Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruiser reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.7
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bad Boy

Savanaha, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Best all around motorcycle I have ever owned and I have owned a lot of motorcycles even larger. With 69,000 miles it still runs like the day it was new and as smooth as can be and I cruise the highways two up at 85 MPH plus. Except for general maintenance and regular tune-ups I have not had to replace anything and this honey starts with the touch of button and awesome to ride anywhere. This is one of the most under rated motorcycles to most people and I wouldn't be shocked if this motorcycle gets 200,000 plus miles. It might not be the fastest quarter mile bike but very reliable and the babes love it, I call it the babe magnet without question and great on gas 55 MPG Plus. Very light weight at 484 LBS. dry, very easy to handle and a pleasure to drive 500 plus mile per days with the Mustang seat. You can never go wrong buying one of these Yamaha V Star Customs they are built to last and a complete joy to drive anywhere, pure fun and joy that I will treasure always, thanks Yamaha!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Frank Carrillo

Eunice, New Mexico, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2004-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't know what I did to my bike to make it run as good as it does but it does go. I read other reviews and people aren't extremely pleased with it but I am happy with mine. Some people also say that they can only do 90-95 miles an hour but my V-Star will run 105. But the bike has great ergos and is comfortable for miles and miles. The only complaint I have about it is that the pegs hit the ground rather quick when I lean it hard into a corner. It is also very pleasing to onlookers because of the color I chose which was deep purple and it makes heads turn, I get a lot of request from girls about giving them rides and the passenger seat has seen plenty of passengers. The only thing I have changed to my bike was the air filter and that was all. It now breathes more freely thanks to a K&N. It also looks great in the sun and going down the highway and when I want it to it will light up the rear tire with the flick of my wrist. It would be a great first bike for anyone who wants to get into this sport and learn.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck Demos

Prospect, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2003-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had 4or 5 other bikes all diff. brands. This is a great bike just big enough for cruising, on those great back roads, or a trip to the store. The only thing I had done was changed the exhaust and had the carb.jetted. That made a HUGE differnce in performance. I would buy another in a heart beat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lesley

Omaha, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2003-05-05

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased through private owner very few miles. This is a great ladies bike, I stand 5'3, feet flat on ground. Very well balanced, great handling on curves and comfortable for the longer trips. Averaging 48 to 51 miles per gallon. Very Happy w/bike
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

b. mccutcheon

salem, Indiana

Reviewed on 2003-03-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 10 years of riding Harleys switched to the star. I loved my Harleys but for the money I saved and the performance of this bike I will never go back. Have received many compliments of bikes appearance and it will cruise all day with the bigger bikes. Smooth comfortable and alot of fun
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chef D

Albuquerque, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2002-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is really a great bike and super buy for the person who has just learned how to ride and wants a cruiser. I put some shorter cruiser style mirrors on mine which helps cut down on above 60+ vibrations. All and all you can ride the heck out of this bike and don't be afraid to punch it out over 70 miles per hour. I have already taken it on some 6-8 hour cruises with no problems. This bike runs better after you ride the hell out of it for a few months.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gary Leong

Shawnee, Kansas

Reviewed on 2002-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Got my V Star 650 custom July 12. No real complains at all except if I had more money, I would have bought a V Star 1100. Getting a windshield soon so that I can cruise the interstate. Highly recommended for low budget riders. Gear up and ride safe!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Landus Dutton

Harrison, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2002-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just purchased my 1100 custom in May and have 1900 miles on it to date. I can't find hardly any flaws with this bike, the worst thing I have found is that after 200 miles the seat gets uncomfortable. Other than that it runs well ,corners well,and looks totally great! I liked it so well i bought my wife a 650 custom a month later.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lorie Gurecki

Allentown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2002-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've had my custom for about 2 1/2 months. Almost 2000 miles. Rides great but vibrates at 60 mph+. Unpleasant for long rides. Great on back roads. Highly recommended first bike. Very easy to handle.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jackhammer

Ewing, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-07-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Had my custom just under 4 months. 5,900 miles later I still love it! PROS: *Great handling *Awsome looking *My vote for best bike for beginners *Lots of aftermarket parts available *Large fuel capacity *Shaft drive *Excellent value CONS: *Constantly looking for that elusive "6th gear" *Bad vibration at 60mph in 5th gear (I'm not sure this is a problem with all of them. If anyone else has it please let me know.) *Stock seat is uncomfortable and not interchangeable between the Custom and the Classic.(What's up with that??) *Liquid cooling would be nice *Why can you buy a cars in 1,000 different colors but only 2 for motorcycles?
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: