Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2002 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Patrick

United States

Reviewed on 2007-04-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am 17 140 pounds, and I just bought a 2002 Yamaha blue R6. It's great! It's got plenty of power and its handling is great. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone who finds one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kyle

Northern Illinois, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I wanted to share with everyone my enthusiasm and new love for my red/black 2002 R6. For those looking for their first bike, I highly suggest the R6. Although the comfort isn't the greatest, its an amazing machine that is useable for all experience levels if you have the right head about you. Once you hit that 7000, 8000 rpm range it wants to go...really quick. It is so easy to change from a low speed limit in town to hitting it at 65 out of town. don't be afraid to look at sportbikes for your first love, they may seem intimidating (I know my R6 scared the crap out of me the first time I looked at it) but they are truly forgiving with the capable rider. I do however recommend taking your state certified rider course to get your license; I wouldn't be riding a bike without it. Be careful of the turning radius on the R6 though; you may think you can turn it around in the driveway, but you can't (as I found out). Take that extra time to go straight in and back it out when you need too. The worst thing about dropping your bike isn't the scratch but the ruined psyche. Look to buy at a dealership; you never know what the private seller has done to the bike, but the dealer will thoroughly look it over before taking it in. Best of luck!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
1.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bernard Tucker

St. Louis, Missouri

Reviewed on 2003-11-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Red '02 new in April '03 and am very proud of my decision. This is my first bike and it gets a lot of attention. This bike really moves when you want it to move and loves the corners. It handles like it's on rails and wants to lean more than you would need it to. I've found it to be very forgiving eventhough it has a lot of power for its class.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

AARON KAKEBEEN

HOLLISTER, California

Reviewed on 2003-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I HAVE BEEN FORTUNATE ENOUGH TO RIDE JUST ABOUT EVERY 600 OUT THERE AND I haven't RIDDEN ONE YET THAT FEELS AS GOOD AS MY 6. I LOVE MY 6 AND WOULD ADVISE ANYONE TO CHECKEM OUT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brent

Loveland, , Colorado

Reviewed on 2003-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently upgraded from a '96 Suzuki Bandit to this bike. I had been searching for a 600-class sportbike for some time when I found a "New" 2002 Red R6 at a dealer!!! What a surprise -- here it is end of 2003 and there it sat -- 100 miles, full factory warranty AND eligible for Yamaha's financing promotions!!! I test drove it and fell in love. Since then I have ridden up a couple of canyons here in Colorado, and the handling on it is incredible. I am still in the "break in" period so I haven't pushed beyond 8,000, so I'm yet to see what she can really do. My advice -- if you can find one like this -- GET IT!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

rocket

mechanicsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2003-02-14

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
this is the second time i bought a yamaha sportbike the first was a fzr600 back in 89 and now the 02 yzf r-6 what a change the bike is just such a joy to ride and ride it i have 21000 miles since the date of purchase march 2002 this is the best bike i have owned keep up the good work Yamaha you guys rule!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dizzy devil

hackensak, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-10-15

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
late summer this year, me and my compadre(r6) took a nasty spill and were able to walk away from it with mild injuries. Amazingly thru it all she's rideable and im alive and able to walk and talk about it. I dont know much about other bikes and how much confidence they actually provide even in the toughest of situaions, all I know is I will always have an (r6) no matter how big my collection of toys may get. Next year by January 2003, I will officially have airbrushed my daughters face on the windscreen of my R6 as a token of my appreciation of being given the chance to tuck her in one for many more nights. p.s: Check us out at the Jacob Javits Centre in January 2003 alongside the pit stop display/ or just email us.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Deemon

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2002-06-01

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding this bike now for about 2 months and it just keeps getting better and better. The ride is silky and handeling is amazingly light. This bike just wants to be ridden hard!! This bike pulls increadibly hard from 10 000 RPM and up leaving your buddies in the dust. However, this bike is not for pussies!!! The longer you ride, the harder it is on your back and wrists. Who cares though!!! Just a small sacrifice for a wicked bike. If you want comfort go with the F4i..... if you want real performance go with the R6!!!! onemore thing.... the factory pipe is so damn quiet.... my new Yoshimura slip on gives it that distinctive bark!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DIZASTA

HACKENSACK, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2002-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 2002 YZF-R6 is the best toy I have ever owned. Straight out the crate, with no modifications as of yet, I cherish it's raw power & handling. On our first ride out together, I could not help but to lay all the way down on the gas tank and roll the throttle all the way back by the time I was in fifth. sixth, well thats a whole other story. The only regret I have so far is that I live on the north-east and it's the middle of march "the weather sucks." I am however looking forward to a great summer, sunshine and open roads. THANK YOU YAMAHA. Good job.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Scherer

Boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2002-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2002 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Although November is not a good time in Boston to ride a new bike, I couldn't help but to take it out and ride it when I picked it up. I have to admit....I was apprehensive regarding the aggressive nature of the R6 in comparison to the Katana I had before, but after riding it for an hour I felt I had been on it for over a year. It is more comfortable than it looks and steers pleasantly(once you get moving....tight turns can make you curse). The engine performance is outstanding, providing an adrenaline rush that makes me look for the next opportunity to hit it again. The looks are sexy and the bike is dependable. I have never been so content with a toy purchase....can't wait for it to warm up a bit!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: