Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
5.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

24 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bob

Burlington, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2008-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a deal! Six years ago, I was on my way to see a Harley Softail Heritage Classic and pulled into my Yamaha dealer first. I'm glad I did. I got soooo much more bike for the money. The reliability has been the best I've ever had (been riding over 30 years). It's been ridden to VT, TN, FL and I can sit in the stock seat all day long. The stock tires lasted 20k miles! This is the best bike I ever owned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Leneave

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The opening title says it all. I have a '01 roadstar silverado, I purchased used. I got it for a great price and can't say enough good things about this bike. Having owned 3 harley's in the past (sportster, and 2 old shovelheads) I can honestly say I have no regrets of buying this bike. I have owned it for 3 weeks now and have put over 1500 miles on it, all pretty much weekend riding so far with an after work ride on occasion and haven't had a single problem. Only problem so far is finding the time to ride. I plan on going to sturgis this year (1800 miles one way) and I'm not trailering!!!! Bottom line is if you want a great looking, powerful, good sounding, comfortable and dependable bike look no farther than a roadstar silverado. As for sound, if you want it loud they make pipes for it... if you want it quiet keep it stock. I have to laugh after owning Harley's in the past I haven't been drowned out by a louder bike yet. So far I have set off 2 car alarm's (to my knowledge) not trying to. The looks I get are great and I love this bike. You can't go wrong with this choice, I found out the hard way thinking harley made the only bike I would ever need. So if your ego is in check by a roadstar, if you worry what the other people will think, well hang your head and buy the H-D. Just hope it's the right model or year for whomever you're wanting to impress. I on the other hand am happy as can be with my Silverado.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anthony Pretti

Saugus, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Road Star is one of the most beautiful production motorcycles I have seen. The comfort level is amazing. I like to get away from the rat race once in a while. I ride from 150 to 450 miles in one day. I have never been disappointed in the comfort and reliability of this bike. I think the windshield is a must for touring and the saddlebags are adequate for short trips. I have replaced them with larger bags, but the OEM bags were the best fit for the Road Star Style.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Hislop

Gilmanton, New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2002-11-12

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a black 2001 1600 Roadstarlast spring in Rochester N,H, and i put 5700 mi,s on. I think it cost about half what the Harley does; No one riding a harley has ever tryed to overtake me; I don;t know for sure why but i do know it has a wicked 4th gear I think it;s a great ride....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rich

Veneta, Oregon

Reviewed on 2002-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my Star two summers now,about 9,000mi. Added a set of V&H long shots,for sound and power.A K&N air filter,better air flow. And the proper jets, to pull it all together. haven't had it on a Dyno for the read out. But the performance increase, over stock, is well worth the cost. It's just short of Yamaha's stage one kit. It's plenty powerful, and really looks sharp. It's a bike that can be easily customized, and the price is right.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Rousseau

Coon Rapids, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2002-05-10

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is a great overall bike. The Finish is great, and at 43, the looks I get are not for me. The accessories that came with the bike are excellent, and a great value. I traded for the Royal Star back rest, which is about 4 inches higher, so my wife could ride more comfortably. After about 2300 miles I started to see a small oil leak at the bottom of one of the cylinders. When I brought it in to have them look at it, they were very surprised because they hardly have any problems. The leak is slight, and there is no dripping. I bought the extended warranty though, so it should be taken care of. The seat is not as comfortable as I would have hoped. My '77 LTD 1000 has better excelleration. But if had had to buy another bike, I would still buy this one. The power and rumble of the stock pipes is nice, yet it is nice and quiet down the road. I like hearing just the wind rushing by me ears. Yamaha did well with this one.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Chimera

Seneca Falls, New York

Reviewed on 2002-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
THIS IS BY FAR THE NICEST BIKE I HAVE OWNED.HAVE OWNED HONDA,KAWASAKI,AND YAMAHA.YAMAHA HAS HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD WHEN THEY MADE THIS BIKE.LOOKS,STYLING,CLASS,AND HANDLING MAKE THIS THE BEST BIKE FOR THE MONEY!HAVE HAD LOTS OF PEOPLE THINK IT WAS A HARLEY WHEN THEY FIRST SAW IT,BUT THEN THEY SEE IT'S A YAMAHA AND ARE IMPRESSED.ONE GUY SAYS IT DOESN'T SOUND LIKE A HARLEY,BUT WHY PAY MORE $ FOR SOUND.I RECOMMEND THIS BIKE TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A COMFORTABLE CRUISER WITH ALL THE POWER THEY'LL EVER NEED.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Footpegs

Wellsville, Kansas

Reviewed on 2002-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 99 Silverado about 3 years ago, when they first come out, and have had absolutly no problems. I love it, best bike ever, in 45 years of riding. I recently installed a K&N unrev limiter that allow's it to rev to 5000rpm, and in addition to my Vance and Hines Long shots, and jet kit, You can't believe the extra power it makes!Love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Smokey

P'cola

Reviewed on 2001-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had my 2001 Silverado for over a year now & it has never let me down in style, ride,or comfort. 2 trips to the smokies, this bike is a dream. I've added Cobra pipes,custom air filter cover,and a back rest.(Gittin' old ya know) As for the squeeky headlight I hear so much about, take the front of the headlight apart and look at the 2 adjustment screws. At the end of these is a small piece of nylon contacting the interior of the headlight housing. Put some cable lube at the little nylon pieces and wiggle around a little to get the lube between the nylon & the headlight housing. It takes very little lube to do the job. This cured my squeek & I hope it helps everyone else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry

Banning, California

Reviewed on 2001-11-05

Motorcycle reviewed2001 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased a new-to-me '01 Silverado with only 1925 miles on it. A friend has one and after he added Vance & Hines pipes, it reminded me of my Harley (a Dyna Wide Glide, which I still have). With typical H-D snobbery I viewed his bike as a wanna-be without much value on it's own. Well, my Dyna, after two years of riding has 70k miles. I thought I'd better get a second bike so the Harley will last. Now we get to the Yamaha part. I rode the bike home after my purchase and was not prepared for the power and smoothness of this ride. I looked down and I was doing 90 on the freeway. Oops! Here's my current assessment: the clutch is smoother and easier on the hand, the tranny is wider- and better-spaced, the horn sounds like a horn should, the cornering is direct and stable, and the gas mileage is awesome: between 45 and 50 mpg. On the down side, there are rattles that are a bit unnerving. And yes, the headlight squeaks. But the two-tone paint job is outrageous and seems to change from maroon to a glittering red in the sunlight. Riding two up doesn't seem to change the handling very much. Altogether a wonderful bike. Anyone have a fix for the headlight?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 24 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: