Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

JB

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2012-04-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Run after run...this '02 R1 still holds its own extremely well. It's seen later R1's, ZX's, GSX's come and go that still haven't surpassed its unbelievable low/mid range torque. Some prefer coffee in the morning for a kick, but this machine offers one screaming intense rush of adrenaline, all while maintaining a civil posture on the road. This much low-end power, combined with the near 600 class size frame and generous mid-range, is well suited to stay out front of the pack long enough to make the others feel silly, staring at your backside and giving it everything they have to catch up. Only those that have owned one and truly put it to the test can understand how unique this set-up really is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas Sharp

Stockton, California

Reviewed on 2003-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my YZF-R1 from Apex Honda Yamaha on August 1, 2002; it is exactly one year later and the bike is still impressing me. I have taken it to several trackdays and have put numerous miles on it on the street. I did put a Scott's steering stabilizer on it to help calm the front end down; especially when accelerating hard and a Yoshimura RS-1 Slip-on pipe, but other than that everything else I put on it is just to dress it up (windscreen, grips,frame sliders, ect...)But it is holding up just great. I just hada major service done including the valve adjustment and it really didnt need much at all. It has been a GREAT bike and I HIGHLY reccommend it to anyone looking for a supersport motorcycle!! I LOVE IT!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

MR.YES

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2002-12-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok, of course i love the ducati's, but your statements are way too biased. Obviously you must own a ducti or else it would not be so, because face it, if you do not own a ducati, you cannot ride it every day and preach of it to the heavens. As the previous responder stated an R1 is of course not a Ducati, and a Ducati is of course not an R1, each have pros and cons, but with your regards to the R1 ripping off ducatis style...what the hell are you thinking??? They look nothing alike, the ducati's frame is all together way different, using a post and not a more traditional style like the R1, the ducati also has way less going on on the side fairings, they are basically sheets on the side of the bike yet the R1 has a rather large intake smack dab in the middle if the side. Ok, now for the rear end of the bike, Ducati uses a more blunt end to the tail section, with square tail lights, where as the R1 ha round lights, and a very pointy ended rear section. And now my biggest point to the looks being not similar at all, the Ducatis have a very flat nose, with two slits for lights, very stylish, and then waaaaaaaaaaaaay on the other side of styling is the R1's nose, still incredibly stylish, but reeeaaaally pointy at the nose, and has two jackalantern eyes in the front which i also like. OH WAIT! i forgot to mention the whole exhaust system! As you can clearly see the R1 has a big muffler hanging off the side, very tradtional, then the Ducati again on the other side of the spectrum has an under-seat, twisty pipe system, both stock...And so i conclude my reasoning on why you are completley wrong, although opinions are not right or wrong, i think yours has a major flaw, go take that R1 for another spin, and rev the crap out of it while u ride it, keep those RPM's up (unlike on the Ducati), and gogogo, because thats all this little puppy knows how to do!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Edmister

Yorktown, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-11-03

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Of course the R1 in not a Ducati, but a Ducati is no R1 either. You said that the bike was "too wiggly" for you? Doesn't handle like you expected? The reson may be that you are not a performance rider, but a weekend fun seeker. If you knew anything about the R1 it is that it's the most agile handling powerbike around. You seem pretty biased with your "Jap Bike" comment. What does that have to do with anything? I suggest you learn to drive a bike to it's limits before you make a negative comment about a bike you are too scared to ride in the 1st place!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alberto Carreon

New York, New York

Reviewed on 2002-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
First time I saw the R1, I thought it was a complete 916 rip off, but after riding my buddies the other day, I know for sure that it is no Ducati. Very wiggly and fidgety, maybe has too much power for its frame. Handling is the most important thing on a bike, and in truth, most of the jap bikes I've ridden just can't cut it.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
3.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Edmister

Yorktown, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I carefully researched all the competition before selecting the 2002 R1. After 3 months of ownership I don't have one single regret. As far as performance, nothing has managed to stay out of my rear view mirrors! The bike pulls smoothly at all RPM ranges. It's nice to pull out with the front tire 12" off the ground with so little effort. Even better, it's stable as ever off the line, through deep corners, and under serious braking. Why do you think they call it "The One"? If you are concerned about the 10 horsepower difference between the Suzuki then spend $350.00 for the RAM AIR modification and then the Suzuki has no claims left to boast on!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

M Collins

Norfolk, Virginia

Reviewed on 2002-07-31

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best bike I ever road. Nothing I have been on compares over all. Great power and the looks.... I get stopped everytime I ride about how hot it looks (sliver one anyway). Every body wants one even the GSXR riders have to stop and take notice. It may be a few hp short of the GSXR at the top end but will eat it alive in a corner or off the line. The front tire does love to come up on you (not recomended for beginners) Dispite the rear seat the bike really is made for one. You have to really want to ride to sit back there for long.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd

Worcester , Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got back from a rip around the mountains around here. This bike rocks. 2nd gear wheelies. The suspensions is rougher than my R6 was but it is what it is. NOW im just waiting for my mig high mount pipe and a ohlins steering damper. Buy what u like. If u like the gixxer buy it if u like this buy it. All liter bikes this year are good. Take care all safe riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Smith

Auckland, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Reviewed on 2002-05-27

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well 2000 K's and having great fun, just one thing to look out for is stone damage to the radiator. I was out for a ride with a group of bikes at the weekend and had a stone crack the radiator, not a major I stop the leak by crimping the crack pipe. If you ride close to other bikes then I would recommend fitting some type of screen protection over the rad. My last bike was an FZ1 Fazer, also a great bike and for 18,000 K's nothing to do apart from replace tyres oh it came with a screen over the rad. The 208's on the R1 are very good, I have had one track day and fast rides in the wet on them with no real problems. I will change to Rennsports after these as they are the better tyre for the track and fast riding in the dry. In a staight line the new R1 is much faster than the old one, corners depends on you but the handling is very good even on standard settings.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd

Worcester , Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok i have reviewed this bike before. I have now had the bike for 2 weeks and i have just about broken it in. (545 miles) I have given the bike 5 stars because i am in love with the bike. The bike is not perfect but it gets 5 stars because it is so bad ass and looks so nice. ( bike gets looks everywhere i go, even compliments from harley dudes! the silver one anyhow) NOW for the truth. Compared to my 99 R6 it is a torture rack. Feet want to slip off the pegs because of the position of them. Seat is good as good as R6 but the ergos are not for touring. I will still ride to Canada this year but it will be a bit more painful. I miss the growl of the R6 when i lifted the front wheel. The R1 does not do this... because it takes nothing to lift. I am not complaining because i bought a repliracer, not a tourer. I expected this, i was just a little spoiled with the comfy R6. ( those of you who have never been on the R6 but have heard it is a pain... its not, not the 99 anyway and NOT compared to the 02 R1) Still gets 5 stars. Cant wait til next year to see what im gonna buy!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: