Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

4,575 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

MT

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2011-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2009 Yamaha V Star 250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
OK, this is a "kick butt little cruser." I just got a 2009, that was new at the dealer. I went from commuting in my X-Terra which was costing me $15 a day to riding my V-Star at a cost of about $8 per week. I could have bought a bigger bike and I probably will in the future; however, I'm keeping this 250 V-Star until it falls off the wheels. I watched all sorts of U-Tube clips by owners of this bike and there is no shortage of fans all over the net. For my money, $3,695 new from the dealer, the thing looks nice too. I'm hearing all sorts of people saying they ride it 60-75 mph. on the freeway; however, I don't have to get it on the freeway in my daily routine. This bike feels good between 50 to 60 mph to me. I did notice the first week that 50 mph. seemed to feel right on the bike; however after the first 300 miles, it seems to like running between 55 to 60. To be quite honest, I'm not sure I want to take it much over 60 mph. I don't think the stock front tire is made for speeds much beyond that. That is one thing I plan on changing soon. I like the rear stock tire just fine. This bike is great around the suburbs where I live ranging from feeder speeds to posted 55 mph. There's no real problem moving around traffic and it's not a dog at all in traffic at reasonable speeds. I had a windshield put on it and that really improved the bike's stability. Full coverage insurance is only $30 a month where I live. This thing is costing me well under $200 a month to drive and I'm having a blast doing it. A guy with a Yamaha 1300 came up to me and asked if it was a 500? Thanks Yamaha for not putting 250 on the tank or side covers, I won't tell if you don't. I'm short and I get both feet flat on the ground no problem. The stock seat feels great on my fat backside and it's a very comfortable ride for me. A year ago I owned a Honda XL 250 and a 550/4 for a couple of years after that. This Yamaha 250 is not underpowered for what it is. If you want more or expect more, buy a bigger one. I have the urge to do some highway driving in the future and when I do I'll probably buy something bigger on eBay. I really like that new Yamaha Striker. Sadly, my wife says she won't get on a bike so whereever I go, I'm going solo. In my humble opinion, if you buy one of these V-Star 250's to cruise around town on, you won't be disappointed or broke. What don't I like about the bike...? Not much but, whay didn't they put the ignition key start on the handle bars? The great thing about the cost of this bike is that I can do some cosmetic things - luggage rack and sissy bar first. I have a feeling that saddle bags may cost some miles per gallon. I'll probably add some additional lighting and a better horn. Lots of folks change the sprockets for more top end. For my use, the factory sprockets seem to work just fine. This bike sounds great when you start it, however it runs quiet once you get moving. I'm not drilling holes in my pipes, however I will ask the dealer about some drag pipes if it won't kill my warranty. I hope this helps anyone considering this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (19)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kurt a holz

Arizona

Reviewed on 2022-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha Roadstar Warrior

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
The Yamaha Roadstar Warrior is a great attempt at crossing over a sport-like riding experience onto a cruiser. It has a big motor displacement (1670cc) and Z-rated tires for highspeed riding and quick cornering. It's a very fast bike with great response from the controls! The overall build quality is high, and it feels like a solid bike underneath you as you ride. And with that high build quality comes a higher-than-normal level of reliability. I’ve been riding this bike for many years and for many miles and it has never broken down or failed me on the road. My only complaint about the bike is its comfort level in certain situations. They made a really fast bike, but it comes without a wind deflector so riding at anything over 50mph is uncomfortable (and almost impossible over 80mph without a deflector). And it's air-cooled so if you're riding in any traffic or doing lots of stop and go’s, you heat up somewhat quickly as the heat rises up from the engine when stopped. Somewhat minor complaints but I believe they are well known and acknowledged. The bike is an overall great piece of high-performance machinery with just a few shortcomings. The minor issues are easily overcome which clears the way for an awesome riding experience!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Hawaii

Reviewed on 2022-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2000 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I raced professional motocross in the 1970’s, Montesa 125 and CZ 400. I own a Super Duke and MV AGusta Dragster 800 rr but wanted a dirt bike again. Luckily I am small and only weigh 150 pounds. I Chose the 2022 YZ 85 for its history of reliability and horsepower. 160 pounds wet and 23 plus horsepower gives it the same power to rate as the YZ125 and I can touch the ground flat footed. 2 strokes have more power, easier maintenance, great sound, addicting on/off acceleration vs heavier 4 strokes with their top heavy rotating mass. The YZ 85 is perfect for me with fantastic looks like it’s bigger brothers. Starts first kick, light weight means more fun and agility. So happy with the purchase. Everything is perfect out of the box.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Douglas Fink

California

Reviewed on 2022-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2014 Yamaha Stryker

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
I bought it new and drove it off the showroom floor in 2014. I currently have 82,459 miles on it. It never broke down, never left me stranded. By far the best bike I’ve ever owned. I just with it was a little longer so my wife and I could enjoy the longer rides I go on. I also wish it had a bigger engine. Outside of that, for me, it’s supper comfortable and perfect . I still prefer the stock seat than the aftermarket one my wife likes. I’ll ride this thing until the wheels fall off. At this rate, I have no idea when that will happen lol
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Curtis

Illinois

Reviewed on 2022-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2008 Yamaha Vstar 1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
These are excellent bikes, I have had no issues with mine at all, starts every time and is extremely comfortable going down the road. I would definitely recommend one to anybody looking for a bike. All around good quality and style. Only recommendation I have is to have the ecu flashed to get rid of fuel cut on deceleration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeremy McDermott

North Carolina

Reviewed on 2022-03-15

Motorcycle reviewed2019 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This particular motorcycle at Concord, NC Indian has been dropped on both sides. Even in light of that the dealership gave me an out the door price offer of $21,000 when the starting price was $16,999. Personally, I would avoid this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sean

Florida

Reviewed on 2022-02-22

Motorcycle reviewed2022 Yamaha TTR230

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
First bike I bought. It has power and handles good..First gear is too low, while speeding shifting it goes into neutral a lot, shocks could be a little more stiffer, the paint on the frame gets rubbed off from books. That is the biggest issue. Would be nice to have a kick starter for back up starting, once you uncork it, it really has get up and go power.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

derrick"DirtyShu"Shuman

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2022-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha XV1600 Roadster Anniversary Silverado Limited Edition

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Went from a 2006 v star 650 custom Bobber 2001 500cc bullet blast and a 2016 ktm390 and 1994 gxr 500 sold them all in the same week traded a guy the bobber str8 across he couldn't get it running right it had set for 10 years only had 8,000miles took me few days she fired up andnow it's got 14,000 miles haven't had any issues other than basic tune up things I got number 0354 of the 1600 I could never down size now I love it rides smooth sounds good and has lots of cosmetic potential or it still looks good stock
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2022-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha R6S

Shop this motorcycle

4.8
The Yamaha R6S is perhaps the most misunderstood of all Yamaha’s motorcycles. The R6S designation (versus the usual R6) has some imagining that the letter S stands for sport, while others call the 6S a budget version of the R6. So, what is the truth? The R6S designation actually originates from the 2004 YRZF6S code for that year’s R6. Yamaha decided to continue to produce the 2004 R6 model after the 2005 year, from 2006-9, as well as continuing to produce the evolving R6 model from 205-2020. The 6S code was retained for the 2005-9 R6S models to differentiate the two R6s. So every R6S is simply a newer held-over 2004 model, with only a few changes. The regular R6 started going through changes beginning in 2005 in order to improve performance above 130 mph on the track, including modified brakes, forks, exhaust, etc., so the R6 could continue to dominate in races. So, why continue making the old 2004 version if the new R6 was better? The 2003-4 model was already a perfected race bike and a wonderful and popular street sport bike. Changing the R6 for more top end performance also sacrificed some of the features Yamaha liked in the bike, such as ultra light weight, performance up to 130 mph, and street manners. Inverted forks are vulnerable to road damage, stiffer shocks are less comfortable, and the R6S is a faster bike on the street, where it counts for most riders. In fact, an R6S will easily out-perform a newer R6 up to 130 mph. Many people prefer direct throttle to drive by wire, and the bike was offered at a lower price as the research and development was already done and some parts were less costly (the older integrated exhaust system is half the cost). The R6S did receive the newer frame of the R6, but was an unusual example of a manufacturer reviving a prior model and extending its production for many years. It demonstrates the confidence Yamaha of its 2003-4 R6 model.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Tyler

Ohio

Reviewed on 2021-12-16

Motorcycle reviewed2022 Yamaha YZ450FX

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned quite a few motorcycles and this one is an amazing machine! Some of the best features are the massive torque, ability to tune the injection and timing via the wifi app and store 2 profiles in the ecu then swap via a button on the handlebar. My goal was to have a street legal dirt bike in Ohio and I was able to accomplish this with the 2022 YZ450FX with a few simple additions. The bike is not quiet at all it sounds like an indy car when you wind it out it's addictive! The throttle is so sensitive that one lurch trying to adjust your glove could put you right at 12 o clock or looped depending on your skill level. If you don't consider yourself an expert rider you need to avoid riding this bike. Don't test ride one or you will have to own it!!! If you want to see my bike search on the you tube and find me!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 458
  • 1 - 10 of 4,575 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: