Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 motorcycles

Reviews

523 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Ron Forneris

Vancouver, Wa.

Reviewed on 2018-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've been riding almost 60 years and owned everything from a Honda 50 to a Gold Wing and several Harley Ultras..... This thing is like a two-wheeled car......too big, too heavy and too ponderous in traffic. Look for something less.......
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (14)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gregory T Pettit

West Virginia

Reviewed on 2022-06-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.5
The 650 Vstar is a wonderful bike. It gets 50 mpg, and is geared for commuting, or hilly twisty back roads. If you want to ride the interstate roads, this bike will do it, but you will want another gear for sure. It's handling is very tame and predictable. It does everything well, and super reliable. For sure it's a basic air cooled, carburated engine, but simplicity is good when you just want to fire it up and ride!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

derrick"DirtyShu"Shuman

Arkansas

Reviewed on 2022-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha XV1600 Roadster Anniversary Silverado Limited Edition

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Went from a 2006 v star 650 custom Bobber 2001 500cc bullet blast and a 2016 ktm390 and 1994 gxr 500 sold them all in the same week traded a guy the bobber str8 across he couldn't get it running right it had set for 10 years only had 8,000miles took me few days she fired up andnow it's got 14,000 miles haven't had any issues other than basic tune up things I got number 0354 of the 1600 I could never down size now I love it rides smooth sounds good and has lots of cosmetic potential or it still looks good stock
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Henry Malet

Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2021-04-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Roadstar

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own the 2003 yamaha roadstar silver edition. I own #108 out of 1600 that were built. The bike is comfortable for a stock machine. Reliable and is absolutly a head turner. I would put this up against any fatboy. My next add on is going to be a wind fairing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bumble Bee

Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2020-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

4.3
Bought New in 2004 and have 25K up through 2020. Have done many 14 hour days - would do 24 but can not stay awake that long - have gently put the pegs on the pavement @ 90 mph in the rain - no issues - great handling - took 3 years to adjust the suspension - lots of settings - all manual - to many different surfaces and tire combinations to ever get it "right" - Original tires were dangerous. Major dislike, engine buzz on highway (rpm too high), engine has no working effort on piston pins unless accelerating - partially corrected with 16/39 gearing changes to reduce rpm in top gear, but transmission in my 1967 RD250 6 speed had it correct - pure magic - FZ1 builders should have honored those who did it correct in 67 with 5th & 6th as double overdrive, 1st as a creeper gear (Fz 1st gear would be a good 2nd gear, and the Fz 6th gear would be better 4th gear, and with the flat torque curve in this motor - they should have changed it up from the R1 - can you tell the gear choice is a little off and that I miss the 1st creeper gear and the double overdrive - my 73 Z1 had a better stock gear box with only 5 gears - but that motor was built so it had more rpm (13K) than the FZ1. Overall, I wanted to replace my custom 1973 Z1 - and this 2003 FZ1 has done the trick for 16 years and I still do not want to part from it - it just ticks too many boxes. Now that I'm 65, I still plan to ride it for another 16 years, and from all expectations, this bike will still be good for another 25K in 2036. Should you buy one - Yes, BUT only if you know how to control your speed and enjoy the ride - be safe.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Stephens

Kitchener, Ontario

Reviewed on 2014-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike has been reliable since June, 2011. My upgrades are grips, passenger floorboards and a top rack.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terry Tupps

Crestline, Ohio, Ohio

Reviewed on 2013-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star Silverado SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2003 Road Star Silverado Silver Edition in October of 2011. I rode it all of 2012 and I will tell you this is the nicest bike I have been on to date. It has loads of power, even two up, and I am a big guy. I love the look, feel, way it handles and the power is amazing. I bought it with 7,000 miles and the 2,000 I put on it was a joy. I putting on passenger floorboards for the lady, Baron Highway bars with pegs for me and looking forward to another season. It's a great bike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert Wagner

Sand Springs, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2012-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine in December of 2011 from a local dealer with 23,500 miles on it. I have right at 27K on it now and could not be happier with my choice. I love it overall, but that seat gets uncomfortable on long rides after several hours.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Toledo, Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike gives me the style, comfort and power I need. The stock exhaust are terrible sounding. I put a set of COBRA pipes on it and it sounds like a true bagger. I've ridden Suzuki, Hyosung, Harley, Honda and United Motors. This bike is better than them all. I love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Quinn

Marion, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2012-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Road Star Silver Edition

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had #31 of 1,600 for about eight months now and I am very pleased with the bike. It was completely stock when I purchased it and it still is. Why mess with perfection? I was looking for a Harley RoadKing when I came across this beautiful bike and it was pretty much a no-brainer. It has better looks, more power and is by far the best value on the road today and for years to come.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • ...
  • 53
  • 1 - 10 of 523 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: