‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki DR650SE reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

100 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave Henderson

Reviewed on 2022-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

3.8
No bike is perfect or I'd give this bike five stars except for in the comfort category. The seat does get hard after 15 minutes to half an hour of riding but It's a totally capable bike on and off road depending on how you have the tires
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter B

Port Arthur, Texas

Reviewed on 2013-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
I hadn't seen any reviews of this model since '09. I treated myself to a Christmas present and traded in my '06 Honda 919. That bike had it all, fuel injection, liquid, etc. However, being on the tall side and advanced age of 50+, I wanted to get back to the fun of biking, hence the DR650. Wow, after riding it back from the dealer (and putting the aforementioned 25 miles on it) all I can say is I can't wait until spring. The bike suits me much better - controlled power, much higher riding position, less complicated maintenance, a ton of aftermarket mods and advice, 100 lbs. less weight, more responsive handling, off-road adventure, etc. I finally got back to the fun of riding. I'm happy as a pup with two tails!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T J Robinson

West Union, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2011-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
I grew up riding the hills of West Virginia on dirt bikes. The hills here are not for the weak of heart. I've had a few street bikes but my dirt roots seemed to always resurface; especially when riding past all of those dirt roads in West Virginia. So I traded in my Yamaha Tour Deluxe for this DR650. I felt like the DR650 was the best all-around bike for me when comparing it to the KLR650 and the XR650. I absolutely love it. It reminds of the old thumpers we used to use for hill climbing back in the days of the Yamaha TT500. It probably doesn't have as much low end torgue, but after some modifications, it still has plenty. For road use, it doesn't have too much vibration which makes it uncomfortable for those longer rides. I can pretty much stay in the saddle for a couple of hours at a time, even with the stock seat. I may upgrade to a more comfortable seat one of these days. However, I still love riding in the dirt and doing a little hill climbing from time to time, and I like the narrowness of the stock seat for this purpose.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Cambridge, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
The bike has great torque and is easy to get away from you if you are used to docile machines. I would suggest practicing on a DR350 or another machine before tackling the crazy power this thing has. After a few miles though, you realize, it's easy to tame this Beast! I expect nothing less than a great bike for many years to come! The seat is a bit hard, but I sit on rocks when fishing, so this feels like memory foam! I may go to a local shop and have some memory foam inserted and lower the bike at Suzuki. It sits a little high and feels bouncy on shifting and stopping. I don't plan on jumping over buses or cars, so I don't need the play in the shocks. Overall, it's a must see if you are in the market for a bike. A skid plate is a must! The tires bring up a lot of rocks to the underneath of the bike on gravel or chip and seal. If you are new, trust me, go with a scooter or lower-powered bike first, this is a mid-level.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pianoman

Agoura Hills, California

Reviewed on 2010-08-28

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
After much research I finally settled on the Suzuki DR650SE. I was concerned that a 250cc wouldn't have enough power to satisfy me. But even with a lower gear, the DR could use a little uncorking, though it's got plenty of grunt and cruises at highway speeds with ease in stock form. I've owned and ridden many different bikes, from dirt bikes to Harleys, and I wanted something to run around town on and ride on trails. Thus far I've only ridden in the canyons and local roads, and it's a blast. My DR is on the lower ride setting, with fork tubes pushed up, and it's very stable. The seat is hard and I'll probably swap it out for a gel seat. Otherwise, no complaints other than the push-the-button-to-stop turn signals.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

david

refugio, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
I have 2500 plus miles and the only complaint is the rear tire is about toasted, not much miles left. I only ride on road, except for single track roads. It has been very reliable. No real complaints, except the seat is hard as a brick, and not as comfortable. However with miles you become used to it. Good power, 60 plus miles, unless you get crazy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve

Fort Myers, Florida

Reviewed on 2010-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
This bike is great, I've owned a lot of different types of bikes, cruisers, sport bikes and this one is great. If traffic is bad or clogged up, I just go off road. I bought the Suzuki aftermarket gel seat as most people say the seat is not too comfortable for a long ride. It also helps with shorter people as it lowers ride height slightly. I also bought rear rack off Ebay for it. It works great and is a little bigger then the one offered by Suzuki. This bike will keep up with traffic with no problem, also, plenty of power, little squirlly in the sugar sand here with stock tires but that's to be expected. I'm averaging around 58mpg depending on how you drive. All in all, it's a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SGT Chaplin, US Army

Killeen, Texas

Reviewed on 2010-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
I bought the bike new just to ride to work and back. I took it offroad one time and the tires are not for that. I managed but was squirlly! On street they are OK, though. It's a great bike but tires: depending on if your riding road or dirt, get the right tires!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim

Saugus, California

Reviewed on 2009-12-25

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Suzuki DR650SE view listing

5.0
I did a lot of research before I bought this bike. I ride mostly canyon roads, around town, fire roads and very little freeway. In my opinion the big DR is not a great off-roader, I used to ride Dirt Bikes and at 324 pounds it is not a flickable bike. Yet on the road or even trailing it is very easy to maneuver. I have owned DT's, YZ's, CB's, XR's, GPZ's and a VFR and have enjoyed them all. At this stage of my life I needed ONE bike that is easy to work on, cheap to insure, dependable and most of all would satisfy my urge to get on a bike and go for a ride. I can do that on this bike. The torque is not mind blowing, but it is impressive. It's great being able to jump a curb or hop a medium (if necessary) then onto the freeway and later a nice fire road...enough said, it's a do it all bike, a little trailie. And if that's what you're into this is a great choice. In stock form the bike is pretty darn good, but with upgrades it's a blast. I did the GSX-R exhaust modification and could not be happier. It sounds great, never needs repacking and with the jet kit and airbox mod it rips. I also went down a tooth on the counter sprocket. 1st is way too high with the stock 15 tooth. The MRA Street Shield looks nice and does a good job of keeping wind off the torso. Also added a Sargent seat as the stock seat is not so good. I put lowered pegs on to open up the peg to bar relationship. My next area to tinker with is the suspension, and probably will add Fat Bars and risers. A bigger tank might be on my list as well. I have a lot of fun working on this bike and even more riding it. Some people call it a pig, NOT ME. It's a simple fun bike that puts a grin on my face. Mission Accomplished.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Flag

Flag this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 10
  • 1 - 10 of 100 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: