Suzuki GS500F Motorcycles Reviews (62)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki GS500F Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki GS500F Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2016-03-05 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
five gallon gas tank, 59 miles per gallon. siz speed gearbox. can cruise on highway at 65 all day. great for in town buzzing around. reliable. only down side is twin carbs and manual choke instead of fuel injection. looks good and is fun to ride.
- Anonymous, oklahoma city

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-26 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike after 23 years of not riding. It is so much fun, I can't get enough. I have put 800 miles on her in two months. See you on the road.
- Matthew Stewart, Glendale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-17 2006 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my wife's bike but I rode it on the freeway home after her purchase and got a good feel for it. I ride a Dl650. The 500 was rock solid at 70 mph and very comfortable for those 60 miles. The headlight gives good coverage. The gear shifting is very smooth. The brakes are good but I don't like the position of the rear brake foot peg. I would like it higher. Power and acceleration are very good for a 500cc stock street bike. Wind protection was excellent with no buffeting at 70 mph and especially calm at head level. My wife loves the bike after just riding around the neighborhood. This will be an excellent starter bike for her. The bike is used with 5k and has a clean maintainence history - no problems.
- Biz13, seattle

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-02 2006 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike used with only 600 miles on it. I went through the break-in period (1000 miles) and then started to have some fun with it. I'm getting a consistent 59 MPG, so mileage is decent, but not breathtaking. It just went through the first service and I'm looking forward to see what the MPGs will be then. This bike is extremely flickable and it seems to take curves automatically, very easy to steer in increasingly tightening curves (can be tricky on bikes with bad geometry - i.e. cruisers). I owned a Buell M2 (1203cc) and the GS makes the M2 seem like a boat anchor by comparison...and I had fun on the M2. When I want to have fun on the twisties and on the highway, this bike is great. It has six gears which really helps on the highway. I highly recommend this bike for commuting and for just plain riding fun. It's very forgiving for beginners.
- Russ Embich, Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-30 2006 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2006 Suzuki GS500F for a little over a year now and I love it! I bought it with 2000 mi and it already has 25000 + mi on it. I ride to work daily and have never had any kind of problems with it. It could be a bit smoother when riding between 70 to 80 mph though. It's easy to handle and very economic (average of 58 mpg). I recommend this bike to both beginners and experience riders. Enjoy the ride!
- FREEQBN, Surprise, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-15 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After getting side swiped on the Hollywood Freeway, everyone told me no bikes. Then a friend let me sit on his new bike. Butt to brain: "Must have one of these" so I got a new GS500f (white & blue) the next day. After 25 years, it all came back as soon as I put this bike into gear. This bike was so easy to ride, stable and fun. Great around the city or cruising Alki Beach Drive on a nice day. Still enough power and stability for the freeway. Tough choice between the GS500 and a Ninja 500, but I think the GS500 in white looks so hot compared to the Ninja. It looks bigger than it is. The only negative is the inconvenient helmet lock (have to lift the seat) so bought one that fastens to the license plate. Perfect in that this bike rides like a standard bike but as a bit of the crotch rocket look. Love it! Get one for yourself!
- Patrick Lajko, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-04 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After logging 8200 miles on a 2009 SYM 300i scooter, I went to the darkside and bought the GS500F. As a daily commuter on the interstate, the 81 mph WOT on the scooter was just not safe. The 500 is perfect. Good mileage, reserve power, and a very comfortable riding position. The lower profile is also better in the crosswinds. I am 58, have been riding since 08/01/2009, and have completed the basic and advanced MSF courses. I am very pleased with this ride.
- Paul R. Jones, Sandston, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-31 2009 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By new rider I mean one who never have operated a bike before. The GS 500F is perfect for you. It handles great, has great power for it's engine size, and is very forgiving of rider mistakes. I've been told that the GS 500F may have start up problems during cold weather, but mine have started up every time...even in close to 20 degree weather. The handlbar position works well for both long trips and twisty roads. So if you're a brand new rider, this bike is definitely great for you to learn and enhance you riding skills.
- P King, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-16 2004 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Nice starter bike, very forgiving. Seat could be better, after a few hundred miles it gets hard as a rock. Bad part is Suzuki treats it like it's a nothing bike. No accessories to speak of. I don't regret one minute getting the gs500f for getting back into biking.
- cw, upstate ny, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-27 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in March 2008 and I have ridden it hard. Trips of 700+ miles a day. It is indeed dependable and light. It is decidedly fun. The only problem is the seat! I have Extracted 275 miles out of my tank between refuelings. Too bad the seat is a 150 miler! I use it all year round and it shares duties with my AN400 and my VT1100 Shadow. I used it during the Grand Tour of Virginia and it was a lot of fun. I would recommend it to anyone that can fit in it! You can do much of the maintenance yourself too! It is a very sound investment!
- Motolokox1, Chester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-14 2006 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike for almost a year now, bought used. It's a great commuter, I get about 55-58mpg. Starts to get uncomfortable after about an hour and a half. Has some chasis vibration around 80-90 mph and definitely upgrading the tires when the stock ones are shot. Other than that, I love her like one of my kids.
- stewey, Quakertown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-14 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Gs500f is a great beginner bike, or bike for the many women now involved in riding. It's light weight with decent power. Reliable as all heck and parts are extremely easy to get. Often at very reasonable prices. Handles very well, especially at low speeds which is extremely helpful for new riders. Thinking of getting into riding, or just want a reasonably priced fun machine to ride, take a look at this bike, you won't be disappointed.
- Jeff, detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-19 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All my life I have ridden four wheelers and dirt bikes. I was nervous that I was going to get a bike that was going to be too big, and I knew that a 250 was going to be way too small for me and I would grow out of it quickly. I'm so glad that I bought this bike as my first bike! I'm 19 years old and in the 6 months I have ridden this bike, I have found that it is great for forgiving me when I make amateur mistakes - which most bikes won't do. I feel that I have learned a lot of the fundamentals of riding and now I'm upgrading! Good luck to whoever gets this bike; you'll love it!
- Kristina Miller, Swannanoa, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-04 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the black and silver model, basically because it never looks dirty. I literally ride this bike every day to and from work, rain or shine. The bike is on the lighter side, so wind does play a little factor in driving. I drive the interstate almost the entire trip, so speeds of 70 to 90 are common. I had to take it a little easy breaking it in, but the bike holds up at these speeds, especially when the semis are on your tail. It likes running in the upper rpms, like around 6-8 grand. I had the accs. added after I broke her in. The exhaust sounds nice for a v-twin. The jet kit and K&N are a must for all of this to work together. The bike DOES NOT like lower octane gas. I run minimum 91 octane in the bike. Gas mileage-wise, it's getting close to 60 mpg. Since it is a 5.3 gallon tank, I have to switch it over to reserve around 210 miles, but you have another gallon or so in reserve, so 260-270 would be an ideal tank of gas. I found out the hard way. I had to push her a mile, uphill to a gas station. I was so close! Oh well. I hope this helps you decide. I have ridden everything from this bike (500cc) to 1800cc cruisers. For what you get, it's not a bad deal in a good v-twin.
- Mike Foster, Columbia City, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got out the military but my wife is still a soldier; with one car between us, I knew I needed a commuter to the local university I got accepted to. So I decided on getting a sports bike and started shopping around and as soon as I saw this bad boy, I knew this was the one. I have never rode before and the GS has been the perfect learning bike; forgiving but enough bike to keep up. Get this bike, it rocks. I'm in love but don't tell the wife, she is starting to get jealous.
- Ivan Whaley, Killeen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-02 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just received my motorcycle license and was on the hunt for my first bike. I sat in them all, cruisers, crotch rockets, everything. As soon as I sat on the GS500F I felt home. My feet were planted on the ground, the bike didn't feel massive in front of me. I would recommend this bike to anyone for a first bike. Also take a motorcycle safety course.
- William, Santa Maria, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-01 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's nimble. It's quick. It's comfortable. It gets and average of 63 MPG. It has a range of over 300 miles on a single tank. It's the perfect commuter. I love mine. Get your own :-)
- Duane Gallaher, Rainier, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sportbike -- in fact my first motorcycle -- and I love its light weight performance capabilities. For an entry-level sportbike, it's got everything I need at the moment, including an unrivaled combination of exciting real-world performance and sporty styling all for a great price used (2006 model with 2000 miles). It has outstanding maneuverability, thanks to its low seat height and light weight. Its twin-cylinder engine offers strong acceleration and quick, clean throttle response. Even though I'm a tall, heavy guy its well-padded seat and smooth suspension provides a comfortable ride on the highway. Just a few thoughts for those who may be buying a used motorcycle in my first three months of ownership: (1) if the previous owner doesn't provide you with the owner's manual for your bike, go to the local dealer and order one. I just got mine, and it's filled with just about everything I need to know that wasn't provided specifically about my bike in the MSR cycling book. (2) Visit your local dealer and tour the service department. Ask to speak with and introduce yourself to the service manager. Ask him about his knowledge of motorcycles and cultivate a relationship. Then when you need something done (see below) he'll tell you how to do it yourself and save the $60 per hour mechanic costs. (3) If you can do it yourself, then do it. My used bike has a damaged break lever. Essentially the tip had snapped off in a fall, but otherwise worked fine. It looked bad, so I decided to replace it. Never done a replacement before, and after a short conversation with the service manager he helped me order the OEM part, showed me how to replace it, and then told me if I had problems to call him personally. I replaced the brake lever in about four minutes. (4) Visit with your local dealer's parts department. Get to know the regular employees. Chat with them about your bike and what options other people are adding. When you finally do order a part, they're great about getting it fast and letting you know.
- Brian in Athens, GA, Athens, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-16 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just started riding and although I wanted to start with something in the 600 range, the GS500 has impressed me so far. It's no Gixxer, but it takes after its big brother. I'll definitely get a lot of miles under me on this one.
- DisuX, Columbus, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About 3 months ago I decided to act on my lifelong dream of riding a motorcycle. While researching bikes, I totally thought I was going to get a cruiser. No way was I going to get a 'crotch rocket'. However, upon seeing the GS500F up close, it was love at first sight. Not only is it quick nice to look at, performance wise it is a dream. As this is my first bike, I didn't want too much power, but within two days of owning the bike I was doing 95 on the highway. The GS500F is very responsive and with the GSX style fairings, it is near impossible to feel the wind on my legs. I recently took the GS500F on a road trip to Phoenix from San Diego. Although it did get a bit uncomfortable on the 330 mile trip (one-way), the GS500F performed beautifully even in the 125 degree heat! I couldn't have asked for a better first bike! I am going to keep it even when I do upgrade...
- Frankie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my GS500F new in 2005. I had a 1984 650 NightHawk and was a little skeptical on down grading in size and for that matter going to a sport bike. But all is well and I'm very happy I diched the NightHawk and bought the GS500F. If anyone is thinking about buying one - GO FOR IT! You will not be disappointed.
- Shelly, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-21 2005 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a used 500 with only 2600km on it, nearly brand new. I've had it for a month so far, with some long distance rides on it. I have ridden before, but this is the first bike I have owned. If you are planning to get this bike, please read my review carefully to decide if this is the bike for you. If you are a smaller rider or new into riding, this bike is very forgiving. Combined with very cheap insurance, this bike makes an awesome day-to-day commuter and a good platform to jump into riding. It has outstanding fuel economy, with a tank lasting you over 500km, if driven leisurely. It has a very easy use clutch that works well in traffic. Despite looking like a sport bike, it has an upright riding position, more like a cruiser than a sport. Unless you are sitting on the bike for over an hour, the comfort should not be a problem. If you are on it for over an hour, it feels like your backside has sustained blunt force trauma and you will need to take a break from riding for 10-15 minutes to recover (a custom seat should correct this problem). It has more than enough power to keep up with traffic, and 95% of cars cannot keep up should you want to pass. Its lightweight also makes if very flick-able into the corners and it does have decent handling. This bike would be highly recommended to less aggressive riders, beginners and commuters. With that being said, this bike does have some drawbacks that all riders need to consider before purchasing this bike. First, THIS IS NOT A SPORTBIKE! While it does have adequate power, the engine feels like it is straining under hard acceleration. Gearing is also very short during the first three gears, which interrupts brisk acceleration to the point where in first gear, quick cars can beat you at the light until you get into second or third. It feels more comfortable at cruising speeds (110-130km/hr) than it does being driven hard. The suspension is also very soft in front, making heavy braking and quick corner entry nerve racking. The suspension also lacks anything but primitive adjustability. The rear brake squeaks unless applied forcefully, doesn't affect braking, but it does get annoying in traffic. The small air-cooled v-twin just cannot compete with the larger displacement, higher tech bikes. A young rider who tends to have an aggressive attitude toward riding will outgrow this bike quickly. Trying to keep up with your friends on 600's will be difficult during spirited riding. My advice would be to get a 600 and start slow, that way you can grow with the bike. Acceleration will leave a lot to be desired unless you are really pushing the bike to its limits. It also doesn't have the wider tires that inspire confident high lean cornering. The biggest tire you can fit on back would be a 140 without modifications. To summarize, this bike is awesome for a brisk drive into the country or for your weekend ride. Due to its low cost, low insurance and stingy fuel sipping, it will also make an excellent day-to-day commuter. If you are looking to have a sport bike then you are better off saving for a while longer to get a 600cc bike. Having your friends pass you constantly gets a little frustrating after a while. Quick learners and young people will grow tired quickly and want something faster and more capable within the first couple of months. As a touring motorcycle, comfort becomes a problem when the ride gets longer...so be prepared for a sore backside. I haven't taken a passenger yet, so I can't comment on two up drive-ability. I can comment that the bike gets a little squirrelly in crosswinds and at high speeds. If you are driving on a major highway at consistently high speeds, be prepared to get fatigued quickly fighting the winds, as the windscreen is more form than function. Hope this helps.
- gman, Guelph, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-14 2005 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike! It's fast enough to get me into trouble, but I don't feel I have to go 180 everywhere ethier. I can cruise when I want to or I can open her up. It's the best money I ever spent and I am actually glad that I don't have a GSXR. I think my 500 stands out in a crowd more and it is also more rider friendly. that's always a plus. The only downside is that aftermarket parts are pretty much non existent.
- wayne mc, hickory, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike 2 days ago. It's my second bike, but my first sport bike. I had a Vulcan 750, but wanted a sport bike. To be honest was concerned about loss of performance dropping down in engine size. I will say, this bike is every bit as jump to it and is definitely faster all around. The lightweight bike could use a little more leg room, but I can ride pretty comfortably, and coming from someone that is used to riding cruisers, that's a big surprise in itself. The handlebars are raised more than normal sportbikes, so you aren't as hunched over on this. It has only been 2 days, but I am extremely happy thus far. Can't wait to really get on it and see what it can do!!!
- Jeremy, Imperial, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-10 2004 Suzuki GS500F Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The GS500 in my opinion, was a great bike. Not the fastest bike though. The rear swingarm left little to no upgrade for larger tire, but it does great with the one on it. I love the even gears in this bike. The ultra smooth power range seems to pull equally hard in each gear. I had mine to the limit, 130 mph on the ummm....autobahn. Seems to be very forgiving, it doesn't wear you out to ride it, and it even does very well with a passenger. With a little more weight on the rear end it handles even better. This was my first bike and I bought it new in July 04 and had 6k on it by the end of the riding season (Oct, Nov). I haven't had any trouble out of the bike and I get many compliments on how clean and sporty it looks. I would almost call it a hybrid between a full out sport bike and a cruiser. It handles well, revs decent, and has the looks, but also has the relaxed handlebars to take some of the discomfort out of the ride. The gas mileage is excellent on this bike. Great bike. If there weren't such a thing as finance charges ;)
- GSriderF, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: