Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles Reviews (15)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-08-29 2016 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding large motorcycles for the last 15 years, Gold Wings, Rune, H D Softail, I decided on a smaller bike since I live in the mountains of central California. I liked the looks of the Thruxton and bought a nice used one with 3000 miles on it. This bike is quick, light, and has a broad power band. It has a semi sport bike seating position and a rather firm seat. The gear box is smooth and easy to shift with an extremely light clutch. As a rider with 50 years of riding the back roads of California this bike took me back to my youth. If you are looking for a bike that looks different than the run of the mill crotch rocket, with great handling, and an engine that is not fussy about what gear your in, this could be the bike for you.
- Gene Stewart, Central California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-08 2010 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I somehow managed to score a 2010 Special Edition (white/red stripe) from a local dealer. So far the dealer experience has been good, the work is done fast and properly, with none of the phony sales I've dealt with at other dealers. Bike Pros: This bike is awesome. Man, its just cool, I mean "cool". I'm almost afraid to put miles on it. It looks good, rides good, and even has the 2011 digital gauge setup. However, I think only the SE has the digital gauges. It's a Hinkley Triumph, so reliability is second to none. You can put a 100k miles on these new Triumphs and they never leave you stranded. Both rideability and build quality are great. Bike Cons: Its got a bit of a weight problem (like most of the 'classic' style Trumpies) and while it looks racey, it can't hold a candle to the modern Japanese and Italian superbikes. However, I would hope that if you're in the market for more cc quantities, you'd be moving more towards the Triumph Daytona, or perhaps something along the lines of a Ducati. Of course, you can always get a rebore kit for the engine, if you're looking for the best of both worlds. I'm still pretty blown away by the attention this particular bike receives. It's one of the few modern motorcycles in which you can wear a pudding bowl helmet while riding and not look like a dork (or at least think you don't look like a dork).
- Dave, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-13 2010 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back in the day, I grew up with Hondas and Yamahas. My first cafe style was the CB400F, played with it and "unofficailly" raced it against Triumphs. Over the years I grew up, switched to crusiers, then Harleys. When I saw this bike for the first time, I instantly went back to the old days and the sheer joy I got out of the cafe style. I sat on it, took a test ride, then it was on the truck headed home. What I like about this bike, besides its beautiful retro lines, is the simplicity, engineering, and sport-like ride. It handles very well, quick and nimble, along with a smooth engine and good performance - all being very manageable. What I didn't like, is the seat and I found that I needed to put on a larger toothed front sprocket. With the stock setup, at highway speeds, there was a buzzing of mirrors, handle bars, and pegs. The larger sprocket (19 tooth) dropped the rpm's by 500 and makes the 65 to 70 mph very comfortable. Years ago I would have kept stock or even a smaller sprocket but I am happy with this conservative modification. The price may be a $1000 or so high for similiarly built domestic or Japanese models, but Triumph is a great name with very good quality, so it is worth it. I have a Harley Ultra for weekend enjoyment and the Thruxy for weekday excitement.
- Steve Blaylock, Orrington, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-10 2009 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have really enjoyed my Thruxton. It is smooth on the power and ride. I get lots of compliments by regular folks, other riders and even cops. The accessories are great in transforming your ride to the way you want it. The only complaint, like the other reviewers, is I wish there was another ten to twenty horses but only occasionally do I need it. It's more for the sheer thrill of accelerating fast. I'm very happy with my purchase.
- Ivan, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-06 2009 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Thruxton rides as good as it looks. It has sufficient power to allow you to have fun with it. It could use a little more, but for the most part, I only notice the need for an increase in power when accelerating on the freeways. It handles pretty smoothly, not bumpy like sport-bikes, but it can keep up with them. Everyone that has ridden it marvels at how smooth the engine is and how it doesn't vibrate. The part with the Thrux- pull up next to a group of Harleys, and everyone will be looking at YOUR bike, not the silly Harleys...
- Michael, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-30 2009 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very pleased overall with the bike. I used to own a sprint st and was used to a more sporty handling and more horsepower, but now that I have driven a while I really enjoy the ride. I would like it if the bike had more power, so I am adding pipes and open air kit. I also learned a lot from british customs products about performance options on these bikes. The bike gets a lot of looks and I also think the bike is an instant classic.
- k lardi, coal city , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-07 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted a Bonneville since I was a kid, but went through a series of Jap bikes (plus a couple of Beemers) before I got the Thrux. This bike is fantastic. Airbox eliminator, K&Ns & re-jet gets me 70+ r/w hp. It handles great, has just the right amount of power, and as is mentioned in most reviews, the bike gets so much attention whenever I stop, no matter what bikes I'm riding with. Mostly I do day rides up through the mountains, but did a 1000 mi. three day trip last Fall OK. I am thinking about bar risers as my 64 y/o neck feels some strain after a few hours.
- Chuck, Santa Fe, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-28 2007 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike! It stands out in a crowd and does not blend in with all of the other bikes or look-a-like cruisers or the everyday crotch rockets.' It is still sporty and you can also put the saddle time in (Iron Butt from Jacksonville, NC to KC, MO). I can't count the times I have come out to find people looking at the bike and the first thing they usually ask me is what year it is. It is so much fun and I have nothing bad to say about it.
- Stephen Nyberg, Kansas City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most fun you can have with your clothes on. Absolute blast for carving corners. Will probably upgrade to a corbin gunfighter, and change handlebars, as I also like to tour. Got the matching Triumph bags, but am disappointed with the tank bag...should be magnetic instead of straps...already melted straps trying to attach to tank. Great looker though and a real attention getter. Everyone wants to know how old it is...ha ha.
- g oma, baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-25 2007 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I drooled, stalked, dreamt and finally placed myself on the best motorcycle I haved owned to date. I have done standard (GS 500), sport (ZX7R, GSXR), naked (S4) and have now found most all of my favorite elements in one modern classic. Thus far I have enjoyed the diversity of feeling like I can ride 10 miles or 100 miles at either 10 or slightly less than 100 miles per hour. I feel confident and inspired in the corners, and smart and sophisticated on the streets. I meet and befriend both riders of modern & vintage makes as well as throwing my young sporty peers an occasional surprise while also one-upping them on style points.(And I'm just getting started...) The thruxton is a unique breed of motorcycle with exceptional character, highly reccomended.
- Andrew Dawson, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-27 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 2nd bike. After having logged 9,500 mi on my H-D XL 1200, I decided I needed something more maneuverable and also lighter. The Thruxton, with the inverted handles and 130 lbs lighter than my H-D, became my choice. I've had it for about 10 days and have logged over 700 mi. It has awesome maneuverability and leaning capacity. The seat is a bit hard for me after 3 hours. But the forward lean does not bother me at all (and I have lower-back degenerative disk disease and some curvature of the spine). I should have test ridden this bike two years ago before buying the H-D. But it's here now!
- Alex, Roanoke, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike about a month and a half now and I think I can honestly say that this is my favorite bike of the three that I've had. This thing is so much fun it should be banned. I really enjoy getting up into the mountains with this bike because it handles so well and is so flickable in the curves. It also makes good power once it tachs about 4500rpm. The gearbox ratios are also well matched for this engine. The riding position takes a little getting use to but it really isn't that bad. I have spent several times in the saddle for more than a couple of hours at a time and I thought the only thing that might need to be changed would be a little more padding in the seat. Overall this is a great bike and I give it a 5 star rating. The best thing about this bike? It reminds me of why I began riding in the first place.
- roger bowman, asheboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-18 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up with pictures of Triumphs, BSA's and airplanes on my wall. I've finally gotten my Triumph after all these years, and I'm not disappointed. All of the plus'es of a classic Brit bike with none of the negatives (ie, leaking oil or electrical problems). I'm fine with the regular bars also-It's not as bad as many say it is. The stock seat is still being broken in and may still need to be replaced for more than 100 miles, but otherwise is OK. The power is far from overwhelming but not disappointing with good torque all around. Handling is better than you would even imagine from a "classic bike" with steel tube frame. I've already scraped the pegs without any difficulty. She is so much fun to ride! I get more people admiring her and making comments than almost any bike I've owned. And it just keeps getting better as she gets broken in. Although the picture of the bike here is black, mine is yellow which looks awesome.
- Wambo, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-03 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike 3 days ago. I have been jonesing to get back into bikes for quite some time. I am most recently coming off a crotch rocket phase (a few Kawi ZX's). I could not bow to the cruiser age, or feel the urge to climb aboard another plastic covered rocket. I was torn between (soon to be released) Ducati classics and the Triumph. The prestige and styling (true retro) sold me immediately. I felt an immediate kinship as soon as I climbed into the saddle. This is what motor biking is about...emotion...pure emotion. Although it does take some getting used to (riding position), it really is very compliant. I have 363 miles in 2 days - it can't be too bad! Power is a twist away. It is moderate as compared to today's super bikes and even the hooligan bikes (speed triple), but very capable. If you are looking or classic ageless styling in a competent and capable performer, the Thruxton just may be the answer.
- Sam S, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-10 2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes, but for Classic looks, sporty feel and handling in the real world, you can't beat the Triumph Thruxton. No matter where I go or who I ride with all eyes fall on the Thruxton when we stop for fuel. It looks that good - especially in Caspian Blue, a deep rich color that mimics one of the colors used to paint original versions of the Thruxton first produced in the mid-1960's. I have fitted my bike with the Triumph color-matched flyscreen and a centerstand. The screen takes a bit of wind off of my torso at speed. The stand makes the little bit of chain maintenance that I do very easy. It does not interfere with cornering clearance for most street riders. I have heard many men complain about the clip-on style bars. I don't know what they are talking about, I can use them just fine for hours. As a 52-year old woman who has had carpal tunnel from GSXR's in the past my answer to these men is "shut up and ride, it won't kill you!". Do a few push-ups if you are that weak! I love the looks, feel and handling of this modern classic machine, I will own this Triumph for many seasons.
- Patty S, Clermont, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: