Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bike reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dirt Bikes

Reviews

9 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

KJ

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2010-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A very nice bike. Awesome for the trails. A little heavier than my XR200 but is also a little faster. Only thing is that it doesn't have a kickstart.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

nick knight

palmer U.P. BABY, Michigan

Reviewed on 2005-03-28

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my bike since 2001 when I bought it new. I live in the U.P. of Michigan and have been riding about 30 years. I love the bike. I have entered it in a cross/country every year and did quite well for an old geezer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob F

Birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2003-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this for myself six months ago when I bought TTR 90's for my kids. I haven't been on a bike in nearly 20 years. It's been a lot of fun, but I'm ready to move up now. This would be a good bike for anyone who isn't sure how much of a commitment they want to make. You can easily move, keep it or give it up from here.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BB

Goldsboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2003-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Outstanding bike for the money. Just began riding again after a 20 yr lay off. Bought one for me and my 15 yr old son. No regrets - it's a perfect beginners trail bike. Electric start is a God send for beginners! Only drawback is it's a bit heavy and slightly lacking in low end torque. Nice top end speed though.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Kletecka

West Deundee, Illinois

Reviewed on 2002-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had my bike for about one year and I ride it alot. Recently I went trail ridng at Monroe, WI with some buddies on four wheelers,a 300ex,400ex and a raptor. No one could get in front of me except the raptor. This is a very fast bike. The only things I don't like about it is the weight and the rear drum brake. It is great for enduro riding because it is great on gas. This is a great trail bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andrew D.

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2002-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike without doing any research and lucked out. This bike is perfect for the recreational rider on a budget. The Yamaha blue is absolutely beautiful. I liked the front disc brake and disliked the back drum brake(they felt mushy). This was my first dirt bike with an electric starter. Once you go electric it's almost impossible to go back. The only thing that surprised me was the lack of of tourque. However, it maybe unfare to rate this do to the 6,400 feet elevation I live at. I just didn't get that, "hang on tight, because we're going for a ride" feeling! I heard you loose 3% of your horsepower for ever 1,000 ft you go up in elevation. However, to ride a motorcycle is a thrill and this bike helped make it possible. Most high quality mountain bikes retail for the same price as this bike, yet they don't have motors.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan

clinton towship, Michigan

Reviewed on 2002-07-26

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
wow this is a great bike. Its fast and comfortable. just dont start to let the bike lean to far or ull drop it like i did. great bike for a 14 year old like me its a great trail bike and i kicked my freinds butt in a race he has a yz 80 so its a great bike. Me and my buddy on his yz 80 went riding in london kentucky we came to a hill it was huge i went up no problem he stalled and fell down the hill and the bike landed on him he broke his wrist. That shows how great of a bike this is it moves with ease
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C Jacobs

Spokane, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I agree with the previous writer that this is a great bike. The last bike I owned prior to this one was a 1975 vintage motorcycle....what a differance technology makes. The TTR 225 has very good balance, good handling, and plenty of power, and it is relatively light. I looked at all the other major brands, and feel that this is the best value for the money. For a beginner to intermediate rider, that wants to ride trails and keep up with the kids, this is the ideal machine. If you are looking for a race bike, get a YZ.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott G.

Fallston, Maryland

Reviewed on 2002-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently purchased one new and absolutely love it. I would have to follow that with...for the right application. I enjoy trail riding with some descent jumps, stream crossings, and hill climbs. I am a beginner/intermediate level rider weighing about 175 lbs and find that this bike is a great bike to learn on. I keep up with 4wheelers very well unless deep mud is involved. Low maintenance so far and reliable (gotta love electric start)! Highly recommend one but make sure you evaluate your application, it is not a race (2-stroke) rocket but a very tame (four-wheeler feel) machine with plenty of power. Still a very respectable bike. If you are experienced, go for the 250 but stick with the TTR line...lots for the money!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 9 of 9 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: