Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800) reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

56 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

tom

middletown , Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 61 yrs old and got back into biking after 15 years. I read reviews on bikes for 5 months before deciding on this bike. I was able to test drive it. But I was set on a Ducati, good thing I didn't get that. Even though I am 61, I do believe if it's between you legs you will use it: none of us need to go 130mph, life is hard enough without becoming disabled or brain dead. I like the bike a lot. I have 400 miles on it and it handles very well. I was surprised that it cornered so well, I hit the peg once but that's good because it's a way to let you know to ease up and the peg comes up when you hit it so you can even go down further and it doesn't hit till you are pretty far down. On the freeway, the bike is very stable. I was blown around by the wind but not the bike at 79mph. So I got a windshield that I am putting on today and a rear luggage rack that looks way better than the afterthought passenger seat that is not cool looking. So take it easy, start out slow, and stay slow. Smell the scents in the road and grow up to be 61 like me waiting to dribble in a nursing home, or have a midlife crisis and get another bike at 61, midlife crisis : how many people do you know that are 122 yrs old?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (15)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce Wright

Alabama

Reviewed on 2021-09-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

3.8
The Suzuki 800 is a fun and dependable bike however the older bikes can no longer be repaired at the dealerships because Suzuki as well as Yamaha no longer make parts and dealerships won't install non-OEM parts. For example side panels, fenders and gas tanks are very difficult to find after market and OEMs are no longer made for many older models. After market extra capacity gas tanks are still available. Check your local dealer to insure they still service the year model you wish to purchase. Or learn to DIY. Honda seems to be the best for older serviced models but even for the honda rebel honda no longer make gas tanks, side panels and fenders for the cruiser series. For restoration enthusiasts new networks need to be established to exchange parts. SAFE RIDING, ALWAYS WEAR A HELMET! 😎
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Martinez

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a 2001 Suzuki Volusia for my first ever motorcycle, street or otherwise. As a bigger guy looking for a cruiser that could handle me but wouldn't feel too small, the Volusia fit the bill perfectly. I only had it for 6 months, but I put 3800 miles on it in those months through the Colorado winter, and the bug bit me so badly I'm now a factory certified bike mechanic. Only things I would say are change out the stock seat, and if you're going to be on the highway, get a windshield for it. Otherwise a beautiful, great handling, good powered bike, for first time riders or experienced ones alike. I hope to get my hands on another one again soon!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Smith

Lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2007-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I grew up riding off road motorcycles and ATVs my whole life, but once I rode my bike home for the first time I was in complete love with it. To be honest even though I have had this bike over 3 years I believe that I will ride this bike until the wheels fall off because I could not ask for a better bike for myself.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

al holmerson

Dryden, Ontario

Reviewed on 2007-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like I said, this is a great big little bike. The only thing I would change is the gear ratio in the pinion or an overdrive in fifth or sixth gear. Anyway you slice it, I believe the bike has enough torque to handle a taller gear and this would lose the unnecessary revs at highway speeds.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

Tacoma, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have really enjoyed the Volusia. It has just enough power to have fun with whithout too much weight. It gets a lot of attention from other riders because it just looks cool! It has the distinctive "Fatboy" look to it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony Lowe

Detroit, Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-07-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased a used VL800 1 month ago. It had 6000 miles on it, so it's hardly broken in. This is my second bike, and I couldn't be happier. The styling is fantastic, I've even had die hard Harley guys tell me "that's a heck of a nice bike". The response and the bikes handling makes you want to ride forever. I've gone on a 3 hour trip, and my only complaint is that I need a little more padding in the seat. A gel cover will fix that. I love riding my new bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

byron

kingsland, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-01-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike expecting a nice comfortable cruiser. What I got was so much more. With the astounding low-end torque and the low riding seat, I instantly fell in love. My last bike was a Yamaha 1100 maxima. It was fun, but this v-twin gives me much more of what I want. It's more stable at all speeds, smooth and throaty off the lot, hands down the best bike for the money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gene King

Piti, Guam

Reviewed on 2005-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Volusia is hands down the best motorcycle in its class not only because of the very reasonable price but for looks quality craftsmanship and reliability. Why pay for a Harley when you can get a better bike for less, much less, money. It has great throttle response and lots of torque. A smooth ride and superlative handling are intrinsic in this world-class cruiser. Go get one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nate Gaulke

DesMoines, Iowa

Reviewed on 2005-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki Intruder Volusia 800 (VL800)

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had this bike for the summer before I went off to join the navy and it's a beautiful bike. If you get a pair of pipes for it, the ladies will love it. It looks like a fat boy with 1/5th of the price. It's a great bike for the money but if you're doing some serious traveling (400-500 miles a day), you might want a bigger motor because the 800 cc doesn't cut it for 75-80 mph on Nebraska freeway, it gets really riled up. It just needs about 1200 cc if you're going to travel with it but it's great for around town.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 1 - 10 of 56 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: