Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Joe

vallejo, California

Reviewed on 2005-06-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just picked up a preowned 2001 custom, from a dealer here in Vallejo with only 10k miles on it. I rode it home and baby is this bike sweet, handles a billion times better than my old marauder 800 did, and man is it smooth - even as old as it is. If your looking for a supremely well handling bike this is it. ...And it barks, the guy that traded it in put on pipes and jetted the carbs at a dealer in Concord, so I have no idea what the stock pipes would sound like. This is a beautiful bike, I just got done with my supper and I'm gonna go ride !!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Minshall

Nampa, Idaho

Reviewed on 2004-12-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first bike that I have owned in 15 years. I didn't realize that I could enjoy a bike this much. The Vance & Hines pipe make a world of difference. Nice throaty sound. No major problems.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jason heard

hermosa beach, California

Reviewed on 2004-08-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the first cruiser bike that I have owned. I had street bikes before and I love the feeling of speed. My friend had purchased an '04 1100 Custom and I rode it once, then I knew that was the bike I wanted. I purchased an '04 V Star 1100 Custom that now looks more like a Harley than a Yamaha now. I have Harley riders thinking it's a custom built cruiser. There are no Yamaha symbols on the bike except for the tuning forks in the speedometer. This bike has plenty of power with the upgrades I've done.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

timmy_J_93

Aiea, Hawaii

Reviewed on 2004-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 10 months, I am still happy with my bike. I did consider looking at the Honda VTX 1300 earlier this year (to see if I did in fact make the right decision) but after just sitting on the Honda I KNEW that the Yamaha was the one for me. I recommend this bike for any new rider. It is quite manageable and a treat to ride. I only wish I could have been able to put more miles on it since the purchase date but that is the price for being in the military I guess. My "Purple Plum" as the lady from CA has called it, is a winner. I still get many compliments from H-D riders. I repalced the stock exhaust and floor pegs parts from the good people at Cobra and swapped the seats out for a set of Mustang seats along with a few other minor aesthetic changes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

stacey graf

San Ramon, California

Reviewed on 2004-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a new rider, first bike owner. I am a female on the shorter side and I have fallen in love. As a passenger for over 8 years, I have travelled on many bikes and knew I would have to have my own. The Yamaha fits me like a glove. It is sturdy and large, yet not too big. Weight was a concern as I have a bad back, yet I needed a good size engine to make the long trips I am interested in. So far, the only problem I have found is the clutch has needed some adjustment while breaking in and the engine becomes hot (the wire stretches). There are times when trying to find neutral is a challenge especially while at a light and the neutral light doesn't come on. I attempt to take off and hear the engine revving with no forward motion. (my solution- curse under my breath then kick it into first). For now, I attribute this mostly to me being so new and getting used to things. After my purchase, the first thing I did was take off the passenger seat and pegs- no need for them. I have a rear fender rack to take the place. I will be purchasing a wind shield and eventually new pipes. I have found the bike to be too quiet for people to know I am coming up beside them on the highway. With all the Harley riders I hang out with, they are pretty impressed with my purple plum. I am so satisfied and secure with my bike. I paid an incredible price for an awesome bike. No worries about 'growing into it' or 'growing out of it'.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scooter Bill Sorenson

Norwood, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-08-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love the looks, drive, and feel of this bike. It has lots of power, a steady feel at 60+mph and turns heads wherever I go. Twist the wrist and prepare for take off on this sleek V Twin from the Yamaha people. My lady on the other hand, is less than delighted with it. While the driver's seat is comfortable, even for longer rides, the passenger seat is way too rigid. Also, with two-up riding the suspension is a tad too soft and it's not uncommon for my boot to drag in hard turns. I have adjusted the shock but this won't solve the soft feel of the front end. I may end up draining the fork oil and replacing it with a slightly heavier oil. One other comment is that the factory mirrors are too small and a pain to align. Otherwise, a fantastic ride. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a strong, hot looking cruiser. The two small complaints I have with this middle weight cruiser disappear when I turn the key, hit the starter, and open the throttle. When I saw this baby sitting on the show room floor it spoke to my very core.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Kremer

Springfield, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike, but before I even hit 600 miles I added DG Hard Krome 2.75 exhaust and the MaxAir Air Kit. The bike is very quiet with the stock exhaust, at highway speed I can't even hear the exhaust. Some people like it quiet, I like the roar of the V-Twin. I'm short and I have no problem keeping both feet flat on the ground.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jerry broady

laurel, Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased this bike recently, and I was very surprised that the size of the bike, with me having short legs, that I was able to feel safe holding this bike up. It handled the road very well and I felt in total control from start to finish. It looks great and I am enjoying the experience of riding my first bike in over twelve years with the V Star 1100 Custom. I don't know why I waited so long to get back on. It feels great! Test drive one for yourself and be ready to be WOW'd!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Laura

Cleveland, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My husband and I recently bought the V-Star Custom 1100. After much research, we decided on this bike because it gave us the most for the money. We are very pleased with the bike. As the passenger(not for long, I may add!), the bike is comfortable and the ride is great. My husband did move my pegs down and forward about 2 inches for more comfort on the longer rides. Overall, it is an awesome bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bert

Pennsburg, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just picked up my new ride. Ride is better than I thought, lots of compliments from the "other" owners. Good power ratio even though it is throttle back from factory. Overall satisfied with ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: