Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki DR200SE reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Wuitey

Edmonton

Reviewed on 2006-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my 2006 DR200SE 3 months ago (my first ever street-legal bike). I've already passed the 5000km mark with no indication of slowing down. It handles excellent in the city, but only so-so in mud or sand. Perhaps a wider rear tire could improve this (like the Yamaha TW200). The small air-cooled engine makes maintenance a snap. With the exception of the intital 1000km servicing, I've managed to do all maintenance myself. For the city or the trails it's great, but I found it a little too underpowered for the highway. On a good day I can get 115km/hr out of it, but if there's any kind of head-wind I'm lucky to get 90km/hr. Gas milage is unbeleivable. The 13 litre tank will get me close to 350km in the city before having to switch to reserve. The low weight is a double edged sword. The 250lbs make it a great bike on tight trails, and affords beginner riders a great sense of confidence. However on the highway, the wind can throw the light frame around a bit. I do just fine on the back-trails, but suffer on the highway ride to get there.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Burns

Englewood, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-01-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife has never attempted to ride a motorcycle in her life. She would attend events with me and watch. She asked for her own bike and said she liked the "little Suzuki". Once on the bike, it took her about 20 minutes to feel she was ready to try the trails. She has put 600 miles of trails on the bike. Now she asks me to go ride. When Mom is happy, everyone is happy. Thank you, Suzuki...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Yves Berthiaume

Sudbury, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it May 29th 2005 and since put about 3600kms. So far always started runs excellent... very reliable. I followed all procedures including the break-in and found the bike to be running as strong as when I bought it. This bike is good for all terrain depending on rider skill. Unfortunately it doesn't come with a tachometer, so for all you asking where does 5th gear end.. well it's 115kmph if acheivable, according to the Suzuki technical department in Ontario. Needless to say it's not the highway bike of choice, but for someone beginning to ride ( around town ) this is the bike ( THE BIKE ).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david kennard

davis, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought the DR200 new about 2 weeks ago. The bike handles nice and has good gearing and power for a 200, great on off road capabiltes. It gets 80+ mpg and is a strong runner. I would highly recommend the 200, for anyone buying a first bike or needing a smaller bike great, great job on this one Suzuki.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nasir Khan

arlington, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike to have fun with!! I had one for many years and now want a bigger one, but it gave me years of fun!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew Metcalf

Jonesboro, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2004-05-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The DR 200se is a good bike overall. It has never let me down. Peformance of the bike is alright I wouldn't say it was good or bad. The bike tops out somewhere around 90 but once you hit 60 you're pushing it. I beat a honda 250 rebel with it if that says anything about the bike. The bike handles great and drives best on hard packed trails and in the city but not on the highway. The bike is fair in comfort, after about an hour my back starts to hurt. If you like to ride trails and drive down the road legally and don't have much experince with motorcycles, this would be a good bike to consider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick Patton

Las Cruces, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2004-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't finished the first tank of gas yet. I was looking for something fun to ride yet able to go to work on and the DR200SE fits the bill. So far it handles well and is quick enough in traffic and I find myself taking the long way home through the desert after work. When I get home I have a smile on my face. That tells me the bike was worth it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric

Orland Park, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike replaced my 03 TTR-125. It was originally my dads but we soon found out that I rode it more then him. It is really fast and quick. I've had it up to around 70 on an open field. The back tire could be a little better in the dirt/mud but its all right. I haven't really ridden it on the road yet because I am only 14 but I soon will. haven't found any upgrades for this bike. I can't even find new seat cover or anything. But, it really is a great bike. Recommend it to almost anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dale

Carmel, California

Reviewed on 2004-01-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I was looking for a bike to replace an aging Honda 100 Trail camp bike/gofer/pit bike and I came across a '98 DR200SE online with only 238 miles on it at a really good price so I jump in the truck and drove like a banshee, not knowing what to expect to find when I got to the guys house. He opened the garage door and the bike was, A BEAUTY! Pristine, not a mark on it, the forks were clean, the undercarriage was clean, and it even had the little "zits" on the tires. But, and this is a big "BUTit was from out of state and here in California they don't allow vehicles with less than 7,500 miles on it to be registered here. Their attitude is; "Take it back where you bought it" So the bike had a major flaw, that and the fact that it had been sitting in the guy's garage for the last 3 years and WOULD NOT START! We pushed it up and down the driveway and nothing. I took a gamble on the little Suzuki and made an offer and he took it and I was the proud owner of an illegal bike that didn't run! (But it was sooooo clean!) Anyway, a carb overhaul ($45), a new battery ($75) and a fuse ($.50) and it ran. I changed the oil and filter and ran it for about 10 miles and changed it again. Yuk! But the shifting got easier every time and she was up and running, except she was illegal. Well, I figured out a way around it. Got it licensed and insured and started riding it! My first ride of about 60 miles had me wishing for a softer seat; the stock seat will give you a bad case of "Monkey Butt!" Maybe a gel foam insert or pad or something. It's okay around camp or around town, but it's a plank! The electric start sure has me spoiled, you just get on and press a button and it goes! The wife, the boy and all the friends love it! Low seat height, low center of gravity, mild power band makes for a simple, easy bike to ride. The stock gearing is too low; I was wishing for a 6th speed at 45mph. I bought a smaller rear sprocket off the Internet and installed it and now the little Suzuki will cruise at 55mph with little or no loss of low-end tractability. I also bought a rear rack and installed it and now can bungee stuff on it. I plan to mount a crate on it to further the effectiveness of the little Suzuki. I recently loaded this bike into the back of the pickup and hooked the travel trailer up and went to the lake and got into ALL kind of trouble with it; gathering firewood, exploring the back roads, found some BLM land and explored that, found some oil company land, rode it on the train tracks, rode it on the freeway, and it just does it all pretty good. The bike needs better tires for off-road use. I've put 1,000 miles on it, no probs. Hop-up parts are non-existent. It's expensive new. If you want a bike that is faster and has more features, buy a Kawasaki KLR-250. (I have one as well). If you want a cute little bike that everyone can ride, and learn on, and around camp and exploring off the beaten path, get a Suzuki.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Marc K

Stevensville, Michigan

Reviewed on 2003-12-22

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Suzuki DR200SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike for about a year now and I love it. Although when right off the showroom floor the suspension is a little bit on the soft side but that is fixable. About the bike being shaky at 60, I find this not at all true I have had it up to 85 and it was real smooth.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: