Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruiser reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

49 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mark

Toledo, Ohio

Reviewed on 2012-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike gives me the style, comfort and power I need. The stock exhaust are terrible sounding. I put a set of COBRA pipes on it and it sounds like a true bagger. I've ridden Suzuki, Hyosung, Harley, Honda and United Motors. This bike is better than them all. I love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Binion

Copperas Cove, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike at age 36, fell in love instantly and don't regret it at all. While I do drive it back and forth to work quite a bit, the majority of the miles have been put on it with my wife on the back. She loves the bike almost as much as I do. The only complaint is the stock seat. If you intend to do any serious long distance riding, invest in a Mustang Seat, it will complete a work of art!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barb Donovan

Champlin , Minnesota

Reviewed on 2007-12-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my license in Sept 2004. My first bike was a 2000 Classic 650. By the end of 2005 I knew I needed more power. I traded to the 2003 Classic 1100. Wow, what a plus. It handles great. It's very comfy. I have put on 7,000 miles of mostly weekend summer rides (MN resident). Love the style of the 2003. I took my first road trip this year; it was perfect - no problems. Winters are very lonely and I can't wait until spring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Arthur Scarr

Anna, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike for a bit and will simply say that it is, for the money, the best cruiser you will find in it's class. Honda has a similar but still heavier version that I feel doesn't compare as far as handling is concerned. If you are looking to commute 'stop-go, stop-go' type traffic as I do, the bike handles incredibly well. If you just want that slow 2 hour ride it's as smooth and easy on your body as I have ridden. The power is there all the time, even when carrying a rider. The bike itself gets a lot of looks and people comment about how nice it is. I have done quite a few addtions to my bike but even as it was off the lot it will get people talking. The seat is the only issue that I could comment about in a negative sense and it would be slight. You need to personalize a seat that will fit you right and this stock with the bike one simply is that - a stock seat. It will never feel perfect like an addition of a Corbin or Mustang made. Overall I am impressed with the cost of maintenance compared to my old Gold Wing and Roadster. Both previous bikes took a small fortune to service and they constantly were having to be worked on. This bike, full service, is about $180.00 every 2000 miles or so and I have not had a repair to do yet.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2006-06-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the used V Star 1100 about 2 weeks ago after not riding for nearly 24 years. (Only rode a Suzuki 450 for about a year). This V Star had 5100 miles, garage kept in mint condition, and with all the upgrades previous owner installed, I couldn't pass it up at a very reasonable price. Took the MSF class and finally took her out for trial runs a few days ago. All I can say is WOW, what a great motorcycle. Ran great, plently of V-Twin power on demand, easy cruising at 60mph in low 5th gear (almost felt like she wanted to run in 4th at that speed). Shifting was very positive, shaft drive smooth as silk, stock seat was good, but would need to be changed for very long rides. Great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

K Wier

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2005-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought it used in August'04, with 9k miles on it. It was very well maintained, and like new. As of October '05, it has 30k. I never a problem, it is very reliable, and runs great. I have the dealer service it every 10k (carb-synch, valve adjust,etc). I do my own oil changes every 4k.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stewart McPherson

lewisville , Texas

Reviewed on 2005-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought mine in Gastonia, N.C. on a Friday, had my 600 mile service on Monday, left for bike week at M.B., SC on Wednesday. The next week, 19 hours to Texas, 10 hours day one, 9 hours day two. I agree with most reviewers that it needs a little more oomph at 70 MPH plus, however the weight is good. The only issues I've had are a costly starter repair at 15,000 miles and at 30,000, sounding weak again. Maybe it's just me, I go through a lot of rear brakes every 3K or so, I keep a spare set in stock. She is my girl and I take her everywhere I can. She is very comfortable, short or long rides. No Regrets. Thanks for space - keep the rubber side down.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stubby

Appleton, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-10-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in July 2005. First bike in 24 years. The prior owner went to a Harley. I love the bike for in town w/momma on the back. I little underpowered on the highway with a passenger. The Vance Hines slip on sound great. May go to a Road Star to haul mommas but around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Durbin

Columbus, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
There's a problem with these reviews. We only ride a few bikes, own fewer, and generally, since we love to cycle, we usually love what we ride. My buddy bought a Suzuki C 50 Boulevard (800 CC) at the same time I bought my Used V Star 1100 Classic. His bike is more confortable to ride, and has a better riding position. But my bike has a Way Better Powerplant, better sound with stock pipes, with much wider power band in each gear. Plenty of power with this baby - but be Warned, it's Rev Limited, so it won't go faster than 105 MPH. It seems to me to have plenty of power, even up into the nineties - feels like you're not really pushing it too hard. Another BIG PLUS on this bike is Two Discs UP FRONT, and ONE in the rear. You'll want, and use all that breaking power. My buddy keeps saying my baby is in the "sweet spot" in the mid-range cruiser market. I think he's about right. This baby is big, but not so big that I'm worried I can't back her up, and manhandle her, when needed, to move around a parking lot. You buy a much bigger bike, you're lookin a a bunch more weight to have to boss around. If you're reading this review, it probably means your looking to buy one used. MY experience, with Yamaha, is they make good bikes that last, it's a great power plant.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Butch Kiles

Mansfield, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had no problems with the bike at all. Great ride and a great value. I would buy it again with no hesitation.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1 - 10 of 49 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: