Suzuki DR650SE Motorcycles Reviews (99)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DR650SE Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki DR650SE Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2014-03-13 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a very nice bike for local trips or back and forth to work, if not to far. It has plenty of power on the interstate to keep up with traffic with out tacking it out to run 65 mph. and it's perfect on groomed trails and secondary roads. I like to keep trips to less than 125 miles. It does have a fair amount of vibration, padded gloves help. And do go over it time to time. Yes, screws will back out from the vibration. It is tall and a little heavy. All in all I would recommend it.
- r. keel, ridgeley, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-01-04 2012 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hadn't seen any reviews of this model since '09. I treated myself to a Christmas present and traded in my '06 Honda 919. That bike had it all, fuel injection, liquid, etc. However, being on the tall side and advanced age of 50+, I wanted to get back to the fun of biking, hence the DR650. Wow, after riding it back from the dealer (and putting the aforementioned 25 miles on it) all I can say is I can't wait until spring. The bike suits me much better - controlled power, much higher riding position, less complicated maintenance, a ton of aftermarket mods and advice, 100 lbs. less weight, more responsive handling, off-road adventure, etc. I finally got back to the fun of riding. I'm happy as a pup with two tails!
- Peter B, Port Arthur, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-09 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I grew up riding the hills of West Virginia on dirt bikes. The hills here are not for the weak of heart. I've had a few street bikes but my dirt roots seemed to always resurface; especially when riding past all of those dirt roads in West Virginia. So I traded in my Yamaha Tour Deluxe for this DR650. I felt like the DR650 was the best all-around bike for me when comparing it to the KLR650 and the XR650. I absolutely love it. It reminds of the old thumpers we used to use for hill climbing back in the days of the Yamaha TT500. It probably doesn't have as much low end torgue, but after some modifications, it still has plenty. For road use, it doesn't have too much vibration which makes it uncomfortable for those longer rides. I can pretty much stay in the saddle for a couple of hours at a time, even with the stock seat. I may upgrade to a more comfortable seat one of these days. However, I still love riding in the dirt and doing a little hill climbing from time to time, and I like the narrowness of the stock seat for this purpose.
- T J Robinson, West Union, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has great torque and is easy to get away from you if you are used to docile machines. I would suggest practicing on a DR350 or another machine before tackling the crazy power this thing has. After a few miles though, you realize, it's easy to tame this Beast! I expect nothing less than a great bike for many years to come! The seat is a bit hard, but I sit on rocks when fishing, so this feels like memory foam! I may go to a local shop and have some memory foam inserted and lower the bike at Suzuki. It sits a little high and feels bouncy on shifting and stopping. I don't plan on jumping over buses or cars, so I don't need the play in the shocks. Overall, it's a must see if you are in the market for a bike. A skid plate is a must! The tires bring up a lot of rocks to the underneath of the bike on gravel or chip and seal. If you are new, trust me, go with a scooter or lower-powered bike first, this is a mid-level.
- Brian, Cambridge, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-28 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After much research I finally settled on the Suzuki DR650SE. I was concerned that a 250cc wouldn't have enough power to satisfy me. But even with a lower gear, the DR could use a little uncorking, though it's got plenty of grunt and cruises at highway speeds with ease in stock form. I've owned and ridden many different bikes, from dirt bikes to Harleys, and I wanted something to run around town on and ride on trails. Thus far I've only ridden in the canyons and local roads, and it's a blast. My DR is on the lower ride setting, with fork tubes pushed up, and it's very stable. The seat is hard and I'll probably swap it out for a gel seat. Otherwise, no complaints other than the push-the-button-to-stop turn signals.
- Pianoman, Agoura Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-16 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have 2500 plus miles and the only complaint is the rear tire is about toasted, not much miles left. I only ride on road, except for single track roads. It has been very reliable. No real complaints, except the seat is hard as a brick, and not as comfortable. However with miles you become used to it. Good power, 60 plus miles, unless you get crazy.
- david, refugio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-12 2008 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great, I've owned a lot of different types of bikes, cruisers, sport bikes and this one is great. If traffic is bad or clogged up, I just go off road. I bought the Suzuki aftermarket gel seat as most people say the seat is not too comfortable for a long ride. It also helps with shorter people as it lowers ride height slightly. I also bought rear rack off Ebay for it. It works great and is a little bigger then the one offered by Suzuki. This bike will keep up with traffic with no problem, also, plenty of power, little squirlly in the sugar sand here with stock tires but that's to be expected. I'm averaging around 58mpg depending on how you drive. All in all, it's a great bike.
- Steve, Fort Myers, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-08 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike new just to ride to work and back. I took it offroad one time and the tires are not for that. I managed but was squirlly! On street they are OK, though. It's a great bike but tires: depending on if your riding road or dirt, get the right tires!
- SGT Chaplin, US Army, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-25 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research before I bought this bike. I ride mostly canyon roads, around town, fire roads and very little freeway. In my opinion the big DR is not a great off-roader, I used to ride Dirt Bikes and at 324 pounds it is not a flickable bike. Yet on the road or even trailing it is very easy to maneuver. I have owned DT's, YZ's, CB's, XR's, GPZ's and a VFR and have enjoyed them all. At this stage of my life I needed ONE bike that is easy to work on, cheap to insure, dependable and most of all would satisfy my urge to get on a bike and go for a ride. I can do that on this bike. The torque is not mind blowing, but it is impressive. It's great being able to jump a curb or hop a medium (if necessary) then onto the freeway and later a nice fire road...enough said, it's a do it all bike, a little trailie. And if that's what you're into this is a great choice. In stock form the bike is pretty darn good, but with upgrades it's a blast. I did the GSX-R exhaust modification and could not be happier. It sounds great, never needs repacking and with the jet kit and airbox mod it rips. I also went down a tooth on the counter sprocket. 1st is way too high with the stock 15 tooth. The MRA Street Shield looks nice and does a good job of keeping wind off the torso. Also added a Sargent seat as the stock seat is not so good. I put lowered pegs on to open up the peg to bar relationship. My next area to tinker with is the suspension, and probably will add Fat Bars and risers. A bigger tank might be on my list as well. I have a lot of fun working on this bike and even more riding it. Some people call it a pig, NOT ME. It's a simple fun bike that puts a grin on my face. Mission Accomplished.
- Tim, Saugus, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-20 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was great to read the other reviews and see that I am not alone in the sore butt category, I upgraded to the gel and found only slight improvment and don't know why the skid plate was not standard. I also added a back rack. This thumper is a real blast to ride. The dealer has been great to deal with. I just put on a pair of Shimko tires that provide a smoother ride...I am sure Montana spring mud won't be as easy as it was with the Bridgestone trials tires ..but ya can't have it all. I feel like I made a great choice...love my bike.
- John Willard, Butte, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-18 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an 09 DR650se this is my first street legal bike and I love it. It was very easy to learn to ride both on dirt and street. It has plenty of power to keep me interested and the fuel mileage is great. I average about 55mpg. I quickly learned that this bike is not meant to be a tight trail bike but it does wonders on old logging roads and forest service roads where you are required to be street legal. I will now and forever own a dual sport and as long as Suzuki keeps building this bike it will be a DR650.
- Carl, Bonney lake , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-29 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had all kinds of bikes from in line 4cyl crotch rockets to big v twins to motocross bikes and if I had to pick one bike to have (which I do) it's the DR650. It's just a great all around bike. A great commuter, cuises effortlessly down the highway at 70 mph and it's torque monster 650 cylinder seems to be just above idle at 55mph in top gear. In town you can pull away from just about anything short of a half million dollar sports car at a stop light, and it can handle any bump or pot hole on any street. And with good rubber on it you can even drag a knee in the twisties. I know the seat isn't the best but a 100 mile stretrch on back country roads isn't too much to ask from it. Just did a cruise to my brother in laws' lake house last weekend which consisted of about 120 miles of 50 to 60mph cruising with a few 75 mph blast to pass cars, averaged 60mpg! My othe vehicals get roughly 1/6th of that. A 1965 ford galaxie with a big block in it and a 95 full size bronco....oh and my girlfriends broom!
- neil shelor, richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-11 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have been riding Harleys for years and always wanted a dual purpose more practical bike. Since I purchased this incredible torquey machine, I have been more than happy. It is spunky and just plain fun to ride. I haven't taken it on trails yet but I will sometime. You will never regret buying this cool machine, I just love it!! Could use a little softer seat though.
- Tom Sorvik, West Fargo, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-30 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put over 17,000 hard miles both off and on road on this bike and it continues to go strong. Great all around motorcycle for the price and am extremely pleased with this bike. As long as you keep up on the scheduled maintenance, it has no problems.
- luke moreno, perris, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-25 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I placed a review when near new and was totally pleased with my DR 650. I am now at 2 years and 6,300 miles, and the bike has not disappointed me in ANY way. I am getting low 50's (MPG), and have now done the total mods of; gel seat (very good choice), luggage rack & tail bag (nice to have), and recently a switch to road tires (pirelli scorpions). I would not change any of these mods for me, as I ride 99 percent road. The bike is so tossable, yet secure. I am 63 years old & on my 35 to 40th bike, and this is about as much fun as any of them, though not near the fastest. Love the bike & love my dealer. They are far from the closest, but they treat me like gold...
- Ben Anson, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-16 2007 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for 500 miles now. I grew up riding dirt. I love the handling and get up and go. As others have posted...the seat sucks. It starts wearing on you after 10 miles or so. I'm gonna get the gel seat this weekend. Also I agree that first gear is pretty big for off road. I took it on a trail last weekend and it was a lot of clutch, throttle and brake work. But that being said...it's an awesome bike. I enjoy riding it. The throttle response is great.
- Mavrik3, Longmont, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-05 2009 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just wanna say I enjoy my bike so much it is truly the best big engine dual purpose for the money. The Kawasaki is so big and heavy looking, while the Honda cost so much and it has that very small gas tank. Must I say I m a very big guy and I have no problem crusing at 75 and even have had it has fast an 95 and steady picking up. It's not heavy and has just the right size gas tank. Has the spunk and quickness in case I'm in a tight spot and need to dodge some heavy traffic. I also like riding down dirt roads it just blasts the dirt away, so for the money the Suzuki is the best of the other two. (Kawasaki, Honda)You will not be disappointed.
- Rudy Jacobs, Ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-17 2008 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had low expectations at first about how the bike would handle off road trails, but after putting 500 kilometers of forest and cow trails I can honestly say I'm impressed! The bike has held up excellent so far. I drive between 10000 and 15000 kilometers a year so we shall see how it holds up, but so far no disappointment. Fuel mileage is about 55-60 depending on how you drive. Power is never a problem. The cooling system works quite well and has never overheated yet. It starts up in -20c weather and runs equally well in summer. The seat leaves something to be desired if you're riding more than 100 kilometers in a day though.
- Dmitry Fedorov, Emmett, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-15 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my DR650 for about 5 years now. It's lightweight, easy to ride and pretty quick. The gas mileage is awesome! Yea I know some motorscooters get up to 100 mpg, but getting an average of 50-60 mpg at a constant 80 miles per hour is out of this world! This thing is amazing in city traffic and dirt roads alike. All-in-all it's so nice to be able to jump on this machine anytime I get the urge to be on two wheels... rain, snow or complete sunshine - no problem.
- Dennis Lloyd, Kolana, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-12 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 Suzuki DR650 that I've owned for 3 years now and I've thoroughly enjoyed it! I've put 5,000 miles on it so far, and it's performed perfectly! The gas mileage is almost 60 miles per gallon and the insurance is cheap too! I highly recommend this bike!
- David, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-19 2006 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 DR650SE the day before Thanksgiving 2006; I really had something to be thankful for. I have put over 9K miles on it; both on and off road. I have been riding for over 30 years and this has to be one of my favorites. Despite its size and weight, it handles fairly well in all types of terrain. I am currently on my third rear tire and second front. Unfortunately the weather in Central, TX is not always accommodating, but I still ride it most of the year. Although my butt goes to sleep on long distance highway trips, I wouldn't change it for any other bike.
- Greg Todd, Kempner, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-25 2007 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Dr650 since February, and I drive it every day. I have put almost 3500 miles on the bike since I got it, and I only have one complaint. The seat is very uncomfortable after about 30 minutes of riding. I have been told that upgrading to the corbin seat will eliminate that problem, but I think that is going to have to wait until next year. Again, I did a ton of research on this bike, and there is no better dual purpose motorcycle for the money!!
- Owen Smith, Lynchburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-20 2007 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my DR650SE for about 5 months now and with each passing day I enjoy it more and more. In that short time I've already put 3000 miles on it and it has run without issue. I have ridden dirt bikes for the last 15 years of my life and wanted to move to the street. After doing my research, the DR was the obvious choice. Price, reliability, ease of maintenance, value for money, and fun factor are all part of the package. In stock form the bike is very forgiving and easy to ride, an excellent choice for any beginner or a dirt rider looking to get out on the road. Power is very smooth and easy to control. There are no unexpected surges in the powerband, just tractable, useable, torque-y, grunt. The bike can tackle twisty backroads as well as cruise at 60-70mph on the hightway all day long without even trying and plenty of revs left for passing if needed. In the dirt, it's geared a bit tall, but it will do ok. Fire breaks, jeep roads, logging trails, etc it will do. Tight single track would likely require a gearing change. The stock tires are good on the street but not so hot in the dirt. Again, wide dirt roads should be ok but tight rocky stuff is going to be a problem. Easy fix for that in new tires. Brakes are solid and do their job well. Lighting is adequate, but could be a little better. My only big gripes are: 1.) The stock seat is AWFUL, and 2.) The front forks are terribly soft. I remedied the seat with a cover. Still not perfect, but it's a lot easier on the backside. For the forks, I ordered stiffer springs. Installation was very easy and it helped a LOT. No more diving when hitting the front brakes. Overall the DR is a great all around bike that I plan to keep for a long time.
- Eric, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-18 2002 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Stock, this bike is undersprung for most men and it is really choked up from the factory, but once you open up the airbox, jet it, pipe it, and spring it, the bike becomes really fun. Throttle it up in first any time. The torque of this bike really shines, as with most Suzuki's. Very happy with my purchase. Oh, by the way, the engine is TOTALLY bulletproof.
- Jeremy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-12 2007 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since 68 and this is one of my all time favorite rides -- that is, AFTER I ditched the sadistically uncomfortable stock seat. I have fairly short legs (29 inch inseam) and even with the seat in the low position I can't put both feet flat on the ground. This is not a big deal to me, but could be an issue for a new rider. I've put 8200 miles on it in 18 months with the only service being change of oil and tires. Previous singles I've owned include Honda XL 250 and Yamaha XT 500 and the DR is WAY smoother at highway speeds. The only other nit I have to pick is that a wider ratio transmission with a lower first gear would be better for the dirt. Top gear is spot on perfect to me. So sprocket changes don't provide the desired effect. Fortunately the clutch seems pretty bullet proof, but you WILL need to slip it in technical sections.
- Mike, Asheville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: