Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

18 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

alex

lincoln, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2011-05-09

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have aproximately 6,000 miles on my bike on the street and who knows how many on the track, as I disconnect the speedometer on the track. (probably around 1,000+ miles on the track). This bike is great! The acceleration is exactly the same as the R6's of the same years. The only reason I gave it a 4-Star on performance is because I'm comparing the suspension to an R6. The front forks are just a little weak stock for the track. All in all, I ride this bike as a daily driver on the street and race it on the weekends and have had zero problems with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jason

Pottstown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-02-24

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike in the spring of 2003. I had not rode a sportbike for about 12 years. After riding this bike for about 2 days, I decided that I would need more low end speed. I changed the front sprocket (1 down) and the rear sprocket(2 up). Stage 1 jet kit(dynojet). Yosh slip on pipe. Frame slides. Stock tires sucked so I got pirelli diablos. They work fantastic with this bike. My buddy has a 2002 R6(stock). I can take him in any set of twisties. On the straights, he has me a by little in the top end. This bike is definitely more comfortable than the racing bikes. Also can do power up wheelies with ease.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Shane Brisendine

Fort Collins, Colorado

Reviewed on 2004-12-03

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this as my first bike, (ever) having rode a couple dirt bikes, and I found the YZF to fit my needs perfectly. It would roast my friend's '99 CBR600 up to about 4000 RPMs in 3rd gear, and he didn't gain much on me after that, and none top end. The low end of this machine is incredible. I started building power at about 2500, with enough to lift the front tire at 3200 with a little help from the clutch. The seat, wow. Incredible! I rode this thing for 300 miles at a time on numerous occasions and never had any problems. I also enjoyed the stability through corners. The only complaint I have is weight. I mean, it weighs more than an R1!! But for those who are satisfied with mediocre performance (I could take on any car confidently. I almost ran against a Lamborghini) and want a comfortable bike, this is it. Passenger comfort is also awesome. Alas, a car pulled out in front of me, not seeing me, and totalled the bike. I am currently in the search for more power, but can't find anything nearly as comfortable as this bike.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jesse Van Wickel

Santee, California

Reviewed on 2004-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is by far the best beginner to advanced rider's motorcycle you could possibly ever own. The thing is super forgiving up in the corners when you're first learning to ride and are a bit jumpy leaning into the corners apex. It has plenty of speed to get you in trouble in a big hurry, if so desired. It has an awesome gas tank capacity that will get you more or less about 250 miles to a tank. It has the most comfortable seat in any super sport full fairing bike available on the market. Has plenty of power down low where you would need it for every day driving and when you're out on the track has a nice high Rev limit to tear up some serious rubber when needed. I am usually passing most 1 liter's in the corners because of the lack of bottom end torque. This would normally spin your rear tires, thus being able to hammer the throttle on a Thundercat giving you a serious advantage if used properly. You can start out on this bike without any prior knowledge of riding a sport bike and go from there to a complete professional on the corners of your local mountain. If you're looking for a bike that has it all plus lots more, then this is the bike for you. It'll take good care of you, if you take good care of it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joey Elizondo

Laredo, Texas

Reviewed on 2003-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This may be my first street bike, or supersport bike, but this is a kick@$$ machine. I may be only 16 but I know the difference after riding other top name/dollar bikes, and this bike rocks. I've put over 3,000 mi on my bike already only after 11 mo. 2 of which I didn't ride due to an injury! So I strongly suggest this bike to anyone, teens starting out to expert riders, and at 600cc s you can't go wrong!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe

Randolph, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2003-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I AM SOMEWHAT NEW TO THE SPORT BIEK ARENA. I RODE A HONDA ENDURO ALL THROUGH COLLAGE(I WAS A CHEAP ALTERNATIVE TO A CAR). I COULDN'T BE HAPPIER THE BIKE IS VERY COMFORTABLE AND VERY DOCILE IF THE RPM'S ARE UNDER 6000. WHEN YOU NEED JUICE SHE HAS IT!!! THE HANDLING WAS A LITTLE SOFT SO MY DEALERSHIP ADJUSTED THE FRONT SHOCK SETTING AND NOW ALL IS FINE. I LOVE IT
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JD

Providence, Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2003-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a finely crafted motorcycle that suits both beginners and experienced riders. It has plenty of power for the street and still carves corners like a real sport bike. With the adjustable suspension, experienced riders can squeeze some real performance out of it and, should you want to, you can stand her up without any trouble. Realistically, though, what you want to do is gas up the 5 gallon tank, get comfortable, and go cruising in style - and with a performance edge. that's this bike's claim to fame. I recommend this bike to anyone who wants the "all around" sport bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Geno Colang

Somerville, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2003-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got my 2003 YzF-600r last Friday (06/20/03) and I've put 300 miles one it already. I credit the comfort and the positioning of the bike. Bottom line, the bike is fast enough for the average rider, comfortable, stylish, and great price. Great first or second bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

mobrien

atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2003-06-12

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had bikes off and on in the past 6 years. '84 Honda vfr 700, '94 Honda cbr 600 f2. Got the 600R a year ago. don't ride much, have 1400 miles on it. When I do it provides plenty of power and comfort in the Atlanta traffic. Best bike I have had to date
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lead Wrist

St.Paul, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2003-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is a great bike to start out on as far as price and comfort is concerned. But if you are planning on learning to do tricks the R-6 is better suited for it. This bike has enough power for average use but it wasn't built for the extreme rider
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 18 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: