Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha TT-R225 Dirt Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.7
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dirt Bikes

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

cj

jackson, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2006-07-01

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is definately no speed machine, but it will get you there and back with no problems. I am very satisfied with the reliablility. It will pull wheelies in second gear, but you really have to crank the throttle. The speed is fine for me. Overall I love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Todd

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike for beginners to intermediate riders. My son loves it (5'9"; 150lbs) and it works for me. It has a low profile for woods and definitely NO SERIOUS JUMPING. All you need for a weekend warrior in our area. Now I would like to compliment it with a YZ426 for the father/son experience.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Will Hunter

Chesterfield, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have had this bike for about a year, and it has been a joy to ride. This bike has a lot of low end power, but not mid to high power. I think for little kids starting out on this bike need to have a little experience. My bike can go around 80mph on pavement. The only two things I don't really like about my bike is that the suspension is way too soft, and parts are hard to find. Overall if you only ride on trails and fields at high speeds this is the bike for you. Take my advice don't jump it, you will be sorry. Now I am getting a KX250F or RMZ250 next, because the better suspension.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TrailDad

McKinney, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have spent the last two weekends breaking in my new 225. I have never ridden a dirt bike before in my 33 yrs. I love it. I'm not yet comfortable on the MX tracks, but it is a blast on TCCRA trails. I hate to sound like every other poster. But hey, it's the best bang for the buck... now to compliment it with the YFZ450. My son also digs his TT-R90; he loves the mud and trails.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chad

odessa, Missouri

Reviewed on 2004-02-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great trail bike; it has done everything I asked of it with no problems at all. It is not a powerhouse, but has plenty of fun in it. I ride with my brothers (CR125, YZ125) on trails and didn't want or need that much power or money in it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt

Florida, New York

Reviewed on 2004-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The only bike I had ever ridden was an old Honda 90cc, and only for about an hour. I had wanted a TT-R125L for the longest time and went to buy a new one but the dealership wouldn't finance one to me. I saw a used TT-R225 sitting out front and ended up walking away with it. This bike is truly an awesome machine. Its plenty fast, and not too hard to ride. My first day out with it it had just finished raining and all the trails were mud. Considering it was my first time riding... I had only dumped the bike once or twice in the mud, in the 10 hours I rode that day! So it's fairly easy to ride for a midsized person. I would recommend this bike to any first time rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JH

B more, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Good bike, but has a small downfall on the weight factor. It is 230lbs, but the power of it with the 6 speed transmission gets you going fast and easily smooth. For only a little more than the TTR-125 its worth it but you will need strong legs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D

ABILENE, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just got back into riding from a long break. I rode a YZ80 as a kid. I am very happy with my bike. I have ridden some rough stuff things, I should probably of had a WR or YZ but the bike can handle some good riding areas just don't try to jump to high you might not be to happy with the results. If you ride trails and stay off the mx track you will have a blast.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard R.

Moss Point, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2003-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned my 2002 TTR225 for about a year and have had zero maintenance issues. I've had it deep in water twice, once 1/3 up the fuel tank and the other to the bottom of the seat. She gets a little upset but keeps going. The bike will make small doubles ok (less than 10') but it does bottom out with me pretty regularly (6'2", 240lbs). For a non-aggresive rider this is a great bike, but you can outgrow it quickly. No better buy for the dollar.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brett

Waldorf, Maryland

Reviewed on 2003-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha TT-R225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought a new TT-R225 after debating whether or not to purchase a CR250. Yes there is a big difference between the two bikes. I decided on the TT-R and took it for the first ride. For a 4 stroke it had a decent amount of power, handled small moguls resonably and on small jumps the landing was okay. Height is a little lower than I like but the next closest model is a CRF230 and dollar for dollar the TT-R is a better deal and much cheaper. I mainly ride 1-2 times a month trail riding with the family now so this bike is ideal. Maintenace is simple with less wear on a 4 stroke.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: