‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

Yamaha Dual Sport reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

Stars Refinement

89 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Matt

Reviewed on 2022-11-17

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha Super Tenere view listing

4.3
I have owned this motorcycle since it was on the showroom floor. After a lot of research on dual sport bikes - talking to many owners of different brands (BMW, KTM, Suzuki, etc) I was able to confidently purchase this bike as my one bike to do everything - backroads, touring, commuting and not be left wanting. Very little required maintenance, oil changes and tire changes - provided a bike that was always ready to go. The only quibble is that it was built before LED's were standard, requiring some aftermarket additions. I wouldn't hesitate to get on this bike to go anywhere on the continent.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Rider

Georgia

Reviewed on 2021-10-10

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Yamaha TW200 view listing

4.5
I love this as a beginner bike. It is so fun to ride because you are always changing gears. It is great on and off road. Very reliable and simple machine. The bike is very light and easy to control. I love the tw200 community. You can have any questions answered on their forums. Cons- I wish it had a slightly higher top cruising speed. I wish it was a taller seat because I’m 6’2” with long legs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

peetpixel

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2021-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed 2010 Yamaha XT250 view listing

4.3
I think it is heavy for a 250cc but I'm 62. I put close 8,000 miles on it in just a few years. I took it up to Duluth twice and rode it in a day long dual sport ride over widely varying terrain. It's fun but it is dated. I cashed it in for a 2021 Honda Trail 125...the penultimate old-dude bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pipes

Peoria, Arizona

Reviewed on 2014-10-23

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha XT250 view listing

5.0
Two years and 2,000 miles later this bike is still running strong!! When I first purchased, I didn't like the way the taillight assembly sticks out so I purchased an LED taillight for a KLR from Amazon and mounted it up under the rear "visor" on the fender. It is protected by the luggage rack and the license plate is attached "vertically" to the rear fender. It looks so much cleaner now! I have trail ridden in Prescott Natl. Forest and in Payson, in all different terrain from rocks, dirt, sand and washboard roads. With its lightweight and centered seat position, it's very agile and maneuverable. It could use more power but it still performs nicely! It's very easy to load/unload in the bed of my truck. I have changed the oil and filter often and the mpg. is still the same. No complaints here!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MILAN JADE

SB, California

Reviewed on 2014-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha WR250R view listing

5.0
It's the most advanced 250 Enduro four stroke of all time. It's light weight, has great off road prowess, good manners on road and is OK on the freeway. I hit 98 mph. top speed. It has a great fit and finish and is a well thought out bike. However, it does have a huge price tag compared to the inferior competition. It's OK to pay more when you get more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ahilis

Lexington, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2013-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed 2008 Yamaha XT250 view listing

5.0
If you read a few reviews about this bike on the web, you'll keep reading the word "underrated." What does this mean? It means that no one who owns and rides this bike underrates it, only those who have not experienced the bike are underrating it. Furthermore, most of those people are unable to look much further than a bike's displacement when they "rate" one. I've been riding for 19 years, many of them off-road, but when I wanted a primarily-commuter bike for the big city, I did not want to be confined to the pavement. The turn angle caught my attention, the weight, the aluminum wheels, at the time the large disc brakes (front and rear), which now can be found on all the bikes in this bracket, a lightened crank...all of these point to a nimble bike that requires less power rather than providing more. The seat height is friendly to most riders (perfect for difficult, rocky trails and traffic lights)...and the riding position couldn't be more comfortable since it's really a "standard made to look like a dual-sport." A motorized mountain bike. The XT's air-cooled simplicity is another plus, since it doesn't require the extra power that you can get from a heavier water-cooled design. I've ridden the KLX250S alongside the XT and it's tall and clunky in comparison. The KLX provides more power, but it requires more as well so it doesn't have the spirited acceleration that the XT has. The grab handles on the back allow me to easily pick up the back end and swing it around to park it in a tight spot or spin it around on a trail. I should just write an entire article about this bike in order to give it a "proper" rating.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2012-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed 2012 Yamaha WR250R view listing

5.0
If you are looking for a dual sport bike that is VERY capable off-road and still allow you to use it for your commute to work then this could be the one for you. If you are an experienced dirtbiker/racer then you may not be as happy with this bike. I wanted a bike to ride where my cruiser shouldn't go. I ride the WR to the trailheads and from there can take off on forest roads, Jeep and ATV doubletracks and occasional singletrack trails. NO problems! If I need to ride roads anywhere in between, no big deal, I'm street legal. I have short legs so the 36.5 inch seat height concerned me but this bike can be lowered up to an inch by turning a nut on the lower shackle of the rear suspension. It can be lowered even more with purchase of a "Yamalink". I found no need to change the factory setting as I quickly became used to the height. Typical road use gets me about 74 mpg. - off road closer to 55 mpg. It can easily be ridden at sustained speeds of 55-65 mph. (and more). The speedometer accuracy (reads too fast by approx 10%) is my only complaint so far but I mount a portable GPS unit on it for my "adventures" anyway so I get an accurate speed from it. Gotta go ride now...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

honda guy in utah

salt lake, Utah

Reviewed on 2012-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed 2005 Yamaha TW200 view listing

5.0
This is a very good all-around bike for anyone. I want to get a 450 engine put into it for a little more zip on the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Kempling

Kamloops

Reviewed on 2011-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed 2009 Yamaha WR250R view listing

4.0
I bought this new in June, 2010 and have put on 7,500 km. since then. I use it for my daily commute and exploring on the weekends. It's very reliable--not a single issue (other than my own breakage). Despite the lack of a rack, I strap my Sea Eagle inflatable kayak on the back and hit some of the more remote, hard-to-reach lakes near here. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to anyone considering a dual sport. It'll do 150 km./hr. top speed and climb most hills. My pet peeves are a small gas tank (7 litres), not terribly comfortable seat, and a rear turn signal that flops out when you look at it sideways. All in all, though, it's just plain fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 9
  • 1 - 10 of 89 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: