‚Äč
Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

1999 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

See all

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

Stars Refinement

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

TMAC

Galesburg, Illinois

Reviewed on 2008-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
This is my first bike I've owned, and after riding Harleys that friends and family have, I've got to say this is one of the most comfortable bikes to cruise on. It could use something more on the highway, but overall for everyday use, it can't be beat. I've put over 4,000 miles on it last summer, and have had it out a few times during some warmer winter days. It has great styling, great value, great comfort and is a GREAT BIKE.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TK

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-09-01

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
For a new rider and 1st time buyer this is a great bike. I've owned it for 2 months and have put 1000 miles on it. Starts right up and runs fine. Can run down the hiway at 65 and runs great. People think it's a HD softtail classic and are surprised it's only a 650. It's a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jman

battle creek, Michigan

Reviewed on 2004-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
This is the first bike I've ever owned. I didn't know what to get or even really know how to ride. After looking around and reading reviews I decided on the classic. It's the best move I've ever made. I learned to ride on this bike. It rides perfect and handles well. It could use a little more power but still gets me down the interstate well even at 6ft3in 230lbs. It's a great bike and I would recommend it any day. Thanks Yamaha!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ALEXIS

SHREVEPORT, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2003-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

4.0
The best thing about this bike is the nice ride it gives at an impressively affordable price. Its large enough for most men and women to cut through the wind on an interstate. The seat is at a perfect height for me @ (5'8") in fact thats one of the things that caught my attention in addition to the great looks, when I had mounted it the first time, it felt wonderful, like a nice pair of comfortable glove. The horse power as you throtel through straightaways and on corner bends are quite sufficient for a 650CC. It does have room for improvements but minor, in areas of re-distributing the weight to the rear more. But other than that. Hey, I love it. Its just "right" for me.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
I bought my yamaha V-star 650 classic just four months ago and have already put double mileage on it. I bought it with 5600 miles and now it's at 11000. This is a great bike to have at a good price. I read all the other reviews above and I'm happy to see I'm not the only one who gets people thinking I'm on a HD. Only thing I'm going to change on it is the pipes because I want the deaper sound.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Cook

Byron, Illinois

Reviewed on 2003-04-22

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
I own a 1999 vstar classic. Have 21000 trouble free miles and have rode all over the country two up saddle bags and tbag packed and easily cuise 70 mph with no problems. Only retro is rejetting and cobra pipes for improved performance. I can say enough about the ride, performance, and handling for this mid size cruiser. The wife and I love this motorcycle.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wild Bill

Yuba City, California

Reviewed on 2003-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
I was going to buy a Harley 883, but after reading some reviews, and talking to some friends that owned them (Harley's) and sold them, I decided NOT! I baught a friends 1999 v-star 650 classic. It only had 2900 miles and showroom new. I had read all the reviews on this bike, on this site and all most all were good. Well, they were right, this is a great little 650 that does it all.I could'nt believe how well it did two up, for a 650. As for all the people who said it needed a 6th gear, for what? this thing loves to rev, and at 55 or 65 the rev's are fine and smooth too! If you have ridden a 650 or 750 of any kind, and a 5 speed this is normal.This little 650 will blow away any stock 883 harley!, and it will not brake down like a harley.Yamaha has done a great job on this mid-level cruser,after all it was bike of the year its first year out!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gordong11

Joizey USA

Reviewed on 2001-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
I just got a used 1999 V-Star classic with 6000 miles. I chose wisely! This bike is much better than I ever thought it would ever be, not to mention the personality of the bike is fitting to anyone that has a passion for a solid cruiser. I was considering a Buell Blast, which I think is a good bike, rode nice and has an unbeatable trade-in policy. I underpaid for the v-star at $3800.00, with a Mustang seat w/ backrest, saddlebags, windshield, extra chrome lights, and much more extras. I put about 300 miles on it, my first week of riding a bike. I just can't stop riding! Anyone thinking of getting this bike, should, especially for a first bike. Peace
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JEFFREY BROWN

Akron, Ohio

Reviewed on 2001-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
I've been riding bikes for 15 years. Started out on an old 70's something custom Honda that was absolutely beautiful, but had electrical problems too numerous to mention. Next I picked up an 83 Honda Shadow 750. That bike just kept going and going and going. I think I had maybe 3 or 4 tune-ups in the 13 years I owned that bike. Finally decided I needed to upgrade to something bigger and badder. I searched for months trying to find the right combination of bike, price, features, looks, power.... Everywhere I looked I kept seeing one awesome and gorgeous bike. Each time I'd ask what it was....I'd here, "v-star classic, it's a 650". Good grief, I couldn't go smaller after years on a 750 I had to go bigger, didn't I? Apparently, I didn't have to go bigger. Salesman told me, "take it for a ride, you might be surprised by the power and the ride"... Surprised doesn't quite cover it...perhaps tickled pink would be a better description. Needless to say I bought that bee - a - you -tee - full motorcylce and have been thrilled with it ever since. Everyone thinks it's a bigger bike than it is...most say 1100 to 1300, I'm almost embarrassed to tell them the truth...ugh! bottom line, fantastic bike at an unbeatable price!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ed

USA

Reviewed on 2001-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed 1999 Yamaha V Star Classic view listing

5.0
This is the first motorcycle I've owned. How do I like it? What does 12,000 miles in 18 months say? I just do the preventive maintenance and ride it. At slightly better than 50MPG it passes by a lot of gas stations. Riding single it performs well but with a passenger (total wt. about 375#)it seems a under powered. A lot of people think it is an 1100cc or bigger and the rest think it's a Harley. The low seat height makes it a great ladies bike or a short legged man's bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: