Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2003 Yamaha Zuma Scooter reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Scooters

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Eric

Omaha, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2005-08-15

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my Zuma since October of 2003 and I've put almost 1700 miles on her. She's been ridden during the winter months in SD on city streets and in the Black Hills of SD offroading in the heat of late July. I upgraded the engine to a 72cc kit with a handmade Italian exhaust with a bigger carb. I've had my share of problems with the upgrades, but they've been worth it, especially everytime I ride it in town and beat cars with her. All-in-all a darn good machine built by Yamaha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jason thompson

gosport, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great machine! I grew up riding mopeds and my first one was one of those pedal type. Just recently I purchaced a zuma 49cc scooter, as I don't have a drivers licence and one is not required. Wow... was I surprised! The pure power of this scooter was a far cry from the others I've had. I would recommend this scooter to any onw who wants to get around town and go crusing. And don't let the size fool you either, it has some power to it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-03-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Well winter has lost its lock on NE Ohio. I got a chance to go on a scoot today. My Zuma continues to impress me with its ride ability and cornering prowess not to mention the excellent brakes. It seems like once you fill the oil and gas tanks you could go forever. It even keeps up with moderately fast (Up to 40mph) traffic. On a steep uphill it will drop to 25-30. I try not to keep it pegged too long but with only 49cc and a strong headwind I was working her to keep up in the 35mph zone today. What it really likes to do is cruise at 25-30. This thing can really corner. The seat is spacious although I seem to hit it at the hump for the passenger. Under seat storage hold a full-face helmet, gloves and the other storage will hold a soda or water bottle. I also got the basket that fits on the rack in the back. It was only 20 bucks and expanded the storage some more. I plan on getting the windshield, as here it's pretty cold. In this class of scooter this is the one to beat. Paul
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don

Dunkirk, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-03-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Zuma brand new. As soon as I got it I let it set on the stand and idle for about 2 hours. I varied the rpm up and down several times. I did this to "break" the engine in. I then rode it like I wanted it to runFAST!!! Full throttle most of the time. I put 1700 Miles on it last summer and it ran just great, about 47 mph or more. Please believe me when I say 99 mpg. I couldn't believe it either. But I am getting that mpg on High Test gas. As soon as I got it I put a NGK plug in it and it lasted well all 1700 miles. This is NOT a scooter for young ones. It's a little too much for them I think. Be Careful.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Herford

Greensboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-02-29

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A great little scooter on two wheels, I have had this 2003 for less than a year and have found it to be quite reliable and durable. I have also found that it does get 70 miles to the gallon. I have thoroughly enjoyed the use of this little machine and haven't gotten tired of it yet. It has gotten me more interested in something on two wheels and wanting more and hopefully wanting to upgrade to something a lot stronger. It's a great little machine to get someone ready to try out something bigger and better, but I don't think that anyone can totally give up on the purchase of this little machine. It's a lot of fun to ride not only for pure enjoyment but to get you to where you want to get to around town.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul RM80

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2003-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
We recently purchased two of these and I couldn't be happier with them. Top end is about 40 on flat land but it will climb some pretty impressive hills. The suspension is stiff enough and the front disc brake is light years above the drums on the competition. The only other scooter that I could compare it to is the Elite 80, of course a 80cc will have more torque than the zuma but I think the Zuma has a better chassis! But I couldn't give the 5 star rating because it is only 50 cc. If it had 100cc 2 cycle it would be perfect. Maybe the new Vino 125 fills this niche. I'll go look at them in the spring or this winter. All in all a great little scoot when you really consider what it really is.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tyler

Anderson, Indiana

Reviewed on 2003-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I received my Zuma in April of 2003. This scooter is awesome. I love the power it has. It has awesome power for a 49cc scooter. The display panel is excellent and convenient. The off-road tires give it a sporty look and provides great traction for those sharp turns. The other great feature about the Zuma is the sturdy handlebars for the passenger to hold on to. I recommend getting the Yamaha Zuma!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Malka

Brooklyn, New York

Reviewed on 2003-09-23

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first scooter I've ever owned, but I decided on this one because I read that it was the best: strongest, smoothest, and they were absolutely right! It's very easy to ride and control and it has lots of power. In fact, if you aren't careful with the throttle, it'll jump right out from under you! The only thing I have a problem with is that it's very hard to get it up onto the kickstand because it's so heavy, but I found that I can do it if I use both hands on the grips instead of using one hand to steady the front and one to lift it. Also, this scooter is a whole lot more impressive looking than any of the other scooters I've seen. :)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Buehler

Lakeland, Florida

Reviewed on 2003-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just purchased the 2004 model Zuma this past weekend as a replacement for a car that had died. The cycle is absolutely fun to ride. As someone who had never ridden a motorcycle or scooter before, the Zuma was very easy to acclimate to and within a few hours I was already out on the major thoroughfare at top speed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

charles reed

newtown, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2003-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2003 Yamaha Zuma

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
3 days and 250 miles of pure fun. Looking for more fun so adding exhaust, 70cc head and piston, carb, and clutch...Stock I have seen close to 50 down hill, strong 40 on straights, low 30's up hill. Only suggestion to Yamaha and tuners; lets make both headlights work together, how about HID kit, and air horns. Final words...love this scooter!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: