Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chris Jones

Dallas, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-03-20

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I own a 2005 Yamaha FJR-1300 and love it. I never thought a bike could be so complete. My first motorcycle was a Ninja 750, which I sold when I got married. I considered buying a sport-tourer next, but decided not to after spending a little time on my buddy's Honda ST 1300. It was by far the most comfortable bike I had ever ridden, but I was disappointed in its rather slow and clumsy performance. I wound up getting a cruiser instead. It wasn't until I began to read all the articles on the FJR that I decided to get one. I have never made a better decision in my whole life. The FJR is close to the comfort of the Honda ST 1300, but performs more like my old Ninja sport bike. It is the total package.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joyrider01

Paw Paw, Michigan

Reviewed on 2007-01-16

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I am one of the dice-rollers that got the FJR phenomenon started. My 2004 model has the heat issue on hot days in heavy traffic. Even with a winter in the garage and on the optimate charger, the battery failed me in less than 36 months. With no options other than heated grips, dealer mounted, I was chagrined to be bump started by friends on much older beemers. Am particularly annoyed by the weight bait used in early ads offering 521# dry weight figures. This bike is big and with a high center of gravity once wife and top case are on it. Wife is petite and only 130#, so I think it is the bike. As the months have rolled on, magazine side bar stat sheets have rolled up the weight to 687 wet. That is with bags but no top case. Add in the Yamaha top case, and it is a 700# 'sickle. Also, I've discovered a laminar flow effect with top case in place riding solo: at critical speed, about 115 mph, wind spilling off the sides of the case oscillates and causes a dangerous front end wobble. Throttle action is positive, but unduly stiff causing my aging wrist carpal tunnel issues after an hour of riding, so I invested in a Throttlemeister. Not perfect, especially in the hills, but a vast improvement. Low speed maneuvering is a challenge, but ALL is forgiven once over 20 MPH. Then it's just one great adrenaline machine. Miles after 500 per day for me have been outside any rational comfort zone. Even with a gel seat pad, my butt and legs take on the familiar road induced burn. Tall windshield eats into gas mileage, but makes for silky smooth wake all the way to the back seat perch. Biggest surprise: all those miles and not one ticket....yet. High marks to saddle bag mount and closure, and those bag liners are a gift from the Gods. Gotta go-whooooosh!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Shainker

Plano, Texas

Reviewed on 2005-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
What a great bike! The FJR is a wonderful ride. All the power you would ever want. Great cornering ability and so far, perfect reliability. No problems with build quality. The adjustable on the fly windscreen is a nice feature that allows you to select the right amount of wind protection depending on speed. The seating position is right-on but I did buy some aftermarket parts to move the handlebars closer to the seat to allow a little more upright seating position. The hard side cases (saddle bags) are excellent and easy to install and remove (no tools needed). The digital gas gauge, temp gauge and odometer / dual trip meters are a nice touch. Surprisingly, there is no helmet hook, but a full face helmet does fit into the saddle bags, if they are installed and not being used for something else. The gas tank holds over 6 gallons and I get 40 mpg on average, even while getting on it regularly. The passenger seat and foot pegs are very comfortable, or so I am told. The ordering process is slow, it took 3 months to get my bike. But, now that I have it, it was worth the wait.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael Parr

Lakeland, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is everything it claims to be and then some. I cannot believe the power and nimble handling from such a "big bike", far more agile then my previous bike a Kawasaki Concours. This bike just beats all others hands down on being a great mix of sport/touring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clarence Beaman

Knoxville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am so excited the cool weather is coming to TN. soon. So this Fall I can really enjoy my FJR. I invested in heated grips last November when I bought and some good protective clothing. Much easier to wear in the coming months. The FJR's power is incrediable, best at 80-90. I must say this is a lot of bike for my size. Seat is my next purchase for my little butt. Then I'll be set. I find it you have to be careful when you drop the bags, it's not as nimble as the croch rockets and it suits me find for an overnight travel. Not real good to jump on to run down to get milk at the convient store. The heat from engine could be routed better but what the heck it moves so fast who cares. Can't say enough good things about it. Now just have to look out for the deer's! cb
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steven Davis

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Having owned about 25 other motorcycles including a BMW k1200rs and a Honda st1300 and having ridden about 250,000 miles, I finally decided to get an '05 fjr. It is a remarkable motorcycle! I just finished a 2,500 mile ride cut short by the recent hurricane, and this bike tracks on the interstate like a slot car. I spent most of my time in the 75-80 mph and an occasional 100. Not a stutter, a bikefire, just a bike that loves to be ridden! It absolutely outhandles the Honda and the BMW and while they are both terrific bikes, the Yamaha just feels so much more alive - and it handles better. This is not a bike for a beginner but for those experienced riders looking for comfort and a ton of power!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T. Ready

Fernandina Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you're looking for an inexpensive H.D. substitute with a big fat seat that you and your old lady can tool around on, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you like candy colored flower child paint jobs with all the chrome glitter, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you ride around corners in the vertical position, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you want a bike that sounds tuff and goes slow, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you're afraid to open the throttle because the front wheel might come off the pavement, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you're looking for a gas-hog that can't go past a gas station without filling up, don't buy this bike. <br /> If you like paying big money for mediocre engineering just so you can wave the flag, don't buy this bike. <br /> On the other hand, if you're like me and you want a superbly engineered bike that can cut around corners horizontally, accelerate so fast it will take your breath away, stop on a dime with 9 cents change, bypass so many gas stations you'll actually forget that sooner or later you will have to fill it up again, ride two up in comfort and look like it's going 100 mph on it's center stand... BUY THIS BIKE!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T. Peterson

Long Island, New York

Reviewed on 2005-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased this bike 5/27/05. I've logged in over 6000 miles so far. I feel that Yamaha has built this bike for me personally. I can't get enough of it. There's plenty of power on tap to do any kind of riding. The ABS is a Godsent for those rainy days. Plenty of wind and rain protection from fairings and shield.( the stock shield could use a few mor inches of hieght.) The hard bags provide sufficient storage for a weekends worth of clothes and gear for rider. I recommend a top case for two up touring. For now I use a tailpack strapped to the rear rack. I can squeeze 250 miles out of the 6.6 gal tank if I keep my right wrist in check. But it's too much fun to wring it out when opportunities arise. This bike loves to cruise at speeds the local law enforcements tend to frown upon. I highly recommend this bike to anyone who likes to ride a powerful motorcyle, but does't want to be hugging a gas tank all day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PapaD

Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I LOVE MY 1300. It is at its best at 40-90mph.I went from a Honda Valkyrie for four years to this delight. Agile and mobile is how I describe it. Seat is not the best so you might want to check out another seat but that is just my opinion.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alan

Cynthiana, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2005-04-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Pros: The bike handles great, pulls like a freight train, looks good, has excellent fit and finish, very good mileage (averaging 43 mpg), good mirrors, runs fine of regular unleaded, and shifts smoothly<Br> Cons: The seat isn't as comfortable as it could be (kind of narrow), it generates some heat although I've felt worse, and the owner's manual is pretty rudimentary compared to my other four bikes' manuals.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: