Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jon F

OKC, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-04-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up a 2004 Roadstar Silverado with fairly low miles. It's decked out with accessories and rides smooth. It's got aftermarket V&H pipes that really open up that powerful v-twin engine. I've ridden many bikes from Honda's to Harley's, and this bike takes the cake.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Marsh

Fallon, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-04-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the bike new January 2004 w/zero miles. Dealer was still building/servicing the bike while I waited. Test rode and rode home (58 miles) same day. Bike originally got around 54mpg but I couldn't leave well enough alone. Added Hardchrome 3in Big Straights and Baron's Big Air kit. Now only get around 44 on the highway but power (and sound) is much better. I now have 26,000 wonderful miles on the bike with no complaints. Have only had to do scheduled maintenance. I use the bike as a daily rider to work and commute home (1,000 miles round trip) every other weekend when I'm not deployed. Couldn't ask for much more in a bike other than the handlebars could come a little closer to the rider. Great bike for all around riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Brady

Miramar, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This bike seems to ride okay, but it's hard to compare, as we came off of a Honda Goldwing. We sure miss the glass ride we got with the Wing. But the Roadstar is what it is. We'll ride it for a few years but most likely go back to the Wing. We found the seats a little hard on the back side. We noticed that when making left hand tight turns the rear wheel sides a few inches. We had the tire pressure checked and all was okay. We did nothing to the engine or pipes. We like to hear the radio, not the pipes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

British Columbia

Reviewed on 2006-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been away from riding for about a dozen years and previously used to ride a GSXR. I wanted to slow down and start enjoying the ride more than the speed so I came back and looked around and decided on the 2004 Silverado. At first I was a concerned about the weight and the displacement, but the 1670cc engine is smooth and has a great roll on. The weight is something I'll need to get used to more as this bike really doesn't like to turn at slow speeds. For a big cruiser, it does perform very well. Yes, it's a carbeurated engine, but it gives the bike character and it's got great sound. The seat height is great and I feel like I am in the ride rather than on the ride. The seat is very comfortable but haven't tested out the pilion. This bike is great to customize to your hearts desire and the engine is proven and is easy to work on. I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner, but would recommend for someone with experience.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

larry jackson

san antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I enjoy gambleing so for me I go to Sheveport, which is about 350 miles from San Antonio. The ride is very enjoyable back roads are my favorite. that's how I got so many miles on it, have not had any complaints or problems with it so far and I don't plan on having any in the future.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dudley Stelly

Tucson, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-05-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my Silverado October 18, 2003. This is my 7th bike since 1966. In this period of time, I have driven over 260,000 accident and ticket free miles on a Honda 305 Superhawk, a BMW, 2 Goldwings, a Kawasaki Voyager 1200, a Yamaha Royalstar Venture, and this one. I find this bike to be the most enjoyable of all. It is comfortable, dependable, and easy to control and handle. More comfortable than the other bikes I have ridden. Except for the Honda Superhawk, no. But it's a motorcycle not a recliner on two wheels. My wife enjoys riding with me, as she has over the years. Would I recommend it to anyone? If you're looking for what this bike offers, you will not be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

elbert puckett

summerville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2005-01-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I don't hear any engine knock as others have complained about, but it is still new, not even 250 miles. Runs smooth, great power and looks great. I wanted an H-D but I'm very happy with my Yamaha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kidjustice

cartersville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-11-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my '04 Silverado back in August and have logged 3,000 miles on it. I have not experienced any of the engine noise others have complained of. I have the complete stage 2 kit, and that bike runs like a scalded dog from idle on up to speeds that are only legal in Europe. The acceleration is very smooth, the ride is extremely comfortable. My only two complaints: The handlebars do not come back quite far enough to suit me, and the floorboards touch down a little too easily - needs just a lttle more clearance. All the folks I ride with from Harley to Honda are extremely impressed with the power, handling, looks and fit & finish of my Silverado. I am amazed that Yamaha can make a 48 degree V-twin run so smooth when it is neither rubber mounted nor counterbalanced!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

C.G. Sumpter

Eolia, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2004-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a Silverado about 3 weeks ago. I checked out Harley's, but when you go to a Harley dealer they act like it's a privilage that they talk to you, and some won't even bother. I love this bike it's got comfort, power, good looks and I hope reliability... I haven't had it long enough to find that out yet. The women at work all love it and ask when I'm going to take them for a ride. I would recommend this bike to anyone. Some of my Harley riding friends even like it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Burgess

Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Reviewed on 2004-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I HAVE BEEN RIDING MOTORCYCLES SINCE I WAS 8 YEARS OLD. STARTED ON A 3.5 HP MINI BIKE AND 14 BIKES LATER I FOUND THE PERFECT FIT. FOR BEING A LITTLE LARGER THAN AVERAGE I HAVE FOUND IT HARD TO FIND A BIKE THAT IS COMFORTABLE TO ME UNTIL NOW. WHAT A FIT. UNBELIEVABLE POWER AND WHEN I RIDE BY MYSELF OR 2UP I FEEL THAT I AM AT HOME SITTING ON MY FAVORITE RECLINER(EXCEPT NO BEER IN HAND). THIS BIKE IS AWESOME.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: