Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dustin

pensacola, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I love this bike, it is so fun. It is really light and I can put it way down in the corners. It is extremly comfortable. I have taken three 800 mile trips on it already. It is comfortable at highway speeds and faster. I have not had a single problem with the bike, very reliable. After putting 5000 miles on it in the last 3 months, I have really out grown it. It does lack in power now that I have gotten used to it, but that is by far my only complaint about this bike. If you want a starter bike that doesn't look like one, this is the one for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
2.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ted Cichocki

Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought this bike used from an owner who abused this bike. Spent $500 in parts to give it new tires, broken mirror, turn signal and clutch. This is one of three bikes I own and it was the first I did work on to restore. I have to admit that it was to easy taking this thing apart to replace what the previous owner abused. Within a weeks time I had this thing looking and running like it came from a showroom floor. Now I ride it all the time and put 1,000 miles on it. I gutted the exhaust for a mean and beefier sound. The only draw back if any is the stock quiet exhaust. Some people like, some like myself want something louder. The rear seat is really not idea for someone on a long ride. If I can make suggestion, take off the rear seat because it will expose more of the rear fender and make the bike look much cooler. Sitting position, handlebar placement, and shifting and brake pedal are all in ideal locations. If you would like to see pictures from before and after, please contact me at email address.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-11-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased the 2004 V Star 650 Custom. I did a lot of research comparing the different models and their overall reliability. Early opinion is that I could not have made a better choice. First ride was 130 miles. The bike is very responsive and extremely comfortable. I had read some complaints with the stock seat - so far I find it to be very comfortable. This bike is easy to ride and handling is excellent. I would be comfortable taking this bike on any ride, long or short. Hard to beat this bike when considering quality, handling, styling and best of all... price!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff

Voluntown, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2004-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was buying a standard, had all the info, 599, Sv650, FZ. didn't know what to do. I liked all of them, but insurance was through the roof. Found a dealer with an Sv650, then I saw a white V Star across the floor. don't know why, I sat on it, looked at it a bit more, and said, how much? When can I have it on the road? I'll take it. It, like it's Virago parent, held a certain sport quality about it, the way the tail end says "hey look at my tire", the way the pegs are just between being highway, and upright. Not to mention the chrome was like that of a customized cruiser. To me, a standard was the idea of a perfect simple bike, not flashy, respectable performance. I didn't need speed, I just needed a practical commuter. This is the bike. If I needed to complain about the bike, I would say braking could use a little improvment. If this bike had double discs and was all blacked out with some pinstriping, I think it could make a really cool special edition model.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Denham Springs, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2004-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 2004 Custom now for 4 months. Me and my wife ride every chance we get. It is a great looking bike, and handles well.(Black and plenty of chrome) I've been asked several times if it was an 1100 cc bike. The 650 looks bigger than it is. The only drawback was the stock passenger seat. I ordered a Mustang seat for the longer cruises. We now ride in comfort. I agree with other reviews that sometimes it feels like it could use another gear on the highway, but overall it is a great ride for the price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kathy

Aurora, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike about a month ago, and it's my first street bike. It looks like a Harley. People give me a double look when they see a woman driving or maybe it's the bike... either way, I'm drawing attention. I enjoy riding. Great bike for starters. Need better weather in Ohio so I can ride more often.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matt Hogan

Gallatin, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2004-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have just recently purchased my 650 Vstar custom. Having been looking for a bike for a while, I had to take advantage of the 650 Vstar custom for its traditional cruiser looks and the vast amount of chrome accessories that come direct from the factory. The only addition in my future is a set of aftermarket pipes for that V-twin rumble. Thanks for the chance to own this very fine bike. A must have for the price!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nikki Syx

Liberty Township, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-06-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my VStar in march and have been riding every day since! The bike handles very well, and has enough power to get you where you want to go. I would highly advise you to get this horse. With a couple of upgrades(seat, pipes, and some forward controls)it looks just like a harley. I have heard a lot of "NICE Bike, who built your bike?" It gives Harley a run for his money!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

frank

riverside, California

Reviewed on 2004-05-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great bike for riders new and old. The bike has plenty of power, good looks and awesome handling. The stock seat is not too good for long rides, get the up grade.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Al

Acworth, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star Custom

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been impressed with Yamahas 650s for many years. As a matter of fact since the early eighties when I rode a friend's 650 Midnight Special. The Yamaha 650 V-Stars are simply very well built, good looking bikes, period! My wife's month old V-Star Custom is what a 650cc cruiser bike is all about. She loves her 650 Star. If I had not got such a good deal on a trade in for a Vulcan 750; I would have bought a 650 V-Star myself, (it was on my list of 3 bikes) You'll enjoy; have at it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: