Suzuki RF900R Motorcycles Reviews (18)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki RF900R Motorcycles Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki RF900R Motorcycles? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-05-03 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 94 RF900R about six months ago and having wanted one since they came out was not disappointed. Most of the mainstream magazine reviews contain statements such as 'budget' and 'too soft' and 'ugly' generally slating the bike. If you compare it with Blades, ZX9R's and R1's, sure the suspension is not trick and not competitive on a race track, but most people are looking for a bike for the road. Facts are, 125bhp, 165mph and cheap insurance ! This is a road missile, it pulls hard in all of the 5 gears, will corner on any road ( ideally dry )and for a sports bike is quite comfortable. The seat could protect your prize possesions a little better and after 150 miles your wrists and knees do ache. The bike feels planted and stable above 20mph, when negotiating rush hour traffic you do notice its size. Most reviewers compare it with Honda's legendary VFR 800i and yes it is not as polished but also is a fraction of the price. Due to the fact Suzuki didn't sell many RF's the second hand prices are extremely attractive and you simply cannot get more bike for your money ! Mine is finished in Kevin Swantz Lucky Strike '95' colours and really looks the part. I would recommend if you don't like the stock colours going for race rep colours as it improves the looks no end. Just added braided lines and what a difference they make ! If your on a budget or want something a bit different give one a test ride and I guarantee you will want to buy it !
- Rufus, Fareham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-30 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was originally in the market for a 600 Katana. I learned to ride on a 1978 GS750 and figured that a newer 600 would be just fine. After I rode the RF, though, with its "heavy" nose to keep from doing a wheelie at every traffic light- I was convinced that more power doesn�t always mean less control. The bike has a solid, comfortable ride with enough power to feel safe at high speed on the highway. I read one review about how "uncomfortable" the bike was to them. My RF has Heli bar risers and a Corbin seat, and I think it's quite comfortable. The other mods are the (almost clich� for this bike) Yosh RS-3 pipe and K&N filter charger. I also have a Zero Gravity wind screen and Dunlop Sportmax tires (180 in the rear). It all adds up to a comfortable ride to work or a pleasant zip down the highway. I'm in the early stages of doing my own "bun burner" ride around the beautiful state of Wyoming. I love my RF!
- Casey , Cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-04 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Though this is my first bike I cannot think of any better way to take the step into the world of motorcycling. I really love the performance delivered by the big engine and the fast response you get from it! My RF 900R has about 145 HP through some modifications, and that's enough for me! I can't wait until spring when I can drive the bike to it's top limit for a good adrenaline rush.
- Magnus, Stockholm, Sweden

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-12-28 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 53 year old rider who has ridden cruisers for the last 15 years. I was looking for a sport bike that would have comfortable ergos...and still haul ass. The RF900R fit the bill...after a few "additions"...Corbin seat, Helibars, Stage 1 kit, K&N filter, and a Yoshimura can. I still ride cruisers, but when I really want to make time...and have fun doing it, out comes the RF-R We have lots of "kids" in the area riding sport bikes...and I can always toast 'em off a stop light...and then keep pulling away ("who was that guy?) A really good bike with great looks that you can ride for hours. It's only short coming seems to be finding correctly fitting bags so it can be used as a sport tourer.Still looking for those. Four and a half stars.
- C.W.Willoughby, Leicester, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2002-10-24 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for a couple of years, and i was looking to buy a bke that could fit me. I am 20, i play college football and i am a pretty big guy. I couldnt ride an r6 without my knees hitting the plastic. And the same went for almost every other 600 as well. Well... i was looking through the paper and ran across a 97' rf-900 r. I was sceptical because of all of the reviews that the magazines wrote. But, the second i rode it, i cancelled all subscriptions i had to cycle mags, and give every GSXR 1000 jaded reviewer the finger. the one i bought was laid over and had no lowers on it. The rims were chromed and it had a D&D slip on exhaust that added a beefier note to the 937 cc engine. AND LEMME ADD ONE THING... THIS THING IS FAST... sorry... i got a bit excited. I have heard that the front wheel doesnt come up as easy as other bikes, but i gotta say that it will come up like nothing else if you ask it to. I love it i love it i love it. Just so you know my taste in bikes borders on psychodic ammounts of power with style that says... IMA EAT YA. Great bike, always starts... it is pertty. drop a line if you feel different.
- Saber Benson, Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-19 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I just recently purchased a 97 RF from a local dealership brand new. They actually took it out of the crate when I got there, I had done some research on what kinda bike to buy and the RF kept coming up. People had told me oh get the new CBR929RR or go try out the new R1, but those bike didn't interest me. Well it took about a week to get used to the bike, after all is pretty big, a bit heavy also weighing in at a whopping 447lbs. But with its 937cc 16-valve dual overhead cam straight intake, it makes up for the weight. Just let me say this thing is a road rocket, most bike I've road. The front tire lifts when you pin the throttle, with the RF you can just lay down, pin the throttle and just enjoy the rush without having to worry about the front end suddenly "popping up" in 1st at high RPM range. Although there are some downsides. The bike handles very awkward with a passenger and seems to have a very annoying vibration when cruising around 70+. But I wouldn't want any other bike, this thing is power, comfort and style rolled into one package, I love this bike.
- Justin Kovacs, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-06-06 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my RF900rv in 1998 it had only 300 miles on the clock, although we operate in kilometers in NZ these bikes were imported from a cancelled USA order. I have now done nearly 13 thousand miles and it has never missed a beat, toured NZ (both islands) which is a mixture of twisties and in the south island long flowing highways. The rf can hoof it with the best of them and cornering is governed by the riders ability as it will handle most corners you throw it into. I agree with previous comments about the pegs being a little high but am able to peel off the miles without any undue discomfort. My bike came out with Dunlop[203`s which I replaced with Pirellis at 6800 miles. The Pirellis (mtr 23 and 24) are magic in both wet and dry. The bike is stock standard but I would be interested to hear how the k & n filter improves the breathing if anyone wishes to reply. All in all a superb sports tourer which I have no intention of selling and would recommend to any potential buyer. Happy and safe riding
- Gary Johnston, Auckland, New Zealand

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-04-25 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From what I've read on the RF900R there is only one reason I can come up with they halted production on the RF900. When the bike was introduced they were trying to fill a gap between "Sport Touring" and "Sport". They wanted to give the riders the best of both worlds. Unfortunately, there wasn't that big of a gap between the bikes and as time went on, that gap narrowed. There just wasn't a market for it. Now, however, it would probably fair a bit better as us speed freaks are getting a bit older. Look at the Hyabusa, it's the world's fastest production bike and it's a tourer. I think if they redesigned it with 2001 technology and re-introduced it as a "smaller Hyabusa" it'd sell. Trust me, the stares and questions I get when I pull up on mine is generating a lot of interest around here. It's unique, yet still performs. Let's face it, for it's day, it was a bad A** ride. It's only real marketing competition was the VFR-750 (which, by the way, was also dropped; now it's the Interceptor 800)
- Mark, Chicago, IL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-03-31 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this 97 RF with 3000 miles on it, A yoshi pipe and a Corbin Saddle that really adds a lot to comfort on the long rides. This is a great all around bike that won't pull wheelies for me but is as fast as anything out there for street or touring. This is not a track bike and the styling is either love it or hate it. I love the look and most people think its beautiful most magazine reviewers hate it. I have ridden this bike going 140 at 7000 rpms and it felt like it wasn't breaking a sweat I had way more throttle twist left to go. Two up riding however feels heavier than other lighter bikes I've had no matter what the settings are tuned to.
- John, Boca Raton, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2001-01-15 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Suzuki RF900R- the most beautiful bike I've seen and a real head-turner for others' on the road. I've had my RF for a 3 years and have enjoyed ever kilometer. Other 900's from Japan are built for speed, but this bike was built for the open, windy highways. My RF is still stock, with the exception of the K 'n N filter and amazing Corbin seat. Going hours on the back of this beauty is such a joy. The foot pegs are a couple of inches higher than I'd like, but the upright riding position, compared to sport bikes, is perfect for long straight stretches and awesome for the twisties. For a bike that is fairly longer than true sport bikes, it handles the fast corners without hesitation. Leaning hard into the corners and sliding over the Corbin to make the next is as easy as riding a GSX-R. Fuel mileage is great and the passenger accommodation is comfortable. The engine, still in stock condition, is very mechanical sounding and the tranny does 'clunk' a bit, but the shear good looks and its' handling characteristics will negate any of its' faults. Mine is black with purple wheels. When I first saw this machine, from the front fairing it instantly reminded me of the movie "Alien". Take a look for yourself if you see one. I've ridden many bikes over the past six years, and a lot of those beautiful machines easily outperform the RF900, but the RF is the best all-around motorcycle. It will give you good top-end speed, awesome handling in the corners, braking is pretty good, looks are amazing, and long hauls across the country are no problem. Unfortunately, the RF900 was discontinued in Canada in 1998, I believe because of the other manufacturers were coming out with purely racing 900's, so the market for a sport-touring 900 just didn't exist here in Canada. If you are looking for a motorcycle that will give you everything, the RF900 is the best bet. Try one.....
- Chris Courtice, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-11-02 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm only 16 but, I have drove lots of bikes. Right now I have a KLR650 and RF900R. I think it has an ok top speed. But it runs great in the curves. I can stay with the other bikes. I think Suzuki should make it again. I know I well never sell mine.
- Anonymous, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-10-23 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I gave up my RF because I moved into an RV full time and had no where to carry it. I paid $4,000 for it with 7000 mi. on the clock. It had all day comfort (I once put 800 mi. on it in one day, but these were NV miles, a lot at 120-130 mph). It had all the power you could use on the street and equal handling. The bike was black, no graphics, and had subtle blue metal flake in the black: good looker. All I did was adjust the chain and change the oil and filter for 5000 mi. I was in a couple of rainstorms, one a real toad strangler, and could stay almost dry laid down on the tank and really moving. By the way, I sold it for what I paid for it. Not only was it the best free ride I ever had, it was the best ride of any kind I ever had. I've owned thirty motorcycles.
- Rick, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-09-29 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used last Oct. "99" within a week I wanted to junk it, what a pig, it had Dunlop 205 tires on it and they were pretty worn out, I changed to the 207s, what a difference. Within the passed few months I have stripped the ca. emissions, added a two brother's slip-on and k&n filter. I plan on buying a newer bike, but I just cant seem to find anything that much better.
- chris martin, Mission Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-08-07 1996 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The RF900R is an incredible machine that will challenge any rider, regardless if it is modified or in stock trim. I have added the basics for engine mods (yoshimura exhaust header and pipe, jet kit, K&N air filter) as well as creature comforts (corbin seat and heli bars). What I came up with was a very fast and very comfortable ride that you can take the twisties with or ride all day at your leisure. I am also happy to say that I have logged 15,000 miles on my bike and have only had to perform general maintenance. I am not 100% happy of course because of the high-foot pegs that lead to cramped leg muscles on really long trips, and because the bike could use fuel injection if you ride at different elevations such as I do(loss of some power in mountains because of thin air). Even though this is the case, if you are looking to buy any model year of this bike, you can not go wrong.
- John Orta, Blue Ridge Mountains, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-14 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My previous bike was an 89' FJ1200. The RF is lighter, handles better, little more forward seating position, has way more top end and the same midrange power, which the FJ's were known for. I've added a Yoshimira slip on, K&N filter, stage 1 jet kit and ignition advancer. I tried a Corbin seat but put the stock back on. I'm the original owner and have 10,000 miles on her. Just put new Dunlops on this spring. The bike is a head turner, runs real strong and sounds great with slip on. Suzuki cut corners with the suspension but if you can deal with the ride, it handles fine for me but I'm not a knee dragger. With the mod's I've made, I see no problem keeping up with current 900's and getting better wind protection and comfort to boot. New 900's really look cheap in their quest for light weight but my RF dry is only 11 pounds heavier then the ZX9R and I still have a hydraulic clutch as opposed to a string like the current ones.
- Anonymous, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-13 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 7000 miles on my RF and finally got rid of it. The bike is not very comfortable. Did not handle well, and wasn't very fast. It did, however look great. Brakes were week as well. I traded this bike in spring of 98 and it is still sitting on the dealer's floor. There is a reason for that.
- Anonymous, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-06-02 1997 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 1997 Suzuki RF900R, and it is an unbelievably nice ride! Perhaps it was ahead of its time as it didn't sell well and was only made from '94-'97. I think this is because Suzuki billed it as a sport tourer, instead of as a sport bike. Most 900cc shoppers wanted a RF 900RRRRR. Had it been given a similar name and a bunch of flashy graphics, it would have probably sold like free beer. This bike's ergos are on the "tame" side of sport, but on the "aggressive" side of sport-touring. Everything about the ergonomics is almost perfect except for the foot pegs, which are a tad high. That limits legroom and makes it feel very sporty. Its performance is top notch. It's fast, but not intimidating as it is very smooth and offers a lot of mid-range power. The big 937cc engine allows you to drive it almost like an automatic as it never seems to be at a loss for power. Reliability has been excellent--well built! As for its looks, most think it's "sharp" and the ladies absolutely love it! "Can I get a ride?" I leisurely reply, "Meet my friend, Mr. RF 900R."
- Anonymous, Arcadia, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2000-04-17 1995 Suzuki RF900R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THIS IS AN UNDERRATED BIKE. I'M 6-2 307LBS BUT THIS BIKE WILL MOVE WITH ME ON IT. I RIDE WITH SMALLER PEOPLE WITH CBR'S AND ZX'S AND THEY CAN NOT BELIEVE HOW WELL IT DOES. THEY ALL SAY YOU RIDE GOOD FOR A BIG GUY. IT'S NOT ME IT'S THE BIKE. IN THE 8TH OF A MILE DRAG I GOT 7.17 AT 97MPH AND NEVER GOT OUT OF SECOND GEAR. NOW YOU TELL ME WHY SUZUKI STOPPED PRODUCTION?
- JEFF SMITH, Shady Spring, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: