Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mike

Palm Bay, Florida

Reviewed on 2011-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second V-Star 650 so you know where this review is headed. It is not a stoplight rocket, it will not go coast to coast at 80 mph. in supreme comfort and silence and no, it was not designed to lay nearly flat in the curves. This is my ninth motorcycle in nearly 40 years of riding and overall it is the best bike I've owned. While HP is modest, some throttle roll will leave most cars in your rear view mirror but again - it wasn't designed to smoke the rear tire. Torque is plenty available wherever you are in the gear range - just twist and go. Remember - it is a mid-size cruiser despite it's big boy looks. Handling is near perfect for me. It's plenty easy in parking lot speed turns but also straight as an arrow at 60+ mph. and in between, just enough lean available in the curves to make you smile. The transmission shifts effortlessly and yes, the clutch doesn't engage until the last bit of lever travel - by design I suppose. You just get used to it. Yes, Yamaha could have added a 6th gear as the engine sounds busy at 60+ mph. - don't be fooled - the bike will run the legal limit and more all day long with no complaints and no issues - you'll just feel/hear it more than on a large displacement bike. For my riding which is mostly back roads at 60 mph. and under - it is terrific! What can I say? Great fit and finish, plenty of chromed goodies available, low seat height, great handling, fairly decent comfort for a stock seat and enough power to please most. I bought both of mine used (the first one had 20,000 miles and ran perfectly, my 2005 has only 6,000 miles and of course runs like new). Go sit on one, go ride one. Perhaps the best mid-sized cruiser on the market.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam

Arlington, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-09-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought my 650 Classic in April of '05. I have put roughly 9000 miles on it since then and I couldn't be happier with the reliabiliy. I have riden the bike all the way to North Carolina and back with no problems. I must say that the FIRST thing you should do if you choose to purchase a Vstar is upgrade to a Mustang seat. My dad, brother, and I all have Vstars and we all purchased a Mustang seat due to the comfort on long rides. It was honestly the best $500 I have spent. All in all, the bike is great, it could just use a wider ratio 5th gear for highway riding. Perfect bike for someone who wants good reliability and performance for little to nothing for a new bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dennis

Merced, California

Reviewed on 2006-02-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had not ridden for 10 years. I didn't want something too big, to get back into riding. The 650 V Star Classic seemed to be just right and had a lot of style for the money. I am very pleased with the bike and there are many goodies available to add. The bike seems to do best on mountain roads and likes to cruise at no more than 55-60 mph., anything faster and the bike seems to be working hard, it needs a 6 speed transmission or wider range gear ratio. More likely the latter, as you can be in third gear before you get across the intersection. The seat is comfortable for a stock seat. If you want a bike to cruise the back roads and some mountain riding, then this is the bike for you. But if you want to cruise the freeways, then you would be better with something with more power and a little more weight. For the money, I am very happy with the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil

Charlotte, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike runs like a dream. I looked at a lot of bikes before finally deciding on the classic. Like others, I wish it had a sixth gear but besides that, I really wouldn't change a thing. I have added quite a bit of chrome and am getting new pipes this spring.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ben

El Segundo, California

Reviewed on 2005-09-28

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For my first bike, I knew I wanted a bike that was (1) a cruiser, (2) affordable, (3) reliable, (4) shaft-driven, and (5) small enough to learn on but big enough that I wouldn't out grow it too quick. Those criteria brought me to surprisingly few choices ラ a couple Suzuki Boulevards, the Honda Aero 750, and the Yamaha V-Star 650s. It was a tough choice because they are all good bikes, but I kept coming back to the V-Star ラ such a great looking bike and, for my body, I liked the extra couple inches of seat height over the Honda. I planned on getting the V-Star Custom, but looking at them side-by-side, the Classic just jumped out at me. So I bought the 2005 including the extended warranty (extra 4 years) and have been quite happy. <br /> I saw a review where the rider complains of parts coming loose and of having to shift 3 times at an intersection. I've had no such experiences ラ almost wondering if he's writing about the same bike! <br /> The only problems I've had were minor. First, a very squeaky front brake, but that was fixed by a couple applications of "squeak-awaybrake cleaner that cost $7. Second, a mysterious rattling at high revs, but that was fixed by realizing that it was my key rattling and wrapping some small clear rubber bands around the key. Weird, minor problems ラ and both with easy fixes. <br /> Good first bike that I plan on keeping for a while!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kenneth

Mechanicsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-09-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great look, great price, you can't ask for more. It's nice for driving around town, to work and long country rides. I wish I would have picked up the 1100 for the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill

Hooper, Nebraska

Reviewed on 2005-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Calling it my mid-life crisis, I was able to talk my wife into buying a bike. My criteria was looks first and price second. Previously I have had a Yamaha, Suzuki and two Harleys so you can see I'm not loyal to only one brand. I love the styling and performance of the bike in general but it is in need of one more gear to take out some of the vibration. The top comfortable speed is around 60 mph then it starts to get excessive. My advice - make sure you take any bike out on the highway and wrap it up.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jimmy Miller

Rocky Point, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a long time rider, but this is my first cruiser style motorcycle. I just purchased my 2005 v-star 650 classic (midnight series) on friday, 9/9/2005. Now about the bike. This sleekly styled, rider friendly motorcycle is a wonderful choice for all skill levels of rider. First throught fifth gear all provide accurate and immediate throttle response, (plenty of passing power). This bike is extremely nimble in traffic and loves the open road. If the bike were lacking in any area, I would have to say that it would like to have a 6th gear for highway speeds, but at 70-75, you still have passing power for maneuvering. The only other thing is that the passenger takes the brunt of the road on even a 45-50 mile trip. As far as the driver's seat, wow what luxury. I would definitely recommend this bike for potential fun-seekers!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JohnnyB

Watervliet, New York

Reviewed on 2005-09-05

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't been on a bike in 20 years. This year I went out in April 2005 and bought my VStar Classic 650 and couldn't be more pleased with it. It is a perfect bike for someone who is looking to get back into riding. The size and weight of the bike is just right for someone like me who needs to acquire experience and a comfort zone. It handles like a dream and is extremely comfortable to ride. The bike has decent power range and is perfect for anyone (Like myself) who's looking for a nice smooth cruising speed. It has some good kick and can easily get you out of a sticky situation if needed. For me this bike cruises comfortably around 45-60 mph. Higher speeds can be reached, but you will top out around 90+ MPH After you have a few thousand miles under your belt (For the newbie's like myself), you will be looking for that "Extra" gear when hitting higher speeds. If you know you will be doing a lot of highway riding, then I would suggest going with a bigger bike. If you will be going on secondary roads, then this is the bike for you. Overall I would have to say that I am extremely happy with everything about the VStar Classic. It has everything you need and more. The accessories that are available for this bike are incredible. If you are looking to get back into riding, this bike is perfect for you. (Washing Trick) Seeing this bike has SO MUCH chrome on it, at first I was overwhelmed with trying to keep it looking new, By hand it took me forever to keep each piece shinning. Till I seen one a guy using a "Leaf Blower" to dry his bike. I've since bought my own blower and use it each time I wash my bike. It takes me a 1/4 of the time and makes life so much easier. Try it; you will be amazed at the results. Hope this helped out someone. Good luck and be Safe out there. - JohnnyB
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Nancy

Norwalk, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2005-07-21

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Yamaha V Star Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I only started riding in 2004 and after much research, bought this bike new. After one year, I still love it and know I made the right choice. It's perfect for me...comfortable, reliable, and looks great! The only complaint I have is that it's not comfortable for two adults to ride. The passenger seat is very hard and there is not enough HP on the 650cc to ride two adults.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: