Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki GS500F reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

62 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

oklahoma city

Reviewed on 2016-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
five gallon gas tank, 59 miles per gallon. siz speed gearbox. can cruise on highway at 65 all day. great for in town buzzing around. reliable. only down side is twin carbs and manual choke instead of fuel injection. looks good and is fun to ride.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matthew Stewart

Glendale, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-11-26

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike after 23 years of not riding. It is so much fun, I can't get enough. I have put 800 miles on her in two months. See you on the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Biz13

seattle

Reviewed on 2010-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my wife's bike but I rode it on the freeway home after her purchase and got a good feel for it. I ride a Dl650. The 500 was rock solid at 70 mph and very comfortable for those 60 miles. The headlight gives good coverage. The gear shifting is very smooth. The brakes are good but I don't like the position of the rear brake foot peg. I would like it higher. Power and acceleration are very good for a 500cc stock street bike. Wind protection was excellent with no buffeting at 70 mph and especially calm at head level. My wife loves the bike after just riding around the neighborhood. This will be an excellent starter bike for her. The bike is used with 5k and has a clean maintainence history - no problems.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Russ Embich

Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2010-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike used with only 600 miles on it. I went through the break-in period (1000 miles) and then started to have some fun with it. I'm getting a consistent 59 MPG, so mileage is decent, but not breathtaking. It just went through the first service and I'm looking forward to see what the MPGs will be then. This bike is extremely flickable and it seems to take curves automatically, very easy to steer in increasingly tightening curves (can be tricky on bikes with bad geometry - i.e. cruisers). I owned a Buell M2 (1203cc) and the GS makes the M2 seem like a boat anchor by comparison...and I had fun on the M2. When I want to have fun on the twisties and on the highway, this bike is great. It has six gears which really helps on the highway. I highly recommend this bike for commuting and for just plain riding fun. It's very forgiving for beginners.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

FREEQBN

Surprise, Arizona

Reviewed on 2010-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my 2006 Suzuki GS500F for a little over a year now and I love it! I bought it with 2000 mi and it already has 25000 + mi on it. I ride to work daily and have never had any kind of problems with it. It could be a bit smoother when riding between 70 to 80 mph though. It's easy to handle and very economic (average of 58 mpg). I recommend this bike to both beginners and experience riders. Enjoy the ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick Lajko

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2010-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After getting side swiped on the Hollywood Freeway, everyone told me no bikes. Then a friend let me sit on his new bike. Butt to brain: "Must have one of these" so I got a new GS500f (white & blue) the next day. After 25 years, it all came back as soon as I put this bike into gear. This bike was so easy to ride, stable and fun. Great around the city or cruising Alki Beach Drive on a nice day. Still enough power and stability for the freeway. Tough choice between the GS500 and a Ninja 500, but I think the GS500 in white looks so hot compared to the Ninja. It looks bigger than it is. The only negative is the inconvenient helmet lock (have to lift the seat) so bought one that fastens to the license plate. Perfect in that this bike rides like a standard bike but as a bit of the crotch rocket look. Love it! Get one for yourself!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul R. Jones

Sandston, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After logging 8200 miles on a 2009 SYM 300i scooter, I went to the darkside and bought the GS500F. As a daily commuter on the interstate, the 81 mph WOT on the scooter was just not safe. The 500 is perfect. Good mileage, reserve power, and a very comfortable riding position. The lower profile is also better in the crosswinds. I am 58, have been riding since 08/01/2009, and have completed the basic and advanced MSF courses. I am very pleased with this ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

P King

Sacramento, California

Reviewed on 2009-12-31

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
By new rider I mean one who never have operated a bike before. The GS 500F is perfect for you. It handles great, has great power for it's engine size, and is very forgiving of rider mistakes. I've been told that the GS 500F may have start up problems during cold weather, but mine have started up every time...even in close to 20 degree weather. The handlbar position works well for both long trips and twisty roads. So if you're a brand new rider, this bike is definitely great for you to learn and enhance you riding skills.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

cw

upstate ny, New York

Reviewed on 2009-10-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Nice starter bike, very forgiving. Seat could be better, after a few hundred miles it gets hard as a rock. Bad part is Suzuki treats it like it's a nothing bike. No accessories to speak of. I don't regret one minute getting the gs500f for getting back into biking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Motolokox1

Chester, Virginia

Reviewed on 2009-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki GS500F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine in March 2008 and I have ridden it hard. Trips of 700+ miles a day. It is indeed dependable and light. It is decidedly fun. The only problem is the seat! I have Extracted 275 miles out of my tank between refuelings. Too bad the seat is a 150 miler! I use it all year round and it shares duties with my AN400 and my VT1100 Shadow. I used it during the Grand Tour of Virginia and it was a lot of fun. I would recommend it to anyone that can fit in it! You can do much of the maintenance yourself too! It is a very sound investment!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 62 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: