‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1977 Yamaha reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

Stars Refinement

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Joseph Biondo

Reviewed on 2022-10-23

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha XS750D view listing

4.8
I bought my XS750D 2 1/2 years ago, after sitting in a barn in Medford, OR for 15 years. It was very well preserved but not running. Once I got it home, removed the cylinder head, and the center valve was burned out. After the valve was replaced and everything polished, the head was reinstalled. The carbs were rebuilt, all fluids replaced, new points and condenser and tires, and it was ready. The bike runs like new and has the distinctive sound only a 4-stroke triple has. The 3-into-1 exhaust is rare and I had to buy another that was dent-free. Appearance-wise the bike is a 9. It has an oil cooler that was installed when the bike was young, well recommended, as the center cylinder runs hot. The seat is comfortable, and the suspension is cushy at its mildest setting with a very responsive fork. The shaft-drive is maintenance-free and bulletproof. Vibration is minimal, and the bike is comfortable. It's not a canyon racer, but not slow. Currently it has under 29,000 miles. Nothing else looks like it, even when it was new. Very satisfied with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike S.

North Dakota

Reviewed on 2019-12-31

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha XS400D view listing

4.5
The 1977 Yamaha XS360D2 was the first bike I ever purchased back in 2004 at 16 with 2900 miles on the clock. The price was 550 from a local dealer in a small town in northeast iowa. It was pretty clear it needed carb work right from the start as most of this age will by now. It was the blue one with spoke wheels, front disc, kick starter, and points ignition. Aftermarket emgo megaphone mufflers were also fitted and were plenty quiet. I wish I had the jetting skills I have now because it seemed as though it could have been a very nice little bike. All I could do was clean the carbs back then and they were stupid lean even before I fitted foam filters. Starting was always hard. I would often run the battery down to nothing (probably weak to begin with) then continue with the kick starter until it popped off. I suspect the starter was just a bit too slow, or the idle circuit was just a bit too long (lets out way up on the top side of the carbs) also often resulting in stalls on takeoff. That said, it always idled nice once running and ran well with few flat spots besides the lean top end (my own fault). Because of this fuel economy was amazing at 60mpg+ but I often struggled to do 65. I still put over 6000 miles on it in one summer and always got compliments and questions wherever I went. When you're a kid on a metric bike from the seventies everyone notices. Handling was steady enough to enable full speed back road riding if I so desired, and at 17 and stupid I often did. The bike was also very light and I only dumped it once trying to do a u-turn on crushed rock. Ah, fond memories of learning hard lessons. I didn't get burned too bad and was actually able to lift it off my leg. The engine was a parallel twin with a 180 crank and no balancer, oddly enough. Top end was SOHC, 2 valves per cylinder and tappet type adjusters (no shims required). Something about the sound drove dogs completely mad. Weirdest thing I've ever seen and I've heard others say the same thing. Shifting was always smooth with the exception of a somewhat remote feel to the clutch. This again, could also have been down to poor maintenance (cables) but it made it a bit hard to find neutral sometimes. Suspension was also pretty soft but it mattered less to me back then. All in all it was a high quality, stable, tough, little bike that would have been dead easy to maintain. Had I been as handy back then, it would probably have been a good performer too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Polski

Burnsville , Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha XS750D view listing

5.0
Great starter bike for todays times. Pretty easy to handle and the mileage was about 42 to 46mpg. The starter was always a weak spot. I would like to own one again if I could find one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ilya Mareyev

Bronx, New York

Reviewed on 2002-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha XS400D view listing

5.0
I have bought this bike in Feb of 2002 with 1,402 original miles! It needed a lot of work from standing around for 25 years. I've owned it for 5 months now and I've put on 4,000 miles and I have never had any trouble. The bike is excellent. Very fast for a 400 and the braking is very good. The tall 6-speed tranny is great. It has never left me stranded :) Very forgiving.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rusty

Lamsing, Michigan

Reviewed on 2000-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha TT500D view listing

5.0
I just recently bought this bike as a small around-town cruiser. For a mostly off-road platform it is still very smooth and nice to ride on-road with plenty of power to get around and pop a wheelie or two if you want.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ronald Delarm

Iowa

Reviewed on 2000-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha XS750D view listing

4.0
It's a good bike but needs more vibration free material used on engine components. Otherwise this bike overall is of excellent quality, and definitely a keeper ! One more thing, how could you go wrong with dual front brakes.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Seiler

Spokane, Washington

Reviewed on 2000-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha XS400D view listing

3.0
I own one, recieved it for free... It has 13,000 miles original on it... and here's some of the problems. The starter bushing is somehow worn out so the starter squeals loudly upon starting. The starter is also direct drive so it continues to do the same annoying squeal even if you kick start it. Beware of this problem if you are going to buy a bike like this.. The bike handles well, yet my front brakes were a little iffy, they would not release all of their pressure causing a lot of drag. I have had my bike to a flying 105mph, it could do more... But that's good considering 391cc. I believe it makes 30hp. I love everything about this bike, except the exhausts which break down quick, the starter and the brakes, which should be drum brakes, with less drag.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Terre Haute, Indiana

Reviewed on 2000-03-26

Motorcycle reviewed 1977 Yamaha TT500D view listing

5.0
This bike is very powerful. It is an excellent trail bike. The only downside is the weight. Anyone interested in an older powerful bike should consider this bike. Also has no lights, so no electronics to mess with. Good drum brakes. Throws a good rooster.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: