Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

37 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dusty McCartney

Bryan, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike, I've always wanted one and I must say, it is awesome. It's very touchy and fast, but as long as I/you take it real slow at first, the bike comes to you. But so far, the bike is perfect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Vale46

Burlington, Vermont

Reviewed on 2007-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best bike I've had yet. Reliable, fast, easy to drive, even pretty comfortable...and can't forget about being THE SEXIEST bike out there, no doubt.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Reed

Boise, Idaho

Reviewed on 2007-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The '04 R6 is an amazing bike all around. I've got just under 6000 miles on it and I've enjoyed each one. I find the riding position to be fairly comfortable for a sport bike, however, being on it for more than 45 mins at a time can leave your wrists hurting a little, but not too bad. I still give it 5 stars on comfort, because, after all, it is a sportbike. The GYT-R full exhaust is a must on this bike. Almost day and night difference. This pipe gives you fat mid range starting at 5500 rpm. You can feel the bike take off when you hit 5500 rpm. I've never came even close to reaching this bikes full potential in the corners. It takes every corner thrown at it with ease. I read lots of reveiws on all the 600's before I bought the Yamaha. In every article and review I read, the Yamaha was prasied for its razor sharp handling. This thing steers almost sub-consciously. If I could change anything about it I'd give it way more punch in the mid-range. However, since it's just a 600 all the power is naturaly going to be up north. I just traded in the R6 today on an '07 R1!!! I'll post a review on the R1 as soon as its broke in.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sandy

Flower Mound, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-11-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 2004 R6 used with 1,800 miles on it a few months ago as my first bike. Since then, I bought a 2006 ZX10R thinking I would move up to the 1000 cc bike. Well, I am reluctant to sell my R6 because it is such a fun bike to ride. It has a comfortable riding position for a sport bike and has very quick handling and a smooth as silk engine. The brakes are excellent too. It is really quick, but you have to get the revs up a bit before it starts pulling hard. It took some getting used to the sensitive throttle but with some time on the bike, it smooths out. The Kawi 636 is faster, but for all around comfort, fun to ride and quality, the R6 is tough to beat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2006-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just purchased my 2004 R6. This is my first bike and I was a bit nervous to get on it the first time. But once I did, I didn't want to get off. It practically rides itself. It leans in the curves with ease and stands right up once you come out of it. Once I get some more experience, I will upgrade to a R1. Can't wait.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Moe

Baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best bike I've ever ridden. I come from a cruiser background and was taken aback by the sheer power and performance of this bike. If you're thinking about buying a liter (1000cc) bike, forget it! Save your money and buy an r6. This has MORE than enough power. This is not the kinda bike that you will ride for a season or two and get bored. Legally, you WILL NOT ride this bike to its full potential, Guaranteed! and this is coming from somebody with experience in both cruisers and sportbikes. R6s have the look that Gixxers and CBRs can only wish for so go for this bike !! As far as beginners go, i think that a beginner should be fine on this bike, AS LONG AS, you don't abuse its power, go VERY easy on the throttle in the beginning, spend 2 or more weeks in getting to know the bike and its performance in a large parking lot and THEN you should be fine. This is not a toy, but a sensible beginner should be fine on this. Stay Safe !
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Cal

boxford, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got the new R6.. one word to describe it all is INCREDIBLE! The way it takes corners is amazing and it[s sooo quick too! Waiting to pass the break in point once I am...I'm gone..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James

Yarmouth, Maine

Reviewed on 2005-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Fantastic piece of machinery. Great handling bike, and the power is just crazy. Even my wife who doesnt like "Rockets" said this bike is very nice and sounds cool. Yamaha has deffinately got a winner here.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jay

collegeville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-04-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've rode a Ninja and GSXR for the past 7 years and nothing tops the new R6! Who needs more than a 750cc+ with the performance you can get out of a 600? Can't wait to get break-in over with. Yamaha has stepped it up once again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Neal Mulcahy

Clarksburg, MA, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 7200 miles, on the 3rd set of tires (only thing I changed), I did a track day up at NHIS in Loudon, NH. The bike did everything I asked of it, which still was no where near its full potential.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 37 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: