Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Juan Plakio

Seaside, California

Reviewed on 2008-04-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I grew up with Harleys. Everyone in family rode a Harley. Unfortunately I couldn't afford a Harley so I started looking around and got the V-Star 650 this past September and fell in love. It is my first bike and it does everything I want it to. It handles well, is lightweight and easy to move around in. It is a great bike and I would recommend it to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T R Anderson

Billings, Montana

Reviewed on 2005-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
2003 Classic 650. Purchased new in June 2005 from a dealer. First long ride was 950 miles and I was sore. (don't think I'll do an iron butt.) The seat is now broken in and quite comfy. Runs and pulls really well. Two up can be a little doggy going uphill, but hey, it's a 650. Solo, it is a great bike. I'm getting 50mpg around town and 44 on the road at a steady 75mph. It handles great and is quite nimble in the curves. I love the low seat height as it creates a low center of gravity.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Ray

Salt Lake City, Utah

Reviewed on 2004-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Absolutely love this bike. Not knowing whether I would enjoy riding, it would have been hard to spend 15 to 20 thousand on a bike, just to turn around and sell it. Fell in love with riding the first week. The 1100 Classic is good looking, runs great, and is very dependable. I have bought a lot of accessories from the Yamaha catalog. They are good quality, nice fitting parts. Although, they are expensive. The bike is very comfortable. The seat is pretty good for stock. I cannot think of one negative thing about this bike. I expect to ride this bike for about 4 years. (Just have to try out the Harley lifestyle).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Hochradel

Baltimore, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my Classic new, late last June. Love going out on the country/farm roads here in Ohio and putting around. Not much of a freeway rider and in my opinion the 650 isn't really setup for a lot of that anyway. That 5th gear needed to have a little extra range, but that is the only negative I can come up with. Not that they won't run at those speeds and take it. Just that it feels like the RPMs are pushing it. As for me, it's just fine because I don't like the interstate and didn't need a "BIG" bike for the kind of riding I like to do. For boulevards and country roads...she's perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

michael helgoth

liberty, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first cruiser. I originally went with a sport bike, but liked the look and feel of this bike better. I have received lots of compliments on the sound and look of the bike. Definitely a good buy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Morris

Enterprise, Alabama

Reviewed on 2004-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have 17,000 miles and 1 year on this bike. I commute every day an average of 60 miles/day. I should have bought the 1100 for its better highway cruising but the comments I receive from people that see the bike more than make up for the buzzing at 65-70 mph. I'm 6 ft. tall and the bike still doesn't feel like I'm all over it. Crash bars with pegs helps though. The extended warranty may be something to think about. I went with the two-year plan. Good thing, because the drive shaft/differential coupler splines just stripped out two days ago. Off to the shop! Great bike for the money though!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C. Perez

Bedford HIlls , New York

Reviewed on 2004-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got the bike less than a month ago and find myself wanting to ride it all the time. Whether it is down the street or to work. I had a great fear of bikes and took a course to see if I would like it. I love the feeling of the openness of riding. I thought this bike would be too heavy for me, but you get used to the weight very quickly. It has power and turning abilities like a smaller bike. Great first timers bike. See ya on the road!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ryan Brewer

Kettering, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got this beauty, and I love it already. I have only ridden it down the street and back a few times, but it is very smooth, easy to operate, and a dream to ride. Who says cruisers aren't fast? Obviously they were wrong. This bike is solid and stable, and has enough power to roll down the highway at the speed limit around where I live (65mph).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Molosz

Clinton, Utah

Reviewed on 2004-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Plenty of power for myself (intermediate) and my wife (beginner) as a passenger. It's not a bullet bike...it's a cruiser and it performs as such. I highly recommend it for beginners (my wife is 5'4", 130lbs and handles it perfectly with or without me as a passenger as a first time rider). It's a great intermediate bike that many people mistake for a Harley, without the price tag of one. Plenty of upgrades/add-ons available for this machine from Harley sounding pipes, saddlebags, windshields, backrests, hyper chargers, jets for the carbs, highway bars and more.......the sky's the limit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Columbus, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is just a solid character. A cruiser that you don't need a second mortgage to afford. I have had my bike over a year now and still love it. I am a daily rider, I live in Georgia so I can ride it most of the year (and I do). I was only getting 38 MPG, but now that it is broken in, I'm getting 45. With gas prices the way they are, I'm loving it (filled it up for $6 yesterday). You can get parts anywhere. Last week I bought and oil filter from an AUTO PARTS STORE! (not the dealer) I bungee packages to the passenger seat when I have to go to the post office or run errands. I wish it had a little more power, but I think the 650 keeps me safer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: