Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Suzuki TL1000R reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

61 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Big Bob

Valparaiso, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-02-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am excited to say my 2000 TL1000R still rocks. I have owned it since new. Like a fine wine, it only gets better with age. This is my second Tl since I lost my first one to a Dodge Neon with only 643 miles. With the miles on the bike, the only problem I have had was the countershaft leaked at about 10,000 miles. don't know if it was my fault or their's, but it was under warranty. Besides that, my TL1000R runs like a raped ape with scalded huevos. Having over 24,000 miles on it, I hope I can get 24,000 more miles out of it. If it blows up, like Steve Austin, we can build it bigger, faster, stronger, like it needs to. No, not really but it will be fun. Have had it dynoed at 124hp/73 ft.lb. of torque on 93 octane N.W.Indiana crap gas with additives for emmisions. Loves to run race gas. It burns better, better milage, and has a great smell of lead. Screw emmisions, let your twins breathe (if you know what I mean). Only two things keep me from owning this bike a long time, my death or its demise i.e. stolen or totalled.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mario

Chino Hills, California

Reviewed on 2006-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bikes is awesome. I've had it since it was new & haven't had any issues with it. The super low-end torque is awesome & then the bike is at 6000+ rpm, still pulls to it's redline.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

Bensalem, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Two years, 17,000 miles later, I have come to a decision. This is my favorite. Others have been two 750 Honda Interceptors and a 6 and 7 ninja. Wide open throttle in first and smile at the sky. Hit second and you are airborne again. I was looking for the perfect balance of comfort (passenger as well), power, and handling. This bike is it. The sound and power give you a permanent smile. No chicken strips and an indicated 178 top speed on the clock, it is going to be a long time before I part with this baby. I think I'm going to go give 'er a hug.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LTDav

Mishawaka, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-12-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Hey Suzuki bring back the TL!! I bought my 2001 TL this year and it is my first and last bike. I can't picture myself on anything else. This bike is just all around perfect. My height is the only thing that causes a little discomfort when I'm stopped at a long light. The way it handles around corners is smooth and effortless. Keeping this thing on two wheels seems to be the only problem you might run into.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

keith giles

geelong, Australia

Reviewed on 2004-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After years of riding lots of bikes & racing them, my TLR does it for me. It has RS3 Yoshi carbon cans, power commander(a must), TRE, then adjusted suspension to what I like. This bike is great, our roads are crappy in Australia, but the TLR rides better than any bike I've had, which includes a GSXR1000, GSXR1100 (great bike)Yamahas, Hondas, BMW, and Ducati (overrated). Too bad they don't make this bike anymore.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Sunderland

Avilla, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Tiller new in '03 and have rode for one season and put 13,500 miles on it. I moved up from a Katana and there is a crazy amount of difference. The sound of the Twin with the RS3 race canns on it sound like a dream. This bike handles extremely well for me being a little fellow. A lot of bigger guys ride the 450+ # bike, but it takes corners just as nice with 50 less pounds on it. I get compliments wherever I go on it and sometimes insults like, "Nice Gixxer". Some people just don't know. Would recommend this bike to anyone. Remember, Real men ride Twins.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

thesandman

bronx, New York

Reviewed on 2004-11-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
With some upgrades in the suspension and some fine tuning, this is pound for pound the best sports v-twin on the market today. You won't find a better v-twin for the price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Me

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The TL is a strong bike that can be very unforgiving. I started on a GSXR 750 then in 2002 I got my TL1000R. You talk about surprise! Not many people believe me when I tell them it'll do 190mph easy and not feel a bump. And torque, it's got a bunch. I'm hooked on the twin!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

SCOTT G.

RIVERSIDE, California

Reviewed on 2004-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
After owning several brands of motorcycles I would have to agree opon one thing, the TLR is probably the easiest to ride fast. Between the semi-comfortable seating, to the very stable and predictable front end, even the weight isn't a big problem for most people up to 8/10 pace, that's when the mass and the rear shock combine to make a jittery ride when leaned over. Oh and the rear shock, that rotary damper is a harsh pogo stick that even with adjustments doesn't get much better than a cheap bicycle. The motor is very linear past 3300 rpm under that there is a slight glitch at about 3000 to 3200 rpm, but you really don't notice it around town or on the freeway much just quick roll-ons in slow corners. The brakes work respectably with little initial bite, but progressive when squeezing a little harder. Braided lines make better initial bite and require less pressure at the lever. Another good thing about this bike is you can shed the weight and gain a lot more power for a relativly little cash outlay. Overall the bike is a solid performer, worth the price of admission and the sound will have you grining under your helmet every time you hit the canyons or freeway underpasses.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Johnson

Fayetteville, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2004-04-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had a few GSXR's in my day and then I bought a 2001 TLR about 2 years ago. I would have to say it was the best investment I have ever made. I tell you, at a 190 it rides like a caddy because you can't feel a bump in the road. Handles excellent on the turns and pretty stable on 1 wheel (if you know what I mean). Yes it is sad to see them go but all we can do is wait for Suzuki to manufacture a new even better V-Twin, I know I will be waiting. (Personal Quote: If at 100 m.p.h. Rain feels like concrete. What does concrete feel like?!?!?!?!?!)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 7
  • 1 - 10 of 61 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: