Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40 Sport Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rick

King of Prussia, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've had 15 bikes in 40 years of riding and I may be having more fun on this light weight simplistic bike than any of the full sized bikes I've owned. My last bike was a 900cc Triumph Thunderbird and although it was an excellent machine, it was more of a chore to ride for short trips. At 60 years of age I mainly ride shorter distances which the s40 is perfect for. With a few simple modifications to the carbs and with a new exhaust (Super Trapp) this torquey machine can be a blast to ride. Also love the no maintenance belt drive.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (12)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2012-05-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2005 S40 Suzuki Boulevard for transportation to and from work. It's a great bike for the money! It saves a lot on gas. and is dependable (as most Japanese bikes are.) I've been a Harley owner for many years, but if you need a dependable means of transportation and have fun driving it as well, I would highly recommend this bike! Top speed is maybe 83 mph. that's good enough for me cause I'm not into paying traffic tickets. My only complaint? The driver footpegs need to be stretched out a little bit longer from the brake and gear shift levers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (11)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

terry lee

brighton, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2010-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought bike used in Dec 2009. Have had several bikes over the years including a BSA 441 Victor. I have been riding bikes since 1970 and also have at present a 1979 Honda CX500. The Suzuki is an excellent bike for the money and I do not mind the occasional backfire. I commute 44 miles to work one each way and I find this is an economical way to commute plus a lot of fun. I ride whenever weather permits. I find the Suzuki very dependable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (9)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris

Wheeler, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my bike brand new in 2005 on a spur of the moment deal. It looked great in the showroom and sitting in the driveway. I do feel kind of big on it, but that just adds confidence. I too had the backfire issues. I fixed that by removing the muffler, piping the rest, and putting exhaust wrap around the whole deal. Now it's loud! Look, for those of you who don't like the bike, fine, I've been riding for ten years and I still bought this bike that you all call a beginners bike. This bike has a great platform, looks great in person and has some really nice lines to it. There are aftermarket products that will fit this bike perfectly. Ebay offers a lot of custom built products for this platform, but I haven't tried any yet. All I'm saying is this bike isn't just for beginners. I love the single cylinder shake you get with straight piped exhaust. It really brings this engine to life. I'm glad I bought it.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vern

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2007-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First bike. Handles very well and lots of clearance for tight corners. Enough power for highway riding and just plain looks nice. It gets lots of looks. Great mileage - 69 miles to the Canadian gallon.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pam

El Paso, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike. I am a new rider (took MSF course and got MC license in April 2006), and was a little intimidated by my husband's larger and heavier 2001 Intruder VS800. The S40 was perfect for me - not too heavy, yet sturdy, fit my size just right, and has the power to take me down the highway and on weekend trips with my husband. The seat is a little uncomfortable on longer distances, but I plan to get an AirHawk seat cushion to solve that problem (as a nurse I know the cushion must be good - made by the Roho company which makes the hospital cushions/mattresses to prevent bedsores). The backfiring doesn't really bother me, although I had to get used to it (it usually just happens when I let off the throttle and decelerate). I find the lawnmower-like engine noise rather charming, and not as deafening as the Harley sound. The bike handles great on the mountain twisty roads. I have not had much trouble with wind, even though we get some serious gusts in El Paso. I have no trouble with speeds up to 70 mph, but I wouldn't want to go any faster than that anyway. I get about 60mpg on the highway, and 50mpg in the city. I have thought about eventually getting a bigger bike, but then I realize how much I enjoy this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve-o

Orangeville, Ontario

Reviewed on 2006-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got the bike, so these are first impressions. The power delivery is smooth, the handling forgiving and the brakes are progressive and competent. The vibration at highway speed is less pronounced than I expected. The bike tracks straight and is easy to manage in cross winds and gusts. Comfort, thus far, no problem. The bike does have some sloppy welds and bad frame paint but the glossy bits aren't too bad. These things are acceptable on a bike at this price. Level of refinement and sparse equipment seem appropriate for the stripped down appearance (and low weight)of this little cruizer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Gray

Dellrose, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The S40 is great for a first bike. It is light enough to handle easily on back roads, but not heavy enough for four lane highways at speeds of 65+ mph. As for the backfire that everyone else has talked about, mine seems to do it when it gets below 30 degrees. Again, this is a great first bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you're looking for a highway cruiser, don't look here. This bike is nice and light and therefore not intended for heavy freeway use. However, in my humble opinion, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages. Nice and light means a delight to maneuver. It is great around town. And although you may not want to think about this, if you ever drop it you'll be able to pick it up with ease. Furthermore, the low seat height is a pleasure for those of us who are of the vertically challenged sort. I have read reviews by taller men and they are mixed. But as far as short men and women are concerned, the S40 is a dream come true. Great looks, plenty of power and a great price. There are 400cc scooters out there selling for twice as much! Starts right up every time and is nice and quiet. Note: Lots of people buy aftermarket pipes to get that Harley sound, if that's what you want. As far as the downsides are concerned, the stock mirrors stink and can easily be upgraded. There is no gas gauge which is a bit of a bummer. It does occasionally backfire, but not often. The front brakes squeak but supposedly that will go away after a few thousand miles. After all is said and done (and this is not my first bike) I am thoroughly enjoying my Boulevard S40!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Valerie Bauer

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have been riding with my husband for many years on his Harley and decided it's time to get my own bike - seeing that I am only 5 ft tall the choice of bikes was a challenge - The Suzuki S40 was perfect for me! This bike handles well is compact enough to give any new rider the confidence they need to enjoy riding. In the last 4 months I have put 5,000 km on her. I would recommend this bike for any beginner rider especially the ladies - I can hold my own with any of those old Harley riders. ha ha ha
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: