Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.5
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jeff Stephens

Kitchener, Ontario

Reviewed on 2014-07-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike has been reliable since June, 2011. My upgrades are grips, passenger floorboards and a top rack.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric Groothand

Aiken, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2009-07-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second Yamaha. I previously owned an 82 650 Maxim. I found this one in a line of new bikes and I thought it WAS new. It was in great shape and 3 years later it's still starts first time everytime (with choke on at 1/2 way point) and has never disappointed me. 6th gear would be great but not many, if any had a 6 speed tranny in 03. My only complaint is changing the oil filter. If you wrench your own, plan on at least 45 minutes start to finish. The filter change requires removal of the front exhaust.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JDaddyCo

Longview, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since the V-Star was introduced, my dream bike has been the 650 Classic, mostly because I could afford it. When I saw this used 1100 at the shop where I was about to buy an '06, I fell in love. I came off of a Suzuki 650 and I'm so glad I chose the 1100. It is smooth riding, doesn't scream at me at 75 MPH, and easily carries a passenger. If you can afford the 1100, don't pass it up!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jniles

Perry, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2004-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike has been a blast but it's time to get the Roadie Silverado. The only complaint is the seat, 100 miles and you're done! Rest 15 minutes every 50 miles or so you just to have another break. So, get an aftermarket Mustang seat or a Pacific Coast Star (if they will make one for your ll00) if you plan to keep it awhile. I don't like noise so stock has been perfect. I saw a complaint about not being able to cruise at 80+mph. He must have something wrong with his, as this one will cruise all day at 90 mph and still has more. The tranny is a bit noisy shifting but that is the nature of these beasts. It always starts and always gets you there. It will cruise and stay up with or set the pace for any cruiser or touring bike I know of, but remember my bunch are "old geezers" and we got this way by not doing stupid stuff.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Joe

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-02-16

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
This is a good quality bike, but I made a wrong choice for me. I wavered a while between the V-Star 1100 and the bigger Road star. Dealer talked me into the V-Star and said "it's plenty of bike". Well, if all I wanted to do was bop around town and take 1 to 2 hour slow paced rides, it would be. But that's not what I'm doing. I like to ride all day, and often have to ride on Atlanta highways, where if you don't run 80 mph, you get run over. This bike just won't (or just barely) do this. The Bike is great up to about 60 mph. After that, it vibrates like a son of a gun, and barely makes a level surface speed of 85 totally wound out. And yes, the valves have been adjusted at the dealer with no improvement. Sure, I'm not petite, but it should cruise at 80 with room to spare. Also, the seat will kill your tailbone after an hour or so. If you have any doubt between the two bikes, and you plan to do any longer distance trips, get the bigger Road Star...Wish I did.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Big Joe

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2003-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Brand new ride- Very pleased so far- no surprises. I'm a typical middle-aged guy getting back into the sport after many years off the bikes. Researched the heck out the bike before purchase. Couldn't find a better combo of reliability, style for the price. Engine "taps" as expected, no big deal. Keep saying to myself there is a reason its called "the tapazoid!" Does need throatier pipes. Seems a touch cold natured, have to baby the choke a little to get going. Small wishes- a couple of extra inches back on the seat(I'm a "big" guy). Thought it would ride "bigger" than it does. Seems to beg for a "6th" gear as well at 55-60 mph. May eventually wish I dug up the extra 3 grand for a Road Star for the extra "umph". But still a great intermediate, part- time cruiser for the cash.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ray Seabolt

Meridian, Idaho

Reviewed on 2003-11-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Spent over a year in the Boise area searching for the bike that would give me the most for the money. It has style, comfortable ride, and turns heads without adding anything. I still plan on adding custom pipes later but just enjoying the ride at this time. It has been over 25 years since I had my last bike and this really makes me wonder why I waited so long.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Stewart

Moore, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2003-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a cruisers dream. Handles very well and doesn't ride as heavy as it is. Lots of aftermarket items to choose from. After adding a Bub Big Willy exhaust, Kuryakyn Hypercharger, and rejetting the carbs the bike REALLY opened up. Cosidering the cost, I couldn't be happier.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JT Williams

Springfield, Missouri

Reviewed on 2003-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a female biker, and have been riding for 33 years. This bike is the best bang for your buck that you'll find anywhere. The acceleration, gear shift, handling and braking are all excellent. With the center of balance, perfectly distributed in the middle and the short seat height, it makes it easy at stop signs or swerves to handle the bike. The only things I would add is to have an additional color besides the one (crimson/rootbeer combo), and to put a clock and fuel indicator on it, like the Suzuki's have.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob Arroyo

Atascdero, California

Reviewed on 2003-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I LOVE this bike... I gave it 4 stars only because the Seat wasn't very comfortable. I replaced it with a Mustang Seat and now She's PERFECT... Great Value for an awesome looking bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: