Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motocross Bikes

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

stevalknieval

swan river, Manitoba

Reviewed on 2009-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So far this bike has been more than I thought it was going to be. I recently traded this bike for my 2003 xr 250 that I had for about a year, and it was the best thing that I could have done. This bike's 1st gear is super tall, but with a 50 tooth sprocket this bike will feel right at home on and off track. This bike is perfect for the track, and rarely will you ever have to use 4th gear. When I first purchased this bike, I was a little leary about having to work on a twin cam motor, but one day I decided to check the valves(a job that I completely dreaded) and it was almost the easiest thing I have ever done. This bike has around 50 hours on it to date, and the engine and components look and run like the day it was new. The only thing I have against this bike is that the front end can get a little squirly in the bumpy spots if you aren't holding on tightly enough, but other than that that, this bike is a all around awesome bike, and it still gives the new bikes a good run for their money!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

glenn meyer

el paso , Texas

Reviewed on 2009-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow. that's all that's left to say after a day of riding this beast. The power is very manageable because of the balance of the bike and its longer wheelbase. First gear is very tall, and yes, I do miss 5th gear but I'll take it any day over a 2-stroke with 5 gears. I just beat another 450 at the dunes like he was sitting still. Get out there and enjoy the ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Warren

donnellson, Iowa

Reviewed on 2008-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This Bike is AWESOME!! It has so much power. When I ride with my friends I can hardly give it any gas. My friend has a 06 Honda CRF250X with 12 tooth sprocket on the front and a 53 on the back and his fifth gear is my second. For what I do with it I could care less that it has no fifth gear. I don't actually race the bike I do a lot of trail riding. It has a 14 and 50 tooth sprockets and when I take off it doesn't hop or anything because of that high gearing. Anyone thinking about getting one GO FOR IT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dylan Mahaffey

mesa, Arizona

Reviewed on 2005-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My brother has a 2005 YZ250 we have debated on what bike is faster so we finaly got a chance to run together over all the 450 is faster and more powerfull to me the only down fall is the 450 is 222lbs almost 10 pounds hevier than the YZ250, it kind of feels like a tank in the air but I can still throw it around. I love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Dustin

Adairsville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-09-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike intimidated me when I first bought it, now I love it. Excellent power in all situations. It's a little top heavy and has a tendency to wash out in the front. Reliability is outstanding. I did drop one tooth on the front sprocket as it was geared tall for my riding style. Made a big difference.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wozza

Perth, Australia

Reviewed on 2004-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What can I say, I have just purchased a new YZ450F and it is a real thumper. The bike has ample power and excellent handling, although the bike is built for racing, the power is very usable. I recommend this machine for any person wishing to have the best of both worlds...power and a lot of fun. Cheers!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian Wells

Torrance, California

Reviewed on 2004-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is an awesome bike, it is pretty stiff sprung for my weight (120lbs) but it pulls really hard. The powerband makes it very easy to ride although I would recommend dropping a tooth on the front sproket since first gear feels really tall. This bike also likes to rattle bolts off, so check the bolts before every ride. I recommend this bike for anybody that can ride a bigger bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Garrett Wilamowski

woodbridge, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-07-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike 2 months ago. When I first got on this bike, I started it up and it had a very powerful sound. Then I was ready to top it out but when I got in second gear I was ready to slow down. One twitch of the throttle, and I almost flipped off. On the track you feel like you own it. On the trails you still feel like you own it. I think this bike is not for beginners, but for experienced riders only.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Randall Byrd

Salisbury , Maryland

Reviewed on 2004-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is a beast, shift 4 gears and hold on the bike takes off quick and only gets faster when the powerband kicks in! I was amazed at the speed it has with stock. I can't wait for the exhaust and extras!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dwayne

wasilla, Alaska

Reviewed on 2004-05-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZ450F

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just love the way I feel on the 450f it is so powerful, yet I feel very comfortable on it. I would have to say that this is the best bike I have ever owned or ridden.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: