Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave

Orlando, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just bought this bike, and after 10 years she looks and rides like new. These bikes really do hold up very good over the years, was saving up for a Road King...and for less than the down payment I own this bike. The 99 looks just like the 09 so when I ride with my friends this bike looks good next to a new Road Star or Harley. The ride is great, put some new Dunlops (white walls) on her and she just goes like a new bike. The stock seat is just fine for around town....I am going to have it shaped to get me lower and further back.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Russ Moore

Walnut, California

Reviewed on 2003-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like a Big V? Is torque your thing. It doesn't get any better. This was made for stylin' up the mountain passes two-up. Tires require some thought and constant attention to pressure. Great ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mallory

Antioch, California

Reviewed on 2003-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After being with out a bike for 12 years and not knowing what I wanted or costs at the time, I bought a 1997 XV535 Virago straight out of the box...mistake :).....1 month i realized i should have gotten a bigger ride. So after shopping around i settled on a Black 2001 Roadstar Silverado. 2 years later I'm Still in love with her :) She's almost due for her 32,000 mile check-up <30,947 on odometer atm> and I've gone all over without a single hick-up. The only thing I have left that i want to do to her is get a sign made to hang on her in a parking lot that says " Get Over It, It's not a Harley" I LOVE the torgue the Roadstar has STOCK out of the box, I laid rubber on accident for 90 feet 3 hrs after I got it. Less Money and More bang than that other pushrod brand.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard Jalbert

Ottawa, Ontario

Reviewed on 2003-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Nothing is better on the highway nimble easy to handle power there when you need it. I have the 2001 in Silver and Black the only mod is a backrest for myself for those long hauls.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LARRY G.

DAYTON, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-01-21

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
got one-keeping it-sometimes trade off with my brother (harley electra glide) AND I WOULD NOT TRADE HIM EVEN!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary F.

Tinley Park, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-12-25

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A couple of years ago I was in the market for a new motorcycle, after an absence of 20 years riding. Living in Illinois, where most people ride Harley's that was my first choice. That started the progression of trying to find a Harley shop that had or wanted to sell a Superglide at M.S.R.P. After wasting my time being told of $500.00 deposits and a 14 month wait, and $3000.00 premiums, I decided to look at other bike. The criteria, air cooled (no radiator), external pushrods, overhead cams, and belt drive. Then I heard of the Yamaha Roadstar. It met the criteria and some, dual sparkplug heads, double overhead cams, dependability, and excellent fit and finish. I'm happy that HD is so proud of their product, but after 2 years with YRS count me A Star rider for life. P.S. 15,000 miles and no problems, Harley who?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wild Willie

Gorham, Maine

Reviewed on 2002-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well they did it again. First it was the cars, and now you can count on the bikes. This cruiser is a lot of machine for a very modest amount of money. It boasts the latest in tech development with hydraulic clutches,(much appreciated on around town rides) electronic advance, dual discs in the front that actually stop the bike, and a fuel gauge!! What's next? The belt drive put a lot of horsepower in the right place, but I found that the 1600 needs some love to make it a fun ride. She needs pipes, air filter, and jets, and if you can afford the hotz firing system get it. These items make the Yammy brawl. She is a sweet ride with standard features, like foot platforms, that really make this bike a value plus machine that will out perform my first love.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jake

attleboro, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had my silverado for a couple of months now and I am very impressed with the overall apperance and also the power. But I still have to get used to the handling. I had a Shadow 1100 before this bike and I cant get over how much more muscle you need to keep this bike on the road. But if I had a choice I would still pick this bike over any bike I have driven.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

skip sabourin

greenville, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2002-06-28

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have 2 and would not trade them for anything. I have 2 brothers with Harleys and know first hand the problems they have!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randy

Mesa, Arizona

Reviewed on 2002-06-16

Motorcycle reviewed1999 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I also have a Yamaha Roadstar Silverado 2001' and love the bike. Harley has just gone off the scale as far as prices go. I'll put my Star up against any Hog, any day....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: