Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

4,582 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

MT

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
OK, this is a "kick butt little cruser." I just got a 2009, that was new at the dealer. I went from commuting in my X-Terra which was costing me $15 a day to riding my V-Star at a cost of about $8 per week. I could have bought a bigger bike and I probably will in the future; however, I'm keeping this 250 V-Star until it falls off the wheels. I watched all sorts of U-Tube clips by owners of this bike and there is no shortage of fans all over the net. For my money, $3,695 new from the dealer, the thing looks nice too. I'm hearing all sorts of people saying they ride it 60-75 mph. on the freeway; however, I don't have to get it on the freeway in my daily routine. This bike feels good between 50 to 60 mph to me. I did notice the first week that 50 mph. seemed to feel right on the bike; however after the first 300 miles, it seems to like running between 55 to 60. To be quite honest, I'm not sure I want to take it much over 60 mph. I don't think the stock front tire is made for speeds much beyond that. That is one thing I plan on changing soon. I like the rear stock tire just fine. This bike is great around the suburbs where I live ranging from feeder speeds to posted 55 mph. There's no real problem moving around traffic and it's not a dog at all in traffic at reasonable speeds. I had a windshield put on it and that really improved the bike's stability. Full coverage insurance is only $30 a month where I live. This thing is costing me well under $200 a month to drive and I'm having a blast doing it. A guy with a Yamaha 1300 came up to me and asked if it was a 500? Thanks Yamaha for not putting 250 on the tank or side covers, I won't tell if you don't. I'm short and I get both feet flat on the ground no problem. The stock seat feels great on my fat backside and it's a very comfortable ride for me. A year ago I owned a Honda XL 250 and a 550/4 for a couple of years after that. This Yamaha 250 is not underpowered for what it is. If you want more or expect more, buy a bigger one. I have the urge to do some highway driving in the future and when I do I'll probably buy something bigger on eBay. I really like that new Yamaha Striker. Sadly, my wife says she won't get on a bike so whereever I go, I'm going solo. In my humble opinion, if you buy one of these V-Star 250's to cruise around town on, you won't be disappointed or broke. What don't I like about the bike...? Not much but, whay didn't they put the ignition key start on the handle bars? The great thing about the cost of this bike is that I can do some cosmetic things - luggage rack and sissy bar first. I have a feeling that saddle bags may cost some miles per gallon. I'll probably add some additional lighting and a better horn. Lots of folks change the sprockets for more top end. For my use, the factory sprockets seem to work just fine. This bike sounds great when you start it, however it runs quiet once you get moving. I'm not drilling holes in my pipes, however I will ask the dealer about some drag pipes if it won't kill my warranty. I hope this helps anyone considering this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (27)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Peoples

Reviewed on 2022-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I certify that this review is accurate and is based on my personal experience with the Motorcycle. I have no personal or business affiliation with the manufacturer of this Motorcycle, nor have I been offered any payment of incentive by such manufacturers to submit this review. My submission only discusses the Motorcycle and does not discuss other people or dealership.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe H

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2022-08-05

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha v star 950 tourer

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Rode the VStar 950 tourer for 4 years and loved it. Great for newer riders and anyone looking for just the right amount of power for highway and backroads. Very good ergonomic design for longer rides. Plenty of storage in standard side bags. This is also an excellent value for a bike loaded with features at a price point well below some of the other big names.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mo Adam

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Yamaha Super Tenere ES

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
The tenere is a under appreciated adventure touring machine. It has the reputable Yamaha reliability and a tq 1200cc engine. She turns well for such a large machine and rides straight at highway speeds without vibration. The super tenere is confidence inspiring riding two up and not intimidating.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerome Stocks

California

Reviewed on 2022-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2015 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
The FJR1300 has been produced by Yamaha since about 2003 and is a Sports-Touring Motorcycle against which all others are compared. It’s fast and reliable and in fact commonly used by Law Enforcement Agencies around the world. Heated Grips, Shaft Drive, cruise control, electronically adjustable windscreen, and easily removable saddlebags are some of the creature comforts on these since the 2014 model year. The stock seat is not typically beloved for long rides, but there are replacement options available.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gregory T Pettit

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
The 650 Vstar is a wonderful bike. It gets 50 mpg, and is geared for commuting, or hilly twisty back roads. If you want to ride the interstate roads, this bike will do it, but you will want another gear for sure. It's handling is very tame and predictable. It does everything well, and super reliable. For sure it's a basic air cooled, carburated engine, but simplicity is good when you just want to fire it up and ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scotty

Connecticut

Reviewed on 2022-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed1985 Yamaha RZ350N

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
I have owned my RZ350 since I bought it new in 1985. Light, fast, easy to work on. Good parts availability in 2022, and there is a large community of enthusiasts around the world. The RZ350 is fairly civilized compared to earlier two strokes. Water cooling and the YVPS make the engine flexible, reliable, and versatile. Great fun. I will never sell it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Streep

Texas

Reviewed on 2022-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2020 Yamaha 2021I

Shop this motorcycle

1.0
The seller is extremely rude and does not answer phone calls and was very vague. I was going to purchase this bike but found one elsewhere. It’s too bad people these days can’t be polite and professional with each other.
Reliability
1.0
Quality
1.0
Performance
1.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kurt a holz

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Roadstar Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
The Yamaha Roadstar Warrior is a great attempt at crossing over a sport-like riding experience onto a cruiser. It has a big motor displacement (1670cc) and Z-rated tires for highspeed riding and quick cornering. It's a very fast bike with great response from the controls! The overall build quality is high, and it feels like a solid bike underneath you as you ride. And with that high build quality comes a higher-than-normal level of reliability. I’ve been riding this bike for many years and for many miles and it has never broken down or failed me on the road. My only complaint about the bike is its comfort level in certain situations. They made a really fast bike, but it comes without a wind deflector so riding at anything over 50mph is uncomfortable (and almost impossible over 80mph without a deflector). And it's air-cooled so if you're riding in any traffic or doing lots of stop and go’s, you heat up somewhat quickly as the heat rises up from the engine when stopped. Somewhat minor complaints but I believe they are well known and acknowledged. The bike is an overall great piece of high-performance machinery with just a few shortcomings. The minor issues are easily overcome which clears the way for an awesome riding experience!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Hawaii

Reviewed on 2022-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I raced professional motocross in the 1970’s, Montesa 125 and CZ 400. I own a Super Duke and MV AGusta Dragster 800 rr but wanted a dirt bike again. Luckily I am small and only weigh 150 pounds. I Chose the 2022 YZ 85 for its history of reliability and horsepower. 160 pounds wet and 23 plus horsepower gives it the same power to rate as the YZ125 and I can touch the ground flat footed. 2 strokes have more power, easier maintenance, great sound, addicting on/off acceleration vs heavier 4 strokes with their top heavy rotating mass. The YZ 85 is perfect for me with fantastic looks like it’s bigger brothers. Starts first kick, light weight means more fun and agility. So happy with the purchase. Everything is perfect out of the box.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 459
  • 1 - 10 of 4,582 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: