Autobahns. We ran into some crosswinds going over the bridges in Denmark that were pretty "hairybut even the cars were having problems. In moderate winds I haven't had any problems to speak of. The bike is solid all around and an absolute joy to ride. Crank the throttle and hang on because the bike is very responsive and it doesn't take a lot of twist to find yourself "flying lowdown the highway at speeds well in excess of 120 MPH (and this is a TOURING bike). I'm anxiously waiting for Triumph to bring out the next generation. Gotta have it!
- Emmett Williams, Rammelsbach

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-11 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new in Sept. 2002. Runs great, loads of accleration. Ultra smooth suspension. Paint is awsome.Gas milage with only around 1,300 mi. on the clock is about 35 mpg. I found the handling great for a bike this size. Downs; the seating position places the rider too far forward. Placing the rider a little further back would put the knee position in a slightly more favorable bend and/or positioning the foot controls a bit more to the front. The idiot lites, especially the turn indicator lites are too small and impossible to see in sunlight. All in all I love the bike. Great ride.
- Tom Cooney, Montgomery, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-08 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Trophy 12 in December 2001 as my new bike for use in my motorcycle school as my dedicated training bike. I didn't test ride it before hand but read various reviews. Had never fancied it when it first came out bascically because of the Oakley 'frog-eye' lights. Having thought about the BMW R850RT, (would have been ideal for city riding but BMW salesman didn't want to know me??!!) and also the Pan, and having always used ex-Police BMW to instruct I reckoned that the Trophy offered excellent value for money. I shopped around the UK for best price and with the extras I wanted (heated grips, fender extenders and a top-box) they came up with the figure of around $7000. My local dealer (Shirlaws) met that and took another $100 off. Since January as I was away on holiday at the new year, i have clocked up 22,000 miles (2750pm) and have only had a faulty thermo switch indicating the engine was running hot. She is excellent around the town catching my pupils on the 500cc Kawasaki ER5s up and effortless out on the open road (e.g. Aberdeen to Orkney Islands) and thrives on twistys and scenic sheep occupied single track roads. I am amazed that around the city whilst instructing i still get 200 miles to a tank (approx 44mpg!!), I never have a sore behind and can easily show my pupils a U turn in 15ft. The major difference to my ex BMWs is you can put her into a corner and she'll take it as well as any sports bike. My only complaint is that the screen could be doing with being 2" taller but i hear there are aftermarket ones available. I would recommend the 1200 with all my heart.
- Eric Morgan, Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-27 2000 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Typical of anything made in England, my bike is "under-wrench" as much as it is on the road. I have mounted a 55 gallon drum of oil on the rear fender to keep up with the crankcase leakage. I've replaced the factory plastic bearings with real metal ones. To date, I've spent seventeen thousand one hundred fifty-eight dollars and seven cents on maintenance on this bike. Not bad considering I've already put over a hundred miles on it. If you think that I'm going to rate this bike at anything less than five stars, you're crazy. That would be an admission that I had screwed up.
- Barry Switzer, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-05-23 2002 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have been riding for over 40 years... so you say just and old fart... well my other bike is a ZRX1200..... and my last fast bike was a TOP GAS DRAG bike ran in the low 8's at 170 mph... have owned some 30 + bikes and riden over 100 varried models... need to tell you this TRIUMPH TROPHY 1200 is the BEST all around motorcycle I have ever had the opportunity to ride.. so I purchased it... and the more I ride it the more I love it... what a great machine.. both on the highway and back roads... good power... great breaks... and it handles too..... have had it for 3 weeks and have put 2,800 miles on it.. have not found a weekness... except the seat... Try a test ride on one... and I am sure you will take it home.... Thanks TRIUMPH.......
- Ted, Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-10-06 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Bike during bike week in March. Since then I have added a 45-liter Tour Trunk, mud guards up front and back, a Corbin seat, foam grips, as well as a Scott oiler for the chain, a 5 over Gustovsen shield cured the wind turbulence around my head. The bars still need to be moved back about an inch for the best ride. Maintenance items have been 3 temp sensors replaced, balancer shafts, an annoying Temp light that always comes on on a warm day when stopped for more than about 30 seconds. And normal services. The gas mileage is atrocious unless speed is kept under 70. When tooling around at about 60-65 as high as 45 can be achieved per gallon. When any speed over 75 for extended periods of time are used mileage drops like a rock to around 35-37. Thank God for a big tank. 12,000 miles in about 6 months has showed some of the flaws of the bike, but it's still a good buy for the money. I think the suspension needs some finer tuning but I haven't had the time to really tweak it. Over all the bike seems to run well and the power is good for a bike its size. A trip to Canada In July was great. The luggage is superb as well as watertight. Over all I would say as long as Triumph supports their products I will continue to buy them. And I will recommend them to a friend.
- Randy, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-05-25 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had many bikes during my 2-wheel riding tenure. I started off on a sl90 and most have remained Hondas. I recently had the opportunity to trade for the 2001 "Triumph Trophy". This 1200 4-cyclinder, is probably one of the best-kept secrets in the world of 2-wheel transportation. I say transportation because I am no longer just a weekend warrior. People choose the bikes they ride for many different reasons. This bike not only is for weekend rides on some freeway. I find it pleasant for mundane everyday transportation to and from work or even to run errands. I had looked at the new gGold Wing but the price and all of the unnecessary do-dads did not impress me. To many things to take your attention from the road. The trophy weight is just over 500 lbs. The engine has a smooth accelerating ride. Its response and handling give a tremendous confidence to the rider. It is remarkably agile in corners as well as accelerating on a long stretch of roadway. The finish consisting of a full fairing and bodywork allow me time for not having to spend hours polishing chrome gadgets. Like most bikes there is some room for improvement. The seat is not the most comfortable. The handlebars are more forward than i would like on a bike made more for a straight up riding position. But all in all the bike is class with a lot character. It is a true workhorse of the industry.
- Mike Byrd, Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-14 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride a Honda 1100 Shadow. It was great around town and it looked great but, on the highway and on long trips I asked myself why did I buy this thing. So I searched for a replacement, I looked at every thing,( BMW, Harley, Kawasaki Concourse).Then at the annual bike show I saw the Trophy 1200. It had every thing I could want and more. After a couple of months of being a very proud owner, I can never see myself ever owning a different brand of bike. I know longer wish I had someone else's bike.
- Jack Sterling, Downers grove Il

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-03 1997 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best overall combination of power, handling, and reliability in the sport touring field. As much torque and power as most will need. Excellent weather protection and comfortable ride for those 500 mile days. Not for short riders as bike sits up high off ground, so-so gas mileage and glare off gauges in bright sunlight.Extremely fun bike that does it all.
- Anonymous, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Platinum '99 Triumph Trophy near the end of November of 2000. It was barely broken in with 1900 miles so I considered it good as new. I could not be happier. I test drove BMW R1100RTs (nice but - yawn, sorry), Honda ST1100 (too heavy), Kawasaki Concours (dated styling) and a Suzuki Bandit 1200 before my eyes fell upon the Trophy; what a beauty. When I took it for a test ride in light apparel on a blustery 38 degree F day, I was awe struck. Wow - was all I could say. It was quick, handled very well, braked as well as any of the others I've ridden, and oh so smooth. On top of that, after 30 miles of test riding, the only parts of me that were cold were my hands (cloth dealership motocross gloves did not help that much). I now ride in any temperature as long as it is dry without electric gear only because of the great weather protection it provides (the HJC snowmobile gloves keep my fingers toasty down to 20F). This was a big factor in swaying me away from the Bandit as it now gives me at least 2-3 months longer riding seasons. The other factor was the stylish purpose built luggage for packing the requisite gear for the longer tours I like to take. Even though the weather protection is great, it is a little wind-noisy at highway speeds. The updraft from the windscreen lands square in the middle of the face. I ordered a taller Clearview Tour Windscreen to correct the only flaw (if you can call it that) I've found so far.
- Rich Gard, Trenton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-02-19 2000 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first non Harley bike. I bought it because I was looking for a bike that could handle the interstate, but would also be fun to ride. I was looking for a 1200, but got a good deal on the 900. The power on this bike is awesome. I'm not svelte, but this bike has no problem with the weight. The power is immediate, and the shifting smooth. I have owned 7 or 8 bikes over the past 6 years. None of them fit me from the start and I never expected them to. It is unrealistic to think that a stock bike can fit everyone perfectly out of the box. I immediately put risers on the handlebars & replaced the grips on my Trophy. This took care of my biggest problems. I'm now thinking of replacing the seat. These are minor changes aimed at making a really good bike fit my particular style.
- Terry B. Boutwell, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 2000 Triumph Trophy 1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Trophy 12 is a very competent, enjoyable ride. Triumph calls it their "touring" bike, but it is too light and powerful, and handles too well to qualify as anything but a sport-tourer. I rode it on several 600-mile days in the eastern AZ mountains last year and found the seat comfortable enough to get me to the next fill-up. Handling was quick and precise, weather protection good (I'm 6'1"), and riding position comfortable. The engine produces a huge power spread and gobs of torque, and the 6-speed trans shifts well and has well-chosen ratios, except that in the interest of fuel consumption I wished 6th had a little overdrive. that's not a complaint, though I experienced fuel milage in the low 30's if I didn't get carried away with the loud-handle. Attention-grabbing paint&styling.
- Mike, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-30 2000 Triumph Trophy 900 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2000 Trophy 900 and have mixed feelings about it. I love the sleek, contemporary platinum look and I've noticed that many people I pass on the road do, too. The clever, spacious, and easily removable luggage bins make packing for a weekend tour to the mountains or beach extra convenient. The "ask and you shall receive" response from the 900's power plant is seemingly indiscriminate to whether you're solo and ready to lead the pack, or hauling the 2 bins full of hair dryer/makeup supplies and their owner with you up a mountain pass. There are some drawbacks. The 4th to 5th gear tranny/clutch "miscommunication" seems more like an episode of "Three's Company" than of "Melrose Place," but will become annoying just as quickly as the shows do. I also don't appreciate the '84 Audi 5000 death jump forward that randomly occurs when I start the Trophy; tells me there's some poor engineering/QA that's taken place. This is not a bike to ride in warm, sunny weather, not unless you're riding to a nudist camp. The lack of wind/air-exchange (yes I know that's what the fairing's supposed to do) combined with the "jewel roasting" from the engine limits my summer riding to cool nights and early mornings. Living in Northern Virginia means dealing with many toll booths and gaining access to the little storage units on the sides of the "dash" is like getting into the trunk of your car while driving -- it doesn't happen unless you pull over (even more frustrating is that you must shut off the engine to unlock the little bins). These little bins seem cheap and flimsy with the removable tops and the "slam down" replacement method which is a shame because everything else on the Trophy seems to be done with style and class. The final complaint leads to the seat. I bought the Trophy looking forward to taking nice cruises up through Pennsylvania to New York State. The seat makes this seven-hour tour impossible to take place in one day, even when taking long breaks. I think I sum it up best by saying that I'd like to have kids some day and the seat is not conducive to this happening. Mixed feelings, true. Riding it just isn't as fun as looking at it in the garage. And to me, that's what counts.
- Tom Bonavita, Northern Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: